RSS

Book Review: I Heart New York, by Lindsey Kelk

24 May

i heart ny

I Heart New York by Linsay Kelk.

Publisher HarperCollinPublisher Ltd.

About the book:

Get ready to meet Angela Clark as she flees the world’s worst wedding for a new life…

Its official. Angela Clark is in love – with the most fabulous  city in the world.

Fleeing her cheating boyfriend and clutching little more than a crumpled Bridesmaid dress, a pair of Louboutins and her passport, Angela jumps on a plane, destination NYC.

Holed up in a cute hotel room, Angela gets a New York makeover from her NBF Jenny and a whirlwind tour of the city that never sleeps. Before she knows it, Angela is dating two sexy guys. And best of all, she gets to write about it in her new blog (Carrie Bradshaw eat your heart out). But its one thing telling readers about your romantic dilemmas, it’s another figuring them out for yourself…..

Angela has fallen head over heels or the big apple, but does she heart New York more than home?

WHAT I THOUGHT:

I thought this book was great, a real chicklit fest.
Angela is called a “hero” by her new friends in New York. It’s what every girl would want after a break, go to a different country, meet a new best friend (who also loves to eat pizza!), meet sexy guys and even be able to write about it.

The book is escapism and easy reading. I rooted for Angela to have the good life and great guy. Of course she comes across problems and complications, where would the story go otherwise, but as with all good books you feel like you know the character. I felt like Angie was my friend (in my escapism world 🙂 )

“New York wasn’t somewhere you came to find yourself again, it was somewhere you came to become someone new”.

This is a great quote from the book, you see a change in the character, but the essence of her stays. It just made me root for her even more.

There was a great revenge incident with a wash bag, that I just loved. Look forward to that if you read this book. Also Angela’s blog is great. For me reading Angela’s blog and the many other blogs that I have read over the past months is part of what inspired me to start my own blog, so thank you Angela, Lindsey Kelk and all the many bloggers that I have spoken to and shared thoughts with over the past months. I appreciate the inspiration.

I found out after I had read the book that there is a whole series of “I Heart” books by the author. I will be reading them for sure. I want to find out what Angela did next. And that alone I think shows that this was a good book.

I wonder if any readers have read this book or the others by Lindsey Kelk, let me know your thoughts either below or on my twitter page. chocolate_pages.

Thanks, and until next time, Goodbye.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 24, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
