RSS

Dining Review – Khublai Khan, Glasgow.

02 Aug

My dining experience at Khublai Khan Mongolian Restaurant. This restaurant is in Merchant City, Glasgow. My Husband and I walked in here off the street during Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. We just wanted a small snack, actually it was to escape a rain shower! I have to say, it was a great move!!! This restaurant is fantastic!!!!!

We were welcomed in by the waitress and she asked if we had been here before. When we said no, she explained that it was a slightly different dining experience. I had never eaten Mongolian food before. The choices include:

Full Feast – starter, many visits to BBQ grill and desert – £22.95

Mini Feast – starter, 2 visits to BBQ grill and Desert – £18.95.

Pre – Theatre – starter, 1 visit to BBQ grill and desert – £14.95.

Menu Khubla Khan.

This is the menu.

The waitress explained that the grill was around the back. We were to take a bowl, fill it with first rice or noodles, then any vegetables, then with meat. Any selection we want. When we looked at the meat selection, we were very surprised!!!! The labels next to each bowl of meat included:

Zebra!

Wild boar!

Crocodile!

Rabbit!

Octopus!

Horse!

They also had the usuals like chicken, beef, prawns. After we had put the rice, noodles, veg and meat selection in our bowls ( I chose crocodile, rabbit and prawns. Hubby chose boar, horse and crocodile). The next step was to make our sauce! Design your own taste.

This is all about the dining experience. There were suggestions on the wall, or you could make up your own. The choices included coconut milk, soya sauce, olive oil, mango sauce, lemon, rosemary, brown sugar, 5 spice, salt, garlic, ginger, cumin, pepper, fish oil…… There was loads. I made up a nice fruity, gingery, coconut type mixture.

The next step was to give your bowl to the chef. He then cooks it up in front of you. (You could go back to your seat and have it brought to you if you wish). I wanted to see what he did. The chef tipped the bowl out and stir fried it all up. But it wasn’t in a pan, it was like a huge hot plate. The chef was very chatty and told us how some of the commonwealth atheletes had been in to eat.

When the meal was cooked, we took it back to our seats, ready to try our concoctions. I was confident my sauce would be good, but crocodile and rabbit!!!!!! Well, the result…….. DELICIOUS!!!! Taste sensation and even better because I had made up all the ingredients and knew exactly what was in my meal.

As we were only in for a light snack ( errrrr 😉   ), we didn`t have a starter or desert. However, if I go back the salted caramel and chocolate cheesecake sounds amazing. 20140801_170333 20140801_170348I have to say this was a real dining experience, it was deliciously different. The price was good and the staff friendly. I most definitely recommend Khubla Khan Restaurant if you are in Glasgow. Here a few more photos that I took. Yum, yum. Who’d have thought I’d be eating crocodile!!!!!

The BBQ Grill.

The BBQ Grill.

The Meat! 20140731_173002 Yes, it really does say Horse! Zebra! Crocodile!  Weird, but actually very tasty!!! 20140731_173031 That’s our selection bowls ready to be cooked. 2 with the meat and veg, and 2 with the made up sauces! 20140731_173012 Smelling my delicious concoction of a sauce. I think I will call my sauce ” Coco – Ruity Sauce. It included coconut, mango, lemon, ginger, garlic, brown sugar and some Thai spices. Perfect! 20140731_173642 And there’s the chef cooking it all up. I think between me choosing the ingredients and Chef cooking it up, we made a fab meal! Even if I do say so myself. Thanks Khublai Khan for introducing us to Mongolian food, I think we will be back.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Dining Review – Khublai Khan, Glasgow.

  1. Rachael B

    August 14, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    Wow, those are some interesting choices. I’m not sure I’d try any of them myself but that sauce with coconut, lemon and ginger sounds so good!

    Rachael at broomfie.blogspot.com

     
    • Amanda

      August 19, 2014 at 9:52 pm

      Thank you, it was delicious. It was as much fun making up the meal as it was to eat it. 🙂

       
  2. Charlotte Swinhoe

    August 19, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    Oh wow, this restaurant looks incredible! If I ever find myself passing I think I may have to visit!

    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! For more about this you can find information over on my blog at http://www.charlottespeaksabout.blogspot.com

    Have a wonderful day!
    Charlotte

     
    • Amanda

      August 19, 2014 at 9:58 pm

      Thank you so much for the nomination. I have just written a Liebster post after a previous nomination. It was a lot of fun to write it. I will try to write a follow-up to your nomination very soon. Thanks. Amanda. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
