RSS

Book Review: Mad About The Boy.

22 Aug
Book Review: Mad About The Boy.

 Helen Fielding,  Mad About The Boy.

bridget-jones-mad-about-the-boy

I was very excited to read this book. I loved the last two Bridget Jones and had high expectations for this one. I would give this book 3.5 out of 5.

The book starts off letting us know that Mark Darcy is dead. He died a hero, so the reader keeps the image that Mark is practically perfect. It was weird to think of Bridget as a 50 something year old widow with 2 children! I think this is where I dropped a star from my rating. I’m used to Bridget like this:

images-1

So, it took a few chapters for me to get into imagining Bridget in the way she was characterized. However, she still had her funny, relatable Bridget ways.

The story sets the scene as to where Bridget is now, a widow, in her 50`s, two children. She still has her lovely friends Tom and Jude, and Daniel Cleaver is still in the scene. In fact, he is Godfather to the children and is now just joking about Bridget`s underwear instead of trying to get them off!

The story involves Bridget finding a new toyboy, doing school runs, which include seeing the “smug married”. Also, we hear about her friends advice on the “rules of dating”. The majority of the story is revolved around Bridget and Roxter (the toyboy). Will he text , won’t he text? Does like me? Am I too old? If you read the other Bridget books, you can imagine her worries.

I found about halfway through the book, it got a bit predictable. But overall, I enjoyed it. I still rooted for Bridget, I could still relate to her and she still made me chuckle. Her kids sound adorable and I actually wanted to give Daniel Cleaver a hug and say “You’re older now, but don’t worry you’ll be fine”.

I liked how she still wrote in the diary style, she kept to typical Brigit esque way of counting things. Except a big part of this book is her Twitter followers, which I thought was really cool. Bridget has become a social media addict.

I am glad the author wrote another book in this series, but it wasn’t as good as the first original Bridget Jones. However, I would recommend reading it as long as your expectations are not sky high.

I would be interested to hear if you have read this book what your thoughts are.

I would love to hear from you in the comments section below.

Thank you and until next time, goodbye book fans!   🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
