RSS

A Weekend of Baking.

07 Sep
A Weekend of Baking.

scones and jam.I decided that this weekend I would indulge in another of my favourite pass times. I have spent a lot of my recent free time reading. ( see my reviews). So it was time to do some baking. I made scones with raspberry jam. My first attempt at these were not so successful! I think I rolled them to thin, so they didn’t rise as much as I would have liked. 20140716_145407 Although they still tasted nice, they didn’t look the part and they weren’t fluffy enough. I used a recipe from @itvthismorning and @lisafaulkner1.

I used this link:

http://www.itv.com/thismorning/food/coastal-cottage-cream-tea-lisa-faulkner-recipe

I have to say I was very impressed with how easy the jam was to make, it tasted very sweet and yummy. If I make the jam again,I would half the sugar amount as it was incredibly sweet.

20140716_13283020140723_18095420140723_19315920140724_132024They didn’t last very long I can tell you that.

I will definitely be making these again. With thanks to ITV This Morning and Lisa Faulkner.

If anyone has any tips on how to perfect scones, I would love to hear them.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2014 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “A Weekend of Baking.

  1. jasmincharlotte

    September 7, 2014 at 11:12 am

    I’ve had a baking weekend too! Made a carrot cake which turned out well. I always use the same recipe for scones which works a treat: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4622/classic-scones-with-jam-and-clotted-cream so see if that one is any different! xx

    Jasmin Charlotte

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 7, 2014 at 11:25 am

      Thank you, I will have a look and try it out. I do use the Good Food website quite a lot, and I think there are some fab recipes there.
      I’m glad your carrot cake turned out great. Carrot cake is the one recipe that my Husband asked me to make again and again.
      Happy Baking!
      Amanda. x

       

Leave a Reply

 
