RSS

Living with Food Allergies.

27 Sep

My Husband has had so many gut problems over the past few years. We are now trying out a totally free from diet. AND IT SEEMS TO BE WORKING!!!! YAHOO!! ♥

So, I thought I would blog about it, it means I can write about it. And maybe it will help someone else or any readers out there may be able to give us some advice. I’m still learning, but bit by bit we are getting the hang of it.

The symptoms he has had are severe bloating, stomach pains, sickness and nausea and many toileting problems. We started off trying, just the gluten free – didn’t work. Then the lactose free – didn’t work. Now, its totally gluten and lacto free. The diet is very strict and quite basic, but we have found some tasty and healthy things for meals and some treats.

20140927_034357

Here is some of the tasty ‘free from’ stuff that we have found, so he can still eat cheese and have milk it is just lactose free. It actually tastes ok, we were both surprised.

The majority of meals that we make use ingredients that are from the ground, fresh veg, fruit and meat and fish. No additives, no extra flavourings. Its very healthy. We have kept a food diary so we can see all the things that my Husband has eaten and drank and how he feels after it. It is a long process and we still have a long way to go, but its progress!

We were recommended to read about FODMAP, I still have a lot of research to do with this, but its a whole load of food groups that intolerant people may and may not be able to digest easily. If anyone has any advice that they would like to share with us, I would be very happy to hear from you.

So, I will tell you todays diet.

Breakfast – gluten free bread toasted with lacto free butter and gluten free jam.

Lunch – Eggs, gluten free sausages and Heinz baked beans. (only Heinz is GF).

Dinner – Chicken Salad, (lettuce, tomatoes, avocado, rape seed oil as dressing).

Desert – My home made chocolate cake! Yum.

20140927_05231220140927_052335

I am very proud of this, as I used all gluten and dairy free products, and it tasted delicious. It was very light and airy, I will certainly be making this again.

If anyone has any helpful tips for me, or wants to ask me any questions about this special diet, I would love to hear from you.

Gluten-free chocolate cake recipe     (from http://www.coeliac.org.uk)

  • 100g gluten-free self raising flour
  • 45g cocoa powder
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 110g cooking margarine or butter (lactose free)
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla essence or extract (I omitted this as I wasn’t sure).

For the icing:

  • 280g icing sugar
  • 140g butter (lactose free)
  • 75g chocolate (milk or dark), melted (lactose free)
  • 1-2 tbsp milk or water (lactose free)

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°c
  2. Melt the butter or cooking margarine until soft – but not runny – in a large mixing bowl
  3. Mix in the caster sugar
  4. Add the flour, cocoa powder and eggs, mixing well, then add the vanilla essence
  5. Pour the mixture evenly into two greased and lined cake tins
  6. Place in the oven for 20-25 minutes until the cakes have risen and are lightly golden. To test if they are ready, insert a skewer into the middle of the cake – if it comes out clean, the cake is ready
  7. Cool completely
  8. To make the icing, beat together the icing sugar, cocoa powder and butter, slowly stirring in two or three teaspoons of boiling water or milk. Be careful not to make the icing too runny
  9. Spread the chocolate icing over the top of one of the cakes, then carefully place the other cake on top. Cover the top with more icing, then serve.

Thank you for reading and I hope to see you again next time. Please feel free to comment below or tweet me on Twitter.    @chocolate_pages.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2014 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Living with Food Allergies.

  1. beandloveyoubeauty

    September 29, 2014 at 12:38 am

    I will have to give this a go! I am gluten and lactose intolerant and it can really be a pain in the butt! Thank you for sharing this! x

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 29, 2014 at 7:51 pm

      It is hard going, especially as we are still learning. It will be worth it if it takes all the bad feelings away though.
      The cake was delicious, and totally free from! Thanks for commenting. Amanda.

       
  2. Jorie

    January 24, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    Hallo, Hallo! 🙂

    It is nice to meet someone who likes to blog not only about the *books!* they are reading but the healthy cooking options they are exploring! I go into a bit of a back-story on my own journey and consistently talk openly about where I on my own better health & wellness path! 🙂

    I keep losing hours to do everything I set my mind to accomplish; sadly I hadn’t had the proper chance to visit since we were tweeting about #ChocLitSaturday! 😦 Forgive me! I’m a bit of a tortoise at times, but I do eventually get to where I need to be!

    It is always a good thing to listen to your own body & to sort out what personally works for you! I realised I’m ‘gluten-sensitive’ but not all gluten triggers it! 😦 When I can, I want to be predominately vegetarian w/ vegan tendencies and gfree baking. Not to mention due to a blog tour about Natural Yeast, I’d like to get to the point where I can cure my own starter and bake with ingredients that I know going in are going to be healthier for me. In my own research I started to uncover what is ‘causing’ the issues (such as the ones your mentioning!) can honestly be due to what they are using in our foods! It might not even by the ‘type of food’ but rather what is happening whilst it is being processed and procured!

    I support local farmers & farmer’s markets as much as I can, because they are bringing the locovore movement to everyday people — there is even a u-pick your own fruit (strawberries) and fresh veg, herbs, & greens farm here locally now! I was so gobsmacked because generally u-picks are for *fruit!* only and so dangerously hot/labour intensive it’s not worth it! 😦 This farm did it right and everything is inside tents!

    The greens are so fresh you have to *cut!* the stalks straight from the pot of dirt yourself! lol

    (tip: if you run out of White Vinegar to clean your greens & veg, you can supplement it with using Apple Cider Vinegar by Braggs!)

    I personally noticed that by eating vegan & gfree deserts (esp homemade but also out at places that you can trust w/ the ingredient choices they’re making!) I not only feel lighter but I feel ‘well’. I feel as though I can eat food w/o the food eating me! (if you know what I mean?)

    Balance in health & food is important, so how I eventually eat overall is a work-in-progress but I was never a fan of red meat and poultry is not something I want to eat again once I can go back to buying veg through the season again! I know fish / seafood is good in moderation, so I’ll most likely adopt a veg, grain, whole living foods, farm to fork w/ some fish vegan & gf lifestyle! 🙂 Hence why I just say “I’m a veghead in the making!” lol

    Don’t get discouraged — vegan & gfree baking takes time & experimenting! Esp with the ingredients — I’ll have to remember to drop back and/or tweet/PM you some of my discoveries. It helps to be able to talk about it and confer about what your using as it helps all of us grow & understand the differences from traditional baking/cooking!

    Ooh! Before I forget (as I sort of went OT (offtopic) to this post!) there is a #VeganFoodChat full of healthy chatter on Twitter, Wednesdays @ 8pm (which is 1am UK). I know it’s late for you, but they keep the archives! Go here: http://nurph.com/VeganFoodChat/chats/past and @VeganFoodChat They keep a blog over here: http://thefoodduo.com Transcripts on Storify: https://storify.com/VeganFoodChat/

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 30, 2015 at 5:11 pm

      Thank you for your very thoughtful comments. It is so nice to speak to others that are in the same position. I wish we had a pick your own veg farm here, that would be lovely. Even a fresh market would be nice! Unfortunatly we don’t.
      You are certainly right in how we have to know our own bodies and eat what suits us. Its difficult for me because I can eat most things and feel well, its my Husband that suffers acutely and he can only try to explain the way he feels. Therefore I experiment and if the experiments go wrong, its him that suffers not me. (which I hate).
      But we are the same as you, its all a work in progress and we have made progress so far, but still have a way to go.
      Yesterday, I made a FODMAP soup, and some freefrom bread, but he still felt ill???? Some things are just so hard to pin point. I will have a look at the vegan chat.
      Thank you again for your kind comments.
      Also, I hope to join you for #choclitsaturday soon.
      Amanda.

       

Leave a Reply

 
