RSS

The Chocolate Book Tag.

14 Oct
The Chocolate Book Tag.

imagesF5RZ4SAJ

                                            THE CHOCOLATE BOOK TAG.

I saw this tag on http://www.Confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com by Rachel and just knew this was the perfect tag for me. So, thank you Rachel for introducing me to this one. I hope you all like my choices.

If anyone would like to join in, feel free and please send me your links after you have written it so that I can read your choices too.

So, lets get started.

DARK CHOCOLATE: a book with dark content or theme.

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold was a great book that I really love. However, it does have a dark theme as the story revolves around Susie who is a young girl who was murdered. Susie watches from her heaven as her family attempt to deal with her death.

lovely bones

WHITE CHOCOLATE : a light hearted read.

My favourite light hearted author to read is Sophie Kinsella, for this topic, I will choose ‘Undomestic Goddess’. Samantha Sweeting makes a big mistake at work, so she leaves work, gets on the first train she sees and ends up being mistaken as an interviewee for a job as a house keeper. The story is light hearted and creamy – just like white chocolate.

The_Undomestic_Goddess_(Sophie_Kinsella_novel)

MILK CHOCOLATE:  a hyped popular book that you really want to read.

Well, I am a huge Sophie Kinsella fan and she has just released a new book called ‘Shopaholic to the Stars’. Lots of people have been talking about this on Twitter and everyone seems so excited by it and those that were super lucky enough to get a pre copy to review gave it glowing reports. So, I really really want to read this soon.

shopaholic stars

CHOCOLATE WITH A CARAMEL CENTRE: a book that makes you feel goey inside.

I think for this one, I will have to go back to my childhood favourite. My favourite then was The Folk of the Faraway Tree, by Enid Blyton. I also really like a new children’s book called The Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury This makes me feel all goey because I read it to the autistic children in my class at school. They all love it so much, know all the words and all the actions to it. I love that the book can give them so much pleasure.

bear hunt

A WAFER FREE KITKAT: a book that surprised you.

Well, for this one I am going to choose a book that I have written a review on. ‘The Kabul Beauty School’ by Deborah Rodriguez. This is about the author herself who goes to Afghanistan to help out, she opens up a Beauty School to help the women of the war torn country. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this as much as I did. I usually prefer chick lit and expected this to be quite heavy with political references. The book spoke of the problems of the country and the hard lives that the women were enduring, but the author also wrote of the strength and courage of the women. I really enjoyed it and will be reading more of Rodriguez’s books.

20140705_181015

A SNICKERS BAR: a book you’re going nuts about.

Well, this will be an old favourite of mine called ‘The Food of Love’ by Anthony Capella. After I read this book, I bought a further FOUR copies and sent them to all my friends and family who had birthdays coming up. They all loved it too. It is about Laura who is on a trip to Rome, she is looking for sensual food and a sensual man. Laura meets Tommasso who introduces her to the amazing food of his restaurant, and behind the scenes loving Laura from afar is Bruno. Its BRILLIANT.

Mad about the boy

HOT CHOCOLATE WITH WHIPPED CREAM AND MARSHMALLOWS: a comfort read that you turn to again and again.

For this I am going to choose “Bridget Jones’s Diary” by Helen Fielding, the first one. The first one is most definitely the best. I love the way this book was written in the diary form. I can read a few extracts and then put it away again, because I know the story so well. I love Bridget.

220px-BridgetJonesDiary

A BOX OF CHOCOLATES: a series that has lots of things that many readers will like.

Well, I thought and thought about this one and can’t really think of a series that I have read that would have lots of things for many different readers. Maybe perhaps, Roald Dahl’s books???? He has written a lot of different stories?? I’m not really sure about that one. I would love to hear your choices though, so please carry on the Chocolate Book Tag and share your answers.

Chocolate and Books – How Perfect!!

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Chocolate Book Tag.

  1. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense

    June 8, 2015 at 3:07 am

    The Lovely Bones was extremely haunting. Just thinking about that book makes me feel heavy. I love your blog name, chocolate and books really do go well together.

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 8, 2015 at 3:20 pm

      Thank you, a perfect combination for me – books and chocolate.

       

Leave a Reply

 
