RSS

Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

03 Dec
Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

 

in laws

Description:

A funny, festive short story from bestseller Fiona Gibson. Just the thing to curl up with on a cold winter night.

Christmas in the country. What could be better? All you need is one country house, one gorgeous boyfriend and a liberal dusting of snow. Right?

That’s what Anna thinks and she can’t wait for the festivities to start. But then she meets her gorgeous boyfriend’s awful parents. And their drunk friends. And she starts to hear all about a certain ex-wife. Suddenly this doesn’t look like a very merry Christmas after all…

Christmas doesn’t always go to plan, and Fiona tells it like it is. The perfect festive read for fans of ‘Outnumbered’ and Fern Britton.

My Thoughts:

I thought this was a good festive book that was easy to read with the main character Anna being very likeable and understandable.

The book sets Christmas in a snowy country home with all the things that would traditionally thought to make Christmas fantastic, good food, lovely home, family and friends. However, the book is titled about Christmas being wrecked! So, the story really has a moral about remembering what is really important at Christmas time.There are a few interesting characters. Anna’s boyfriend Ben, and his daughter Daisy. We also hear about Ben’s ex and obviously his parents!

Although this was a short story, there was definitely room to make it longer, there were characters that were barely mentioned, but could have been. The ending could lead onto another book?? Although we weren’t left hanging.

I have to say, this was the first book that I read of this author and I like her writing style. I would definitely pick up another of her books.

This book was free from Amazon when I got it, it is now on sale at Amazon for 49p. Great for a short festive read.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

  1. Rosie (@EatReadGlam)

    December 6, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    I always find it really interesting how two people can read a book and have different reactions to it. I read it when it first came out and I wasn’t impressed. I thought that the characters were good and the situation was beginning to get really interesting but then it just ended. There wasn’t enough confrontation for me.

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 6, 2014 at 4:51 pm

      I know what you mean. I think if it were a longer book I would have been unsatisfied, but as a short story I enjoyed it. Strange different opinions on the same book, but that’s why there are so many popular authors. Someone for everyone! I like to read bookbloggers opinions on books I’ve read too, just to see if we agree. Thanks for commenting.
      Amanda.

       
  2. shawn

    December 7, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    Amanda, Great review! Thanks for the clear and concise summary of the book and your opinions. I will have to add this one to list to read.

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 7, 2014 at 1:50 pm

      Thank you, I would definitely recommend it as a festive read. Enjoy.
      Amanda.

       

Leave a Reply

 
