RSS

Book Review: Sophie Kinsella, Shopaholic To The Stars.

20 Dec
Book Review: Sophie Kinsella, Shopaholic To The Stars.

shopaholic starsThe Description:

Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) is in Hollywood! It’s as if all her life has been leading to this moment. She’s hanging out with the stars….. or at least she will be, when she finally gets to meet movie superstar Sage Seymour, whom husband Luke is now managing. There’s so much to see and do! And getting Minnie through the hurdles for her A list Hollywood pre-school will require some… er…help.

Becky sets her heart on a new career – she’s going to be a celebrity stylist. Red carpet, here she comes! But Becky soon finds it’s tough in Tinseltown. Luckily her best friend Suze comes over to keep her company, and together they embark on a Hollywood insider trail. But somehow…..things aren’t quite working out as they’d hoped. 

Then Becky’s big chance comes, and it’s an opportunity that money can’t buy. But will it cost her too much?

What I Thought:

I have so been looking forward to reading this book, ever since I heard it was coming out. I have read all of the previous Shopaholic’s and Becky is fabulous in all of them. If you haven’t heard of Becky Bloomwood before, then google her and devour all the series of Shopaholic books. They are my favourite.

As always in this book, Becky was laugh out loud funny, she gets herself into all kinds of fixes and quite a lot seems to do things without thinking through the consequences.

Becky has always been the type to dream of fame, designer clothes, being spotted in designer clothes on the red carpet, and now her dreams could come true!

We hear about all the characters in the previous books, its a great bookish family. All the characters remain as I remembered them. Luke, Becky’s husband is the best fictional husband you could find. He supports Becky through everything, all her stupid decisions and mess up’s, he is there. We love Luke!

There is a funny part when Becky’s daughter is befriending Becky’s arch enemy’s daughter (Alicia Bitch Long Legs’ daughter Ora). Becky is telling Suze about it and Suze says:

“What is this, the Montegues and the Capulets?”

Although I did love this book, I was a little disappointed with the ending. It really doesn’t sit well with me writing this, but I have to be truthful in my thoughts! Sophie Kinsella is absolutely my favourite author and the Shopaholics are my favourite books. Never before have I been disappointed but in this one I was. I can’t really say why without giving a spoiler, so I won’t. But if you read the book or have read it, I would like to discuss it with someone! Why why why!!!???

Aside from that little matter, I still loved the book and still always rooted for Becky throughout her escapades in Hollywood. I would definitely recommend this book. For Shopaholic fans, read it. For those who don’t know Becky, if you love chick lit, start at the beginning of the series and you will be addicted!

Thanks for reading my review, let me know if you have read this book what you thought, I really would be interested in your thoughts of this book.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
