RSS

Home Made Delicious Scottish Tablet.

10 Jan
Home Made Delicious Scottish Tablet.
DSCF1441

My Home made Scottish Tablet.

Scottish tablet is something I have discovered since moving to Scotland, (11 years ago!).

It is delicious, very sweet and sugary and a perfect treat to have yourself or give as a gift. Personally I prefer to give mine as gifts because it is very sweet and if I make a big batch there is plenty to go around.

If you haven’t heard of tablet before, its similar to fudge, but sweeter. I made some for Christmas Eve and by Boxing day, it was all gone. So I decided to make some more. Then  thought, why not share my recipe and photos with my readers. So here it is:

DSCF1422

I used a recipe from the Good Food magazine, as my Husband so generously bought me a years subscription for Christmas.

Ingredients.

  • 1/4 pint water

  • 175g unsalted butter

  • 1lb caster sugar

  • 75g sweetened condensed milk.

Method

1. Using a fairly large pan, heat the water, melt the butter into the hot water. Before the water reaches the boil, add and thoroughly dissolve the sugar. Stir often.

2. Bring the water to the boil and then allow to simmer. When simmering, add the condensed milk. the mixture will be a very light, creamy colour.

3. Stirring (very) often, allow the mixture to thicken until it is a deep caramel colour, the texture/consistency of the mixture will change quickly after around 20mins, maybe as long as 30mins from a watery simmer to a thicker bubbling. (the colour may also darken quickly at this point). This is where a large pan is handy as the mixture tends to rise a bit when simmering.

4. To test the mixture, drop a little onto a cold side plate, it should not run and should be thick and sticky after 30 seconds.

5. Remove from heat and beat mixture for a good 10 mins. Pour mixture into a shallow sided tray (10″x6″) there should be enough mixture for it to be about 1cm thick. Allow to cool for 30mins, even in the freezer. slice and enjoy. (If the mixture does not set, you can bring it back to a simmer and give it a further 5 mins or so).

Here are some photos of my tablet, it really is delicious and went down well with my family and friends.

Have you made this before, or do you think you might make this? I would love to hear from you. What did you think of it, any tips to enhance my recipe?

Thanks for reading.

DSCF1442DSCF1446

DSCF1445DSCF1450

 
26 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2015 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Home Made Delicious Scottish Tablet.

  1. Eagle-Eyed Editor

    January 10, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Looks amazing. I’ve never heard of this treat before, but I’d love to try making it!

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 10, 2015 at 5:52 pm

      You should, it is very tasty and quite easy to make, not many ingredients which is a bonus.
      Let me know if you do make it.
      Amanda.

       
  2. ajbookreviewclub

    January 10, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    looks nice hope you enjoy it

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 10, 2015 at 5:53 pm

      Thank you, a tasty little treat and some to give to friends and family too.

       
  3. Rosie (@EatReadGlam)

    January 10, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing this recipe, I’ll try this. I saw tablet when I went to Scotland and I thought it looked a lot like fudge but I wasn’t entirely sure what it was.

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 10, 2015 at 8:19 pm

      It is delicious, I hope the recipe works well for you and you enjoy it.
      Amanda.

       
  4. MiscellaneousMusings (@themiscmusings)

    January 19, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    Whoa this looks amazingly unhealthy and GREAT! Definitely going to try this when I’m in need of a treat 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Beth x

    themiscmusings.blogspot.com

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 19, 2015 at 6:29 pm

      It is extremely unhealthy! That’s why I make it and give lots away. Its quite delicious though Beth, I hope you like it if you make it.
      Amanda.

       
  5. Vickie

    January 24, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    This looks so tasty! I haven’t had tablet for years, not since I was little and my mum (who was Scottish) made it. I’ll have to give this recipe a go and see if it’s as good as I remember. Vx

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 24, 2015 at 12:29 pm

      I hope it is as good as you remember, it will hopefully give you a nice tasty memory from your younger days.
      Enjoy. Amanda. x

       
  6. Mini Travellers

    March 24, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    Is it a bit like kendal mint cake in taste? It looks very similar? #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      March 24, 2015 at 11:06 pm

      I can’t remember what mint cake tastes like. It’s similar to fudge, but a bit sweeter and more sugary. I’m thinking of making more soon, maybe as Easter gifts.

       
  7. mummyofboygirltwins

    March 25, 2015 at 6:00 pm

    Wow! Looks fab! I have tried before but it didn’t work!! Might try again though!! Thanks for sharing #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      March 25, 2015 at 6:12 pm

      Hope it works for you the next time. Get it really boiling hot in the pan so it rises up. Enjoy.

       
  8. Georgie

    March 29, 2015 at 11:59 am

    I’d forgotten about that recipe! We lived in Edinburgh for just over a year – brings back memories! Georgie x

     
    • chocolatepages

      March 29, 2015 at 12:11 pm

      Edinburgh must have been a great place to live, especially when the festival was on. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  9. Lukeosaurus And Me

    March 29, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    I have never tried this before, but it looks amazing! I think I will definitely try making some, I bet it does make a wonderful gift. #SundayStars Ray @ lukeosaurusandme.blogspot.co.uk

     
    • chocolatepages

      March 29, 2015 at 1:48 pm

      It does make a great gift. In fact I might just make some to give as Easter gifts. I hope you enjoy yours if you make it.
      Thanks for stopping by, Amanda.

       
  10. Linda Hobbis

    April 12, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    Hi – found you via Sunday Stars. I absolutely love Scottish tablet. We went on our only holiday to Scotland (Edinburgh then Inveraray) about 30 years ago and discovered it then. I remember buying it every day. I’m going to have to give this recipe a go!

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 12, 2015 at 8:43 pm

      Wow, I hope you make it and it brings back great memories for you.
      xx

       
  11. Everything Mummy

    April 16, 2015 at 9:00 pm

    mmm this sounds lush so simple aswell i love fudge so am sure i’d enjoy this thanks for sharing on #sundaystars would you mind adding our badge, thank you x

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 17, 2015 at 10:15 am

      It is very delicious. Yes, I’d love to add your badge, I will do that ready for this weeks #SundayStars. Thank you.

       
  12. heleddinlavender

    April 17, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    Totally agree, I love giving gifts we’ve made. At Christmas my daughter and I made chocolate fudge for her teachers, which we packed in little bags just like this. These sound yummy, we’ll have to give them a try. Thanks for linking up to #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 17, 2015 at 10:36 pm

      That sounds like a lovely gift for the teachers, I’m sue they loved it.
      Thanks for stopping by.

       
  13. Almondine

    October 22, 2015 at 7:28 pm

    This looks so much like Dutch boterkoek! I can’t add any pics in the comment section, but if you google ‘boterkoek stukjes’, you’ll see! I’m definitely going to try this out and see if it tastes the same.

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 23, 2015 at 5:46 pm

      I will google it. I will let you know if I make it and if its similar to Tablet.

       

Leave a Reply

 
