RSS

Book Review: Twitter Girl by Nic Tatano.

16 Jan
Book Review: Twitter Girl by Nic Tatano.

twitter girl

I saw this book on NetGalley, and thought it immediately looked like the kind of book that I would enjoy. I liked the cover and it was written as a story including social media (Twitter) – which I love, and a chick lit book – which is my favourite kind of read.

So, thank you to NetGalley for this book. Here is the book description and my thoughts.

twitter girl

Description:

Meet America’s Tweet-Heart.

She’s network reporter Cassidy Shea, better known as @TwitterGirl, with more than a million followers thanks to her sarcastic tweets. One hundred forty characters that can take anyone down a notch.
But while brevity may be the soul of wit, it can also get you fired.
When a controversial tweet goes viral the snarky redhead finds herself locked out of the career she loves… and watches her boyfriend take a hike.
Alas, no industry values sarcasm more than politics, and Cassidy becomes a marketable commodity for Presidential candidate Will Becker, a squeaky-clean, stone cold lock to be the next occupant of the White House. This candidate is unlike any other; he’s the country’s most eligible bachelor. He’s also looking for a running mate, and we’re not talking about a Vice President.
Twitter Girl has caught his eye.
Cassidy finds herself swept up in a whirlwind romance that turns her into the next Jackie Kennedy and becomes the favorite to be the next First Lady. The country can’t get enough of America’s First Couple… will Cassidy and Will Becker bring back Camelot?

But an anonymous tip triggers her journalistic curiosity. Is Will Becker all that he seems? The search for the answer teaches Cassidy the meaning of love.

My Thoughts:

This book took me in straight away by the cover, so I was really hoping that it didn’t disappoint………… It didn’t, I loved it.

The story focuses around Cassidy who is Twitter Girl, she gets employed to tweet sarcastic tweets to help the Senator get elected as President, she follows him on his campaign trail and also begins to date him in the process. I loved the main character TG, (Twitter Girl) straight away, the author did a great job describing her and it really put a vivid picture in my head of the type of girl that TG was, both with her looks and her personality. She doesn’t get pushed around and is witty and funny. She also has a kind, caring and generous side to her. I liked that they mentioned her appetite a lot. TG eats a lot and that kind of made her more real to me. From her image she sounds gorgeous, but she doesn’t eat like a bird! She enjoys her food.

” out on a Friday night ……eating fried cheese and nachos. ”

“Loved the chopped pecans in the pancakes”.

I liked the range of characters in this book, they weren’t all the usual tall dark handsome traditionally fantastic fictional hunks. Two of the leading men both had disabilities and were written to be complete gentlemen that you really root for throughout the book. Even TG was written as a bit different, red head, very tall, but the kind of girl that you want to be friends with. (Even if you might get a little envious!).

I found the story to be kind of like a fairy tale, but with a very modern take on it. ( TG gets a great job as a tweeter! and dates the most eligible man in the country!)

I found parts of it to be predictable and parts of it took me by surprise, this for me makes a great chick lit book. You can kind of see where the love interest stories are going, but the mystery tip offs and the things that TG finds out on her journalistic findings are unexpected. The unexpected made me want to keep reading to see where the story was going, and the predictable to see if I was right!

I loved the ending because I felt like everything was explained and you don’t get left wondering about anything. I loved the way the author wrote and I will certainly read more of her books. I have already actually looked out a few……

Have you read this book, what did you think? Are you going to read it after reading my review? I would love to hear your thoughts. Also if you can recommend any more books by this author please let me know.

Thanks for reading.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Book Review: Twitter Girl by Nic Tatano.

  1. Suzanne

    January 17, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    Great review, this book sounds really good!

     
  2. breenibooks

    January 20, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    Love your character assessment! I’ve gotten addicted to Twitter myself, as of late. I used to hate it! This sounds like a great read.

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 21, 2015 at 4:28 pm

      Thank you, I didn’t really like social media when it was facebook, but I do like Twitter.
      It is a great read, I think I will read more by this author. 🙂

       
  3. Azee M

    January 30, 2015 at 6:00 am

    Wow, this book sure does sounds interesting! Addiction to twitter is really common these days so love to see how this book turns out! 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 30, 2015 at 4:49 pm

      I really recommend it, I hope you enjoy it if you choose to read it.

       
  4. mumjd

    March 20, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    I enjoy using Twitter, so think I would love to read this book

     
    • chocolatepages

      March 20, 2016 at 10:34 pm

      That was just what attracted me to it too, it was fab.

       

Leave a Reply

 
