RSS

Book Review: Guardian of the Underworld. By Rachel Tetley.

31 Jan
Book Review: Guardian of the Underworld. By Rachel Tetley.

guardian

Many thanks to new author, Rachel Tetley for sending me a copy of this book.

This book is available now on Amazon.

The Description:

Two worlds

Neither can exist without the other

And one guardian to ensure their survival

But a family with a score to settle

Forces one boy, into a dangerous adventure

Jake Summers is an ordinary boy with an ordinary family- so he thinks. He has just spent another summer holidays building dens in the woods with his best friend Paul. But when someone special unexpectedly dies, Jake is determined to find out the truth, unaware that it will change his life forever.

He discovers a key to Grandpa’s forbidden room, and is plunged into a long-forgotten magical world, together with class mate Arianna Brown and a strange creature called Noggin. Stormy seas, underground carts pulled by Golden Eagles and a dragon all stand in his way. He must race against time to fulfil an ancient magical prophecy and save the world.

 

guardian 2

What I Thought:

I have to admit this book is really not usually the kind of book that I read. I am usually a chick lit kind of girl. But when Ms Tetley asked me to read and review her book, I thought firstly the synopsis sounded good, then that its about time I read a fantasy book to see what all the hype is about.

Well let me tell you, I made the right decision. Thank you very much to Ms. Tetley for introducing me to this magical world. The story follows Jake and his friend Arianna through the magical Underworld where Jake has to rescue Arianna’s sister and compete against challenges that face them.

The story is gripping all the way through, I loved the idea of another world with different creatures, magical tools and how Jake, Arianna and Noggin (their strange friend from the other world) have to accomplish the tasks that have been left to Jake.

The writing of this author is amazing, I absolutely love the way she describes everything. She really has a way with words so that even the most unimaginative person couldn’t help but have these vivid images in their head. She really is very talented.

The main characters that we hear about are Jake, Arianna, Grandpa and Noggin. We follow Jake on a journey where he starts off as a nervous child and we see him grow along the way. Arianna is a great character, she is like the girl next door that Jake gets all stuttery speaking to, yet turns out to be a great friend and really helps Jake with his challenges. There is great potential in both these characters for a few more books should the author choose the write them. (I have a feeling that she will  😉  ).

I loved the character of Grandpa. He seems to be a figure of compassion, knowledge and bravery. He influences Jake all the way through the book, he is the kind of Grandpa that every child would want. I remember a great bit of advice that Grandpa gave to Jake, when he has to do something difficult:

“Take a deep breathe and imagine you are the most powerful person in the world”.

What great advice, and as the story evolves you can see how this is really accurate to Jake and Grandpa.

For the first two thirds of the story, the writer asks questions within the plot. Its actually the characters asking themselves questions, but its a very clever way to make young readers think about what they are reading and the situations that the characters are in.

The book is written primarily for young readers, but there is most definitely enjoyment for the adult reader aswell. I have to admit, I was never a fan of fantasy adventure, but Ms Tetley may have just turned my head to this genre. Or maybe its just that her book was so good? I will be waiting and hoping that there will be another instalment in this series about the Underworld. The book has a conclusive ending, but there is definitely scope for another book or two with Jake, Arianna and Noggin and the Underworld.

Have you read this book or do you intend too? Let me know your thoughts, and whether you think I should read any more fantasy adventure books. I am always open to suggestions.

Thank you to Rachel Tetley for my copy of this book and thank you to my readers who have read this review.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Book Review: Guardian of the Underworld. By Rachel Tetley.

  1. Drama Queen's Momma

    February 1, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    Wow! That sounds like an exciting book! And what do ya know…I JUST finished a book and am looking for a good one to pick up… 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 1, 2015 at 4:45 pm

      Well, this one is a great book. Did you also read my interview with the author? She gives a good insight to how she came up with the story. I hope you like it as much as I do.
      Amanda.

       
  2. Le Coin de Mel

    February 2, 2015 at 12:13 am

    This isn’t normally my kind of book, but it seems like the perfect summer read, really. I will have to remember about it & get it on my kindle. x

     
  3. chocolatepages

    February 14, 2015 at 10:23 am

    It wasn’t the usual kind that I would read either, but I’m glad I did read it. Hope you enjoy it too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
