RSS

Book Review: The Valentine Free Zone, by Fiona Gibson.

14 Feb
Book Review: The Valentine Free Zone, by Fiona Gibson.

I downloaded this book as a short Valentine read, I love short stories as they are quick reads and also because they give you an idea of the authors style of writing, if you want to read more of their books.

Well, I knew I enjoyed Fiona Gibson’s books anyway, as I have read some of hers before. So, I had high hopes for this little read already.

valentine fiona

The Description:

The Funny One: Part of the Love…Maybe ebook short story collection.

Sally’s teenage son Riley wants her out of their flat while he cooks a special Valentine supper for his girlfriend… so how on earth is she supposed to spend the most romantic night of the year?

A laugh-out-loud Valentine’s read, perfect for fans of ‘Outnumbered’ and Fern Britton.

My Thoughts:

This book is a quick, easy read which I really enjoyed. It doesn’t have any of the slushy, mushy typical Valentines stuff. It has characters being independent and strong.

It starts with Sally going on a daytime Valentine’s date with her boyfriend Michael. The date is to a very boring museum. Michael has to work that night, so Sally has to spend the night doing something else. Her son Riley however, wants the house to himself to entertain girlfriend Zoe. So, Sally has to find other arrangements for the night.

This book was easy reading, fun and light. I liked the main character Sally and was proud of the way she handled her love life and her family life. I also liked the character of Riley, her son. A typical nice 19 year old boy, wants to enjoy his girlfriend, but also wants to keep his Mum happy too. 

I like the style of writing of this author and will certainly keep reading her books.

If you want a quick read, whether for Valentine’s day or not, I recommend this book and this author.

Have you read it, or are you going to? Let me know your thoughts and as always any other book recommendations you have for me.

Thanks for reading and have a great day.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
