RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Inspiring Quotes from Books.

14 Apr
Top Ten Tuesday: Inspiring Quotes from Books.

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday is all about Inspiring Quotes from Books. It will be quotes that inspire, challenge, encourage or make you think……and all from books.

1428332142706

I have seen these posts around a lot and I love reading them. This is the first time I have participated in Top Ten Tuesday. This is originally the idea of and hosted by ‘The Broke and Bookish‘, and a lovely way to share bookish thoughts with like minded people.

1. “Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it”Anne Shirley from ‘Anne of Green Gables’ by Lucy Maud Montgomery.

Something I always remember when I’m having a bad day. I love Anne!

Anne-of-Green-Gables

2. “Just because you can’t see the stage, doesn’t mean you can’t dance on it”Aubrey from ‘Blue Sun, Yellow Sky’ by Jamie Jo Hoang. Amazing book with so many great quotes, see my review of it here: http://wp.me/p4CHeD-d2 

blue sun

3. I’m going to take another quote from this book because I loved it so much, and found it inspirational.

Everything that’s broken was beautiful at one time. And our mistakes make us better people”. Aubrey – ‘Blue Sun, Yellow Sky’ This book really is fantastic and I can’t rave about it enough. 

DSCF1783

4. ” I don’t feel very much like Pooh today” said Pooh.

    “There, there” said Piglet, “I’ll bring you tea and honey until you do”

Pooh and Piglet, – Winnie the Pooh, by A A Milne.

The ultimate children’s book of unconditional friendship.

pooh

5. “A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts it will shine out of your face like sunbeam and you will always look lovely.” – ‘The Twits’, by Roald Dahl

Children’s books sometimes give the loveliest and truest quotes don’t they?

the twits

6. The worst thing that can be done to children is to drain their energy while correcting them.”  ― James Redfield, ‘The Celestine Prophecy‘.

As a learning assistant in a special needs school, I am so aware that we need to raise the confidence and education of our kids. This comes with praise, fun and trust.

celestine

7. “You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not” – Jodi Picoult, My Sisters Keeper.

This was the first Jodi Picoult book that I read, and it got me hooked to Picoult’s writing. There are always morals to her books. I love them.

jodimysisterskeeper

8. “Extraordinary thigs are always hiding in places people never think to look”, Jodi Picoult, ‘My Sister’s Keeper’.

Another great quote from Picoult, if you haven’t read any of her books, then I strongly recommend that you do.

jodi quote 3

9. “Life isn’t finding shelter in the storm. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”
Sherrilyn Kenyon, Acheron.

Actually I haven’t heard of this book, but I do really like the quote. When I googled to see where the quote came from, this came up? If anyone knows of this book, I would love to hear your thoughts on it. I just love the quote.

This is one of the first quotes and pictures I used when I started this blog, so it is quite dear to me.

1392076609124

10. “You have been my friend and that itself is a tremendous thing”. Charlottes Web, by E.B. White.

charlottes web

What a lovely quote, because after all love and friendship is what should make us happy, even when all else is collapsing or when you have all the money / job / possessions – love and friendship is what is most important. (I think anyway). 

Well, my first Top Ten Tuesday is done, I hope to do more of these in the future. If you liked these quotes, please let me know and if you have any of your own I would love to hear them. 

Happy reading folks.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

Mami 2 Five
 
27 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

27 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Inspiring Quotes from Books.

  1. Tasha

    April 14, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    You should check out Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series. It’s a long series but totally made out of pure awesome sauce! 😀

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 14, 2015 at 6:44 pm

      I will do if you recommend it. Thank you.

       
      • Tasha

        April 14, 2015 at 6:46 pm

        I cannot recommend it enough! No problem 🙂

         
  2. Clare Chase

    April 14, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    I’ve always loved that quote from The Twits too. And, as for your first choice, I plan to chant that like a mantra after work each day from now on!! 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 14, 2015 at 6:46 pm

      I really love that quote from Anne, I say it to myself quite often. x

       
  3. heyjamie

    April 14, 2015 at 3:57 pm

    Thank you so much for the quote shout out and for including my book in a list with other authors I love and admire!

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 14, 2015 at 6:50 pm

      Of course, I love those quotes, there were probably more from your book I could have added.
      Thanks for commenting. 😉 x

       
  4. Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts

    April 15, 2015 at 1:36 am

    You’re right! There are so many resilient quotes in kid-lit that could apply to any generation. The Winnie the Pooh quote hit me right in the nostalgic feels!

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 15, 2015 at 10:48 am

      Thank you, they are great quotes. Glad you could identify with them.

       
  5. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense

    April 15, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    Great selection! I think I love the Piglet quote the most because sometimes having a good friend present is enough.

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 16, 2015 at 11:26 am

      Yes, you’re right. No matter how bad things get, if you can share it with a friend it’s not quite so awful.

       
  6. Julia @ Rainbeaubelle

    April 26, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    Really love these, I always like reading quotes! I always smile at the Roald Dahl Twits one. Thanks for sharing #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 26, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      It’s lovely isn’t it. Nice quote and good childhood memories of stories.

       
  7. travelingchristie

    May 3, 2015 at 11:04 am

    Oh I love this post, I was trying to choose a favourite as I read through but I just couldn’t xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 3, 2015 at 11:55 am

      Thank you, they are all good quotes. I guess no favourite is needed. Thanks for stopping by. x

       
  8. Kirsten Toyne

    May 3, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    I love quotes. And your very first one made my heart skip. Anne Of Green Gables. Oh my goodness, I love that film. Thanks for sharing this. Great (Sunday Stars)

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 4, 2015 at 2:20 am

      Thank you, it’s one of my favourite films too. I love Anne Shirley.

       
  9. Random Musings

    May 3, 2015 at 11:59 pm

    I love this. There is so much truth to be found in fiction #SundayStars
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

     
  10. hobbisl38

    May 10, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    Wow, I hadn’t heard the James Redfield quote before but it is spot on, isn’t it. How you correct them without draining their energy, that’s the question! Love the premise behind this post. #SundayStars

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 11, 2015 at 4:22 pm

      Thank you for your nice comments. James Redfield is a great author, so I was glad to use one of his quotes.
      Amanda.

       
  11. Hannah Spannah Coco Banana

    May 10, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    Great choices. I’m also a Jodi Picoult fan and have most of her books although her writing style is so similar in them all that I need to take a break between her books #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 11, 2015 at 4:23 pm

      I’m exactly the same, I read a Picoult book, then I choose something more light hearted before going back to her next book. I do love her style though.
      Thanks for your comments.

       
  12. Everything Mummy

    May 13, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    great quotes love no.1 and 4 the best can’t beat winnie the pooh! thanks for linking up to #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 14, 2015 at 3:40 pm

      I know, children’s books quotes are so lovely. Thanks or dropping by.

       
  13. Vickie Jackson

    July 25, 2015 at 10:29 pm

    I think these quotes are all very apt for today’s world. Kids books especially always have quite profound quotes.

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 25, 2015 at 11:33 pm

      Thank you, the quotes in children’s books always seem to get us later in life don’t they. Thanks for stopping by.

       

Leave a Reply

 
