RSS

Book Review: For The Love of Ash, by Taylor Lavati.

09 May
Book Review: For The Love of Ash, by Taylor Lavati.

Thank you very much to Author Taylor Lavati for providing me with an ARC copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.

ash

Description:

Maggie Larken is a reformed party girl. After her parent’s death, she’s left to raise Asher, her nine-year-old brother.

Luke Wilson has done everything his parents have ever asked of him. A new teacher, Luke constantly questions where his life is headed.

When Luke and Maggie meet, neither is in the market for a relationship. But sometimes life has other plans. Both navigate new waters as they try to decide where their priorities should lie, while also seizing what they want.

In this heartbreakingly real tale of love, Maggie and Luke discover what being a family truly means.

Published March 9th 2015


My Thoughts:

This is the first book that I have read from Taylor Lavati, I suspect it won’t be the last. I really enjoyed this book. The book tells of Maggie and Asher whose parents have died, so Maggie takes over the Mum role and gets custody to look after her much younger brother Ash. Maggie meets Luke in one of her classes, we hear all about Luke’s story and his family too. The story mostly revolves around Maggie, Asher and Luke. This is a contemporary romance story which felt real and had me believing and being right there with the characters. 

I felt that I could empathise with Maggie and Luke. The characters were written so well that you managed to get an insight into their heads and why they made the decisions that they made. I didn’t always agree with the decisions, but you could understand them. I didn’t really have a favourite character in this book. Ash seems like a great kid and I got an image of him in my head as a cute little boy with dark curls and innocent eyes.

There were plenty of supporting characters, each who came with a smaller storyline of their own. Luke’s siblings, Lindsay, Lauren, Lisa and Liam. Yes, they all begin with the letter ‘L’, I suspect that that was to show the control of their parents? But mine and my two brothers names all begin with the letter ‘A’, so I’m not sure. I would like to ask Taylor what her thoughts were on this inclusion.

Luke is a good character, you can tell he has a huge heart, but has gone through some tough times in his life. Maggie asks him about one of his tattoos, which is a clock. Luke’s response in his explanation of the clock was that the clock reminds him not to loose track of time:

“…time is constant. Its always moving, and I just don’t want to forget about my priorites”.

I like this quote for myself too, and it does give an insight into Luke’s mind. There is a nice bit towards the end of the book where Luke is talking to his therapist, he wants to understand what’s wrong with him!! Look out for it if you choose to read this book.

Maggie’s entire world and thoughts revolve around Ash and making everything the best she possibly can for him, she is quite an inspiring character. The way she came across to me, made me want to be her friend and say, Hey Maggie, you’re doing a great job, relax!

The storyline was more exciting than I was expecting, I love that it had a few twists and turns, it was enticing and made you want to keep reading to find out what would happen to each of the characters. I continued to think of Maggie, Ash and Luke after I finished this book, I even thought about Luke’s brother Liam too!

Lavati is a talented writer, her descriptive words are great for my senses:

“I was assaulted by the smell of freshly ground coffee beans. I loved coffee – everything from the scent, to the rush, to the warm way it swam down my throat. Just thinking about it made me want to snuggle by my non existent fireplace”

Its quite amusing actually as Maggie orders her coffee, drinks it without enjoying it because she didn’t realise that she has to add her own milk and sugar from a different area! Then claims to Luke it’s because she is more of a ‘Dunkin Donuts’ girl! I did chuckle to myself.

Overall, this book is great and I recommend it to you all. I will be following Lavati on Twitter and seeing what other books she has written and is writing. She is talented writer with a flare for emotional characters and great descriptive writing.

If you choose to read this book, or have read it already, I would love to hear your thoughts.

You can find Taylor Lavati here – @taylorjlavati

and here –    taylorlavati.com

Happy Reading!

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
