RSS

Day and Night Book Tag.

16 May
Day and Night Book Tag.

Thank you very much to Shawna from https://bookishshimmycaster.wordpress.com for nominating me for this bookish tag.

Its been really nice to get to know Shawna through her blog recently and I am very happy that she tagged me in this this post. Shawna has a great blog, and I recommend you all hop over for a browse and a follow.

I’m not tagging anyone in particular, but I’d love for you to follow on with this post! Bookbloggers and book lovers,  lets share our thoughts in this cute post.

family of readers

Here goes with the questions:

D: Do you read more in the morning or at night?

Definitely more at night, I don’t have time to read in the morning before work. I like to enter my alternative world of whichever book I’m reading before  I go to sleep at night.

not tonight

A: Are there any books that changed the way you thought about things?

Books always make you think about why the characters are the way they are and why they make the decisions that they make. The most prominent book that I have read involves this quote:

“Tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it”, Anne of Green Gables, by Lucy Maud Montgomery

tmw is fresh

Y: YA or not?

I haven’t read a huge amount of YA, (Since I’ve been an adult) but I do enjoy the occasional YA book. My preferred read is crime thriller and chick lit / contemporary female. My next YA adult read I’m looking forward to is ‘Finding Audrey’ by Sophie Kinsella. Her first YA, and as I love all her other books, I’m sure this will be amazing too.

finding audrey

A: Are there any characters you honestly believe to be real?

Most characters I read about seem real in my head at the time of reading. A good book should have you engrossed in their lives so that you are following their adventures, emotional journey or whatever their story entails. Unless the author is writing about their real life story, then usually the characters aren’t really alive, but a good author will entice you into their lives so that you believe that they are ‘real’.

books are people

N: Nobody borrows my books or I don’t mind lending them out?

I don’t mind lending my books out, I would like it if more people wanted to borrow them actually so that we could discuss the story, characters, ending etc. Unfortunately, I don’t have many friends who read. (This doesn’t include my Twitter / Blogger friends who I love to share bookish thoughts with). 😉

happiness shared

D: Do you ever smell your books?

I do, its strange but I do!!! The last book I read, ‘So, You Think You’re A Celebrity….Chef’ by Caroline James, I swear I could smell a foody smell from it! I asked my Husband to smell it, and got the response back with an odd look, “It smells like paper”!!!!

cel chef

N: Not everyone likes books, is this a positive or a negative?

It’s neither positive or negative. Everyone has their own interests, mine happens to be reading books. I think those that don’t read haven’t found the right books yet, or haven’t given it a chance. But each to their own.

havent found the right book

I: I keep my books in the best condition or maybe not? Which are you?

I try to keep them in good condition, but not so as to not enjoy reading them. I certainly don’t deface them or anything, but I will take them in the garden, to the beach etc. I will also probably get a few biscuit crumbs in them. My books are read and lived and loved. 

nose in a book

G: Gosh I have too many books! True or False?

No, definitely not! I will say that I don’t have enough space to keep all the books I would like to keep. So, quite often I will give my books away, either to my followers via a giveaway or to my Mum or Sister in Law. I am happy to give them away to someone who will enjoy them as much as me. I have kept all of my e books though, my kindle is very full! 

books cp

H: Have you ever spilled or stained your books before with something, and if so how?

tea stained books

Ok, maybe not quite as bad as that! I have had sand, grass and biscuit crumbs in my books, but nothing too horrible or destructive.

T: Toned or untoned while reading? . . or in other words. . .Do you read and workout at the same time?

Funny question! How could you workout and read at the same time. For me, both would require all your attention? So, no I do both but not at the same time.

reading-mind-exercise-body

Thank you again Shawna for tagging me in this lovely bookish post. It was a fun post to write.

I would love to hear your answers to the questions. Let me know your thoughts and if you do this tag, leave me your links so I can read them.

Happy Reading from Me, Amanda at ChocolatePages.  xxx

Mami 2 Five

The Reading Residence                     Thanks to #SundayStars and #WOTW for                                         hosting link ups that I have participated in with this post.                                  

 
17 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2015 in Books, Tags

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Day and Night Book Tag.

  1. Merlinda Little ( @pixiedusk)

    May 17, 2015 at 12:34 am

    I smell my book! I am in the middle of YA I think. I really dont know whats its category as I just bought it when I heard its good and then read it. I suddenly miss reading and that is what I will do much tomorrow! This is such a lovely read =) #wotw

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 17, 2015 at 7:31 am

      Thank you. I didn’t know there were so many different categories to books until I started blogging, now they are all labeled! I guess it makes it easier to distinguish what you like to read.
      Have a lovely reading day tomorrow. 🙂

       
  2. thereadingresidence

    May 17, 2015 at 8:06 am

    Oh, I’m definitely more of a night reader, too, and I’ve always thought that about non-readers – they’ve just yet to find the right books. Thanks for linking up and sharing with #WotW (PS would you mind adding the badge, please? Thanks!)

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 17, 2015 at 8:26 am

      Yes, of course. I will do that right now.
      Reading at night is the best (for me), so I drift off to sleep thinking of the story.

       
    • chocolatepages

      May 17, 2015 at 8:32 am

      Badge added. Thanks for hosting a great linky. #WotW

       
  3. bookishshimmycaster

    May 18, 2015 at 2:55 am

    You’re welcome! 🙂

     
  4. lambandbear

    May 18, 2015 at 6:44 am

    I don’t read enough at all. But it’s difficult with a 2 year old and a part time job and a blog! However once I get into a good book, I can’t put it down. xx #SundayStars

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 18, 2015 at 4:49 pm

      I find that short stories are good when you don’t have much time.
      Thanks for stopping by.

       
  5. Suze

    May 18, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    Great post, I love your replies :). I love reading at night, I bet a lot of book bloggers are losing quite a bit of sleep…

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 18, 2015 at 9:50 pm

      Yes, definitely the best time for me. Just wish I could stop time for a bit so I can read more and sleep more. 🙂

       
  6. Jessica Samuelsen

    May 19, 2015 at 8:23 pm

    I’m a night/evening reader, or early morning can’t sleep. And no I don’t sniff books… often LOL!

     
  7. Mini Travellers

    May 21, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    I LOVE reading and have a huge pile to read on my holidays. Morning noon or night! #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 21, 2015 at 8:38 pm

      That’s just what I like to do on my hols too. They can’t come soon enough. I have a big tbr pile too, enjoy yours.

       
  8. Katie (@mami2fiveblog)

    May 30, 2015 at 9:02 pm

    My favourite smell in the world is old books! There’s just something so calming about it for me. Thanks for linking up with #SundayStars xxx

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 2, 2015 at 4:19 pm

      You’re right it is a calming smell strange but so true.

       

Leave a Reply

 
