RSS

Book Review: CLUB MEDicine, by Jack Kinsley.

20 Jun
Book Review: CLUB MEDicine, by Jack Kinsley.

Thank you very much to Author Jack Kinsley for my copy of CLUB MEDicine. When Jack contacted me to ask me to review this book, I thought the blurb sounded exciting and like quite a page turner! I wasn’t wrong. This book is great. I contacted Jack on Twitter @JackKinsley  and had a look at his webpage JackKinsley Jack is now living in Phucket in Thailand where he writing his third book. What a great place to live and write. Here is my review of CLUB MEDicine.

home badge

Description:

What drives a reasonable man to commit murder?

Travis Martin was the great American success story. A former addict who started the premiere private rehab in the hills of Malibu, California, he had it all: a thriving business, a beautiful wife, and a daughter who was the center of his universe. Unfortunately, when his recovery took a nosedive, everything he built went right along with it. Now, he has a rehab filled with eccentric clients he’s expected to keep sane, a dark secret he’s desperate to keep hidden, and forces from his past that are determined to strip him of anything that remains.

What’s a self-made man to do? Backed into a corner, Travis finds himself stuck on one moral question: Can he commit murder in order to keep it all from slipping away? How far down the rabbit hole will he go? And, perhaps more importantly, how does he come back from it after that life is gone?

Part thriller and part redemption tale, CLUB MEDicine explores the heart of darkness within us all as one man balances on the razor’s edge between self-actualization and self-destruction.

 

club medicine

My Thoughts:

What a great book!! I thought I would enjoy this after reading the description, and I really did.

Travis runs an elite rehab centre, so elite that the patients are called ‘Clients’, who have ‘personal challenges’. The story follows Travis, his family and the staff and clients of this rehab centre ‘Crystal Heights’.

Travis was such a well written character, which shows the real talent behind this Author. Travis is a previous addict, who still takes tablets. His life is a struggle to keep his business afloat and keep his clients and staff happy. His beloved daughter Bella is living with her Mother who doesn’t like or trust Travis anymore, yet despite all this I still really rooted for and liked Travis! The storyline shows Travis on a downward spiral, yet I still liked him??? A very talented Author is here!

The Author uses great descriptions in his work that painted perfect images in my head of this story. He describes one of the characters as “a beast inside the oversized chameleon”. What a perfect description for his client Dallas.

He describes another character as having “coffee-shop waitress wit”. 

There is a twist towards the end of the book, that I really wasn’t expecting, and this led me to a few very late nights as I wanted to know what happened next!! There is such an eclectic range of characters in this book, that each has excitement and intrigue behind them. What starts off as a simple killing of a dog, turns to a very dark and spine chilling adventure. It left me thinking as the chapters read on, who is the good guy and who is the bad guy here?

Despite all the darkness in this tale, there is hope and love, personal journeys and friendship.

Jack Kinsley left me with thoughts of some great quotes he included in this book. I want to share a few with you, so that within the tales of thrilling destruction, we can see some hope.

“Friendship is like wine, the older the better”.

“Even the tallest tower started from the ground”

This is a book that I absolutely recommend. I’m already looking forward to Jack’s next book, which I hear he is writing in Thailand while researching Thai culture. I also lived in Thailand for a while, so will be first in the queue for his next book.

Thank you for reading this review, if you have read CLUB MEDicine or are planning to, please let me know in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you. 


Kindle Edition, 309 pages

Published February 13th 2015 by RANE Books

Amazon U.K link

 Amazon USA link

 

 

 

Mami 2 Five
 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Book Review: CLUB MEDicine, by Jack Kinsley.

  1. Julia @ Rainbeaubelle

    June 22, 2015 at 8:29 am

    Looks like a great book, love a good page turner! Thanks for joining in with #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 22, 2015 at 4:07 pm

      Thank you, it was fantastic. I’m looking forward to his next book already.

       

Leave a Reply

 
