RSS

Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read!

07 Jul
Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read!

Thank you to Broke and Bookish for hosting this Top Ten Tuesday post. I don’t post with this every Tuesday, but today I’m joining in.

The topic today is Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read.

1428332142706

So, I will start off with the MOST HYPED book I know, and I’m sure many of you will be aghast to know that I haven’t read….

1. HARRY POTTER! No, not any of them, haven’t seen the films either!

Maybe I will one day, but….. I just haven’t read them yet!

harry potter

2. Red Queen. – This has had lots of reviews and been spoken about loads on Twitter over the past while. The cover looks great, and I probably will read it at some point. But… I just haven’t read it yet!

red queen

3. The Hunger Games. – I have seen the first 2 films and loved them, still awaiting seeing the latest film. But haven’t gotten around to the books. I have heard that the books are better than the films, and I do believe this. But … I just haven’t read them yet.

hunger games

4. The Fault in Our Stars. – No not this one either! This one doesn’t really tickle my fancy, I think it will be a sad read and I want my reading escapism to be happy or exciting or romantic or thrilling, definitely not sad. I won’t be reading this one at all.

faultin stars

5. The Book Thief – This one I am surprised at myself for, because the reviews have been raving. Also, I love the title and I love the film. I am so sure that I will love this book, but…I just haven’t read it yet!

book thief

6. The Girl On The Train. – I think I didn’t read this at the time because there was so much hype about it. I read loads of reviews, mostly glowing. So, this is still on my tbr list. But…. I just haven’t read it yet!

girl on train

7. The Perks of Being A Wallflower. – I was a late finder with this one. I missed the hype when it was big. I think because it must be such a great book, the hype has stuck with this one. So, I will read this at some point. But….I just haven’t read it yet!

perks of being a wallfower

8. Gone Girl. – I like the sound of this book. The reviews I have read have been mixed, but I still think I will give it a chance. I was actually speaking to my local librarian about this book, as it was at the front of the library as one of their recommended books. But she herself just wasn’t getting into it. Mixed reactions, I guess. Opinions appreciated on this one? I think I will keep it on my tbr list. But…I just haven’t read it yet!

gone girl2

9. Any Books by Rainbow Rowell! I know this is terrible!! I know from reviews and much book chat that she is an amazing Author. As a bookblogger, I should be ashamed of myself. I am!! However, I recently won a competition to chose any book ( that had been reviewed on the site) that I wanted to be sent to me from Book Depository. I chose Landline and it has arrived and is sitting looking pretty on my shelf. I need to read this, but….I just haven’t read it yet! 

rainbow

10. Fifty Shades of Grey. – I have a feeling that this might be on quite a few bloggers and readers list!??? Am I right? Very hyped up, but actually I haven’t read that many good reviews for it. I hasn’t been on my tbr list before, and I think it will be staying of it. I think it would be an ok read, but there are too many great reads to read first. I may read it at some point in my life…maybe?? But….I just haven’t read it yet!

50 shades

So, there are my 10 hyped books that I just haven’t read yet! Some I will read, some I won’t. Have you read any of these? Do you recommend that I read any particular? And what books haven’t you read that are hyped up. I’d love to hear from you.

hyped-books-to-be-loved-or-to-be-hated-that-is-the-question--252f6

 
32 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

32 responses to “Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read!

  1. Claire | Art and Soul

    July 7, 2015 at 5:25 pm

    I think if you want to read a one-off, out of this list I’d recommend Gone Girl. If you want to commit to a series, then Harry Potter is it!
    The Hunger Games is good, but I think the 3rd book lets the series down slightly.
    I wasn’t as crazy about The Book Thief as others. It’s good, but not as life-changing as some people have made out. 🙂
    I haven’t read any of the 50 Shades series either and probably will never get round to it!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 7, 2015 at 5:33 pm

      Thank you for your recommendations, I have to many books that I really want to read to commit to Harry just yet. I think Gone Girl and Landline will be the ones I read first from the list. Thank you for your comments.

       
  2. Analee @ Book Snacks

    July 7, 2015 at 5:26 pm

    Hopefully you’ll read Harry Potter one day! 🙂 No pressure though.
    Red Queen and The Book Thief are both on my list as well, they’ve gotten so much hype! I’m hoping to read them sometime this summer at least. ❤ Fingers crossed.
    Great list, happy reading!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 7, 2015 at 5:35 pm

      Thank you, happy reading to you too. There are so many great books out there. I’m really keen to read The Book Thief. I hope you really enjoy it when you read it.

       
      • Analee @ Book Snacks

        July 7, 2015 at 5:52 pm

        Yep, there sure is! The list of great books is endless.
        Likewise! 🙂

         
  3. NickyB.

    July 7, 2015 at 10:48 pm

    I haven’t read Fifty Shades or Harry Potter either!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:10 pm

      I think they were my most obvious ones. There are just so many good books, hyped or not hyped. So many to choose from!

       
  4. stephaniesbookreviews

    July 7, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    Harry Potter made my list too. I kind of want to read it, but we’ll see. You still haven’t read any Rainbow Rowell? You don’t know what you’re missing! haha

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:09 pm

      I know, terrible isn’t it. But I have Landline here, so its very high up on my tbr list. Then I expect all her other books will be added to it. Thanks.

       
  5. Grab the Lapels

    July 8, 2015 at 2:54 am

    I feel like enough people have read these books and it’s important to read books by some of the small press authors.

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:07 pm

      That is a great way to look at it. So, all the books that I have read by the less well known Authors, I can just hype up on here!

       
      • Grab the Lapels

        July 9, 2015 at 3:18 pm

        Exactly! I honestly skip reviews of books that it seems like everyone has read.

         
  6. bookboodle

    July 8, 2015 at 8:29 am

    I’ve read The Fault in Our Stars, The Book Thief, The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I also have The Hunger Games on my TBR and they’ve been there for years 😦
    I’d recommend you read Gone Girl; it’s a Marmite book though 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:06 pm

      That sounds like a good way to describe Gone Girl, I’d like to read to see what side I’m on. Thank you.

       
  7. Lisa @ Reading, Writing, and Random Musings

    July 8, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    You have quite a few of my favorites on this list :). I actually just started reading the Harry Potter series a couple of months ago, and I now understand all of the hype! The Perks of Being A Wall Flower is one of the books I want to get to sometime soon!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:05 pm

      I’m not the only one that hasn’t read them yet?…maybe just the only one that hasn’t attempted them! 😉 Glad they are living up to your expectations, even more reason for me to read them. Thank you.

       
  8. Single Mother Ahoy

    July 8, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    The Potter books are genuinely brilliant. Never touch EL James; it’s awful. The others, I can’t comment on!
    Thanks for linking up with the Weekend Blog Hop!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:03 pm

      Thanks again for hosting WeekendBlogHop, I do love it. I will read Harry soon, ……soon! Thanks.

       
  9. kathrynplayer12

    July 8, 2015 at 9:47 pm

    ‘Gone Girl’ is an amazing book! And Harry Potter is such a treat! 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 9, 2015 at 2:02 pm

      Thank you, I really think I need to read Harry soon! Thanks for stopping by. 😉

       
      • kathrynplayer12

        July 9, 2015 at 9:59 pm

        My pleasure! When you do start the series, you’ll be enthralled! 🙂

         
  10. mostlymindfulmommy

    July 11, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    So I’ve listened to Hunger Games, and definitely check it out, all 3 of them! Listening to Gone Girl now, it’s okay. Not bad, not sure if my meh reaction is because I already saw the movie and it wasn’t very good. The Fault in Our Stars I did see the movie and it was fantastic, I should read that someday. And the movie of Perks of Being a Wallflower was also great, and wouldn’t be a sad read. I have no intention of ever bothering with 50 shades though. Visiting you from #WeekendBlogHop!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 11, 2015 at 2:29 pm

      Thanks for the visit, I love #WeekendBlogHop.
      Interesting reaction to Gone Girl, its all very mixed. I didn’t know there was a film of Perks of Being A Wallflower, maybe I will have a watch of that.
      Thanks for visiting, nice to have you. 😉

       
      • mostlymindfulmommy

        July 11, 2015 at 3:54 pm

        It’s so good, it has Emma Watson from the Harry Potter series in it and I just LOVE her!

         
  11. mumjd

    July 16, 2015 at 9:39 pm

    I’ve read all the Harry Potter books, but the only other book on your list that I’ve heard of is Fifty Shades of Grey. So must have my head buried in the sand, if these are all hyped

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 17, 2015 at 12:17 am

      I don’t know if they are hyped in general life or just among bookbloggers. So many bookbloggers have read and reviewed these books. There are so many books though, I hadn’t heard of quite a few on other bloggers lists either.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

       
  12. cassiepiat

    July 23, 2015 at 11:03 am

    Hi! It’s amazing because I’m a huge reader but I’ve only read one out of your list of 10 hyped up books 🙂 50 Shades! Its was Ok, but the 3 books could have been made into 1 and as I’m not too much of a sex scene fan, I have to admit that I skipped a lot of bits!!! Fault in our Stars I have downloaded it onto my Kindle but still haven’t had the heart to read it – i’m like you on that one; for me reading is about escaping and I like to have a warm, feel good feeling when I finish a book, not feel sad. It was a great post as now I know what books I need to read out of the hyped up ones – The wallflower one looks like a book I would like. Cheers 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 23, 2015 at 1:58 pm

      Its funny isn’t it, I always have a book or two on the go, but there are hundreds of books that people talk about by blog or Twitter and I have so many more that I want to read. I agree with you, Wallflower looks good. Thanks for stopping by, Amanda.

       
      • cassiepiat

        July 23, 2015 at 4:14 pm

        I don’t know what type of books you enjoy, but I have just re-read How to fall in Love by Cecilia Ahern. I just loved it! I love her books in general but this one is definitely one of my favourites 🙂

         
      • chocolatepages

        July 23, 2015 at 7:22 pm

        I have read one of her books, but not that one. I’ll have a look out for it. I like rom coms and mystery best. Thanks.

         
  13. kim neville (@kimneville2)

    July 25, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    A great selection some I have not read yet

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 25, 2015 at 8:27 pm

      Thank you, there are so many good books and not enough time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
