RSS

Book Review: Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me, by Caroline James.

11 Jul
Book Review: Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me, by Caroline James.

Thank you very much to Author Caroline James for sending me a copy of this fantastic book. This is the second book I have read by this talented Author. The first book ‘So, You Think You’re A Celebrity….Chef’ I gave 5 stars and loved it. You can see my review of that book here: Celebrity….Chef.

I wasn’t disappointed by this book either, it is just as well written with great characters and descriptions. See my thoughts below.


Description:

When Jo Edmond’s husband runs off with their nanny, Jo resolves to make a new life with her baby son. She purchases Kirkton House a run down guest house and, with the help of a colourful cast of locals, establishes a thriving country house hotel. She opens during Fair Week, a 300 year old gypsy tradition hated by the locals and loved by every tinker and traveller in the country.

Romance is the last thing on her mind, until the enigmatic John Doherty walks into her life...

 

coffee tea

My Thoughts:

After reading Caroline’s other book ‘So, You Think You’re A Celebrity….Chef’, I had high hopes for this book, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. I loved the characters, I loved her descriptive words and I loved the story. 

The story starts off with Jo and her young son trying to make a go of a hotel business. There are financial struggles, love, loss and food! Lots of lovely food descriptions!! If you read my blog regularly you will know I love books that speak of food.

“enjoyed coffee and chocolate tiffin, a special recipe of Jo’s”.

The main character Jo was written as a woman who gets stronger throughout the book. Her best friend and assistant in the hotel Hattie is a great character, I think I liked her best. She was witty, blunt and ever so supportive of Jo. She did make me chuckle with her comments:

“Don’t look at his cauliflower ears, you’ll get used to them, all rugby players have them”

The two of them go to see a gypsy lady for a fortune telling, this part of the story gave me an unsettled feeling and you find out why later in the book.

The Gypsy that is spoken of in the book title John Docherty is superbly written. I don’t know much about gypsy life, but I feel that the writer must have done her research on this topic, because she seemed to describe everything in a way that gives a perfect picture of the gypsy fair that takes place and some of the traditions that they have.

This book is not predictable, a few unexpected things happen along the way and I was so taken by the characters Jo and Hattie that I wanted to know what would happen. There are plenty of supporting characters who each have minor tales in this book and they were very interesting too.

A strange memory has left me with this book, (apart from the characters and delicious food descriptions) and its down to the very talented descriptive work of this Author. I now really enjoy putting on lipstick!! This was something that Jo did when she was encountering a stressful situation and Caroline describes it so beautifully, that I think of this quote when I put mine on!

“…smoothed the warm melting wax over her lips.” 

I loved this book, and will certainly be waiting with anticipation for Caroline James’ next book, which I hope is in the pipeline??? Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me was filled with captivating characters and brilliantly descriptive writing. I loved it.

Have you read this book or are you going to? Let me know your thoughts, I’d love to hear from you.


You can find Caroline in these links below:

Twitter: @CarolineJames12

CarolineJamesAuthor.co.uk

And the Book:

Amazon UK.

Amazon USA 

Stopping at two
 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Book Review: Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me, by Caroline James.

  1. carolinejamesauthor

    July 12, 2015 at 11:13 am

    Amanda – HUGE thanks for your lovely review, am so thrilled that you enjoyed Coffee, Tea, the Gypsy & Me 🙂 The follow-up to this book will be available soon – Coffee, Tea the Caribbean & Me – more escapades with Jo and Hattie. Many thanks and happy reading xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 12, 2015 at 1:00 pm

      Oh, I’m very happy to hear that, I’m excited already to read it, and find out more of Jo and Hattie’s escapades. Thank you. xx

       
  2. mummyofboygirltwins

    July 12, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    Great review and thanks for sharing 🙂 #SundayStars

    Jess x

     
  3. SingleMotherAhoy

    July 12, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    This looks like a great book, I might just add it to my pile! Thanks for linking up with the weekend blog hop!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 12, 2015 at 9:43 pm

      Thank you, the book is really good. I definitely recommend it. Thanks for the visit.

       
  4. Coombe Mill

    July 12, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    Sounds like a good recommendation I will look out for it #SundayStars

     
  5. mumjd

    July 16, 2015 at 9:35 pm

    Sounds like my sort of book

     

Leave a Reply

 
