RSS

Book Review: How to Bake the Perfect Apple Pie, by Gina Henning.

16 Jul
Book Review: How to Bake the Perfect Apple Pie, by Gina Henning.

Thank you very much to Author Gina Henning for my copy of this book. When I saw the cover of this book, I knew I wanted to read it straight away, so thank you.

apple pie

Description:

A scrumptious pie. A long distance guy. 4th of July fireworks guaranteed.
Lauren Hauser has it all…nearly. With a shiny new job and sparkly new engagement ring on her finger, the only thing she’s missing is her gorgeous new fiancé by her side. Should she be worried? Jack’s kisses are as sizzling as always and, sure, long distance is hard but, she and Jack are solid, right?
Of course the stress of planning a wedding—or not—is nothing compared to the stress of baking an apple pie. Because it’s not just any apple pie that Lauren must bake for the 4th of July contest; it’s her grandmother’s famous, award-winning apple pie! Yet Lauren is determined to make this pie her own and a little apple pie should be no problem for the Hauser clan dessert queen…!
But with her new job taking up so much time, a prize pie to perfect and the growing distance between her and Jack, Lauren begins to wonder if she can really have it all… Only one things for sure, there’ll be fireworks this 4th of July!

ap pie

My Thoughts:

I was very excited when the Author approached me with a review request for this book. I had seen the cover around and thought it was just the kind of book I would enjoy.

Baking + food + romance = perfect book for Amanda!  ♥

I really liked the main character Lauren, I felt totally that I could relate to her. She was stressing because she and Jack hadn’t set a Wedding date and everybody was asking her, when? when? when? As a woman, I know how annoying that can be, and I found that the way the Author had written Lauren, she reacted like a slightly unsure of herself lady. ( I know the feeling) Putting what other people say to tell her how she should be feeling. I think for the Author to write a character that makes me feel things about myself through the way the character is written was great. I was put right into the moment of Lauren arguing with her Fiancé, and attempting to rationalise it with her best friend. Her best friend is great by the way, love her!

My favourite part of the book was about the Apple Pie! I love books that talk about food, baking and books that lusciously describe the food, it just encourages the baker inside me. If anything, I would have liked more apple pie talk. I am a total foodie here! 

“I’m adding more nutmeg to mine. I think it will be the right kick to invoke the judge’s senses”

snow white applie pie

There are some funny, but oh so cute parts too. You can tell how crazy in love Lauren is with Jack, then she goes and says something which gives me a huge grin on my face:

“I’m woozy on this love and my mind is swirling around in this moment. Maybe I need something to eat” – She totally reminds me of me!! I love this character!!

eat cake

Its Lauren’s Grandmother who wants her to bake the cake. We don’t see a huge amount of her in this book, but you can tell she is a strong woman and a Grandmother that we would all love. She pushes Lauren to meet be the best that she can be:

“..You’ll find that when you step out of your comfort zone you find the sweetest rewards in life” – Apart from being a sweet easy read, there are some quotes that made me think!

Although this book can be read as a standalone book, I did feel that I would have enjoyed it more so if I had read the first book. I had a feeling that I would have known the characters better and some of the things that they spoke of that happened last Christmas when Lauren and Jack first got together. On the positive side, I know have two more books to add to my to be read list, the previous and the next! Yippee.

To conclude, the book was easy reading, fun and tasty! I certainly want to read the next instalment of Lauren and Jack. 

If you have read this book, or the previous one please let me know. What did you think of Lauren and Jack? Did you bake an apple pie afterwards? What apples did you use? ♥

Til next time, HAPPY READING!

LINKS FOR: 

AMAZON UK

GOODREADS

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 16, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
