RSS

Book Review: Tremor by Ryan Mark AND Giveaway!

26 Jul
Book Review: Tremor by Ryan Mark AND Giveaway!

Thank you very much to Author Ryan Mark for my signed copy of his new book. I don’t read many books of this genre (dystopian fiction). It is also Young Adult, which I haven’t read that many of, in my adult life either. But after conversing with Ryan over email and Twitter and reading the book description, I was intrigued and excited by the book description.

Ryan Mark has also been kind enough to offer my readers a signed copy of his book, which after reading my review of it, I’m sure you will ALL want to enter!! 😉

home badge

Description:

The life William knew has gone. His world has been left devastated by the Fossil War. All major governments have been wiped out and the land is now under the control of the company Terrafall. Although Terrafall’s intentions seem honest, William wonders if the company will live up to its promises and stop the tremors, which have been plaguing the Earth since the end of the war. And can Terrafall really find out who is behind the recent wave of abductions?

When someone close to William disappears, he decides it’s time to take matters into his own hands. But in a land that is on the verge of tearing itself apart, is it a life worth fighting for? If your world was falling apart, how far would you go to save it?

 

tremor

My Thoughts:

This book is about William who has found his world shattered and taken over by a group called Terrafall. Its a world where it no longer feels like Earth, barely any food, barely any green land, and the feeling of not being able to trust anyone or feel safe, even in his own house!

William and his friend Althea (what a great name) decide to do something about this after both losing people they love, the story follows from here…The book is aimed at young adult, dystopian genre. Although aimed at young adult, I’m not (that) young and still loved it.

Ryan Mark is a very talented and imaginative Author, he has come up with a story that is an exciting page turner. It gripped me as a reader from the first chapter, wanting to know who are the bad guys, what will they do next and how will William ever feel safe again.

The characters are great, I was taken by William and Althea straight away. William has a journal of his fathers, and while reading it at school, someone says this to him:

“Poor William and his unnatural love of books”

Ooh, now that is a sure way to make us booklovers really not like the bad guys in this story!! 

The Author managed to keep a good balance between being young heros and still being children in his writing. He writes the innocence of a child, when talking about about death as in ‘gone to paradise‘ Ori asks ‘can we go there too?‘ I think its important in young adult books to keep in mind that the characters are children despite being in adventurous situations, and Ryan Mark did this very well.

The Authors description work really puts a picture in your head, I love the way he writes, so heartfelt and engaged.

“Giving up is like sitting in a puddle while its raining. Pointless and painful”

As we get further on in the book, we see Terrafall get darker and scarier. I won’t tell you what they did and their cultish ideas, but I feel the way the Author dealt with these storylines was very clever. I thought that the way the main characters William and Althea spoke of these things was intelligent and moral. It reminded me of how easily people can be influenced by people who seem powerful. I really commend the Author for this part of the book. 

“..it didn’t take long for the people who manage Terrafall to go along with Erisia, so what’s to stop others believing?”

The book is full of good morals and although these morals and doing the right thing is not a blatant part of the storyline, its just the bits that stuck out for me, as in the underlying thoughts when I was enjoying the story.

“Fight for what’s right. That’s what everyone should do.”

There are some great quotes that really stuck out for me, and while I was reading the book, I stopped and thought about the things the characters were saying, for the story, but also for me too. I think Ryan Mark is very talented and his ability to write great stories, great characters and make me think about myself too. I really am looking forward to reading more of his work. 

“Stuff you can’t see hurts the most, like love”

If you would like to enter the giveaway, please click the link below:

UK entrants only. Sorry international readers.

a Rafflecopter giveaway                Just click the link!

HAPPY READING AND GOOD LUCK IN MY GIVEAWAY.

home badge

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Book Review: Tremor by Ryan Mark AND Giveaway!

  1. Claire | Art and Soul

    July 26, 2015 at 11:52 am

    As a fan of dystopian fiction, this sounds great! Fingers crossed I win a copy 🙂

     
  2. Michelle Banks

    July 27, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    this does look a good read x

     
  3. ajbookreviewclub

    July 27, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    Sounds good

     
  4. Darrell

    July 27, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    This sounds like just the sort of book that I would enjoy reading (and it’s signed too!)

     
  5. Ruth Harwood

    July 28, 2015 at 9:05 am

    I read a variety of books and this sounds right up my street atm x

     
  6. Chris Andrews

    July 28, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    Why do you want to win this book? . . . . . . . .quite simply because l LOVE to read and this book sounds intriguing

     
  7. Lily Lau

    July 28, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    Lovely pick, I wish it was mine… 😀

     
  8. clairew137

    July 31, 2015 at 7:41 am

    It sounds a good read.

     
  9. Victoria Prince

    July 31, 2015 at 12:38 pm

    I’d like to win this because I’m always looking for new books to try, and this sounds a good read!

     
  10. emma kinsey

    August 1, 2015 at 7:33 am

    looks goods and i love reading

     
  11. Karen Richards

    August 1, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    Sounds like a good read, YA books are usually good and I’m always looking for new .reading material.

     

Leave a Reply

 
