RSS

Book Review: Japan Guide…less: Emails from Japan, by Nicole D’Arcangelo

08 Aug
Book Review: Japan Guide…less: Emails from Japan, by Nicole D’Arcangelo

Thank you very much to Author Nicole D’Arcangelo for my lovely signed copy of this book. I knew I was going to love this book, as soon as I saw the message that Nicole had written to me on the book.

DSCF2737 (2)

……and I did laugh, a lot!

Book Description:

Back in 2004, I embarked on a journey to Japan to teach English as a Second Language; a job I had never done before. I was totally qualified though because I spoke English. I had wanted to travel more, but not being able to afford it, I had the brilliant idea to move abroad. Kill two birds with one stone – travel and get paid to do it. I knew little about the food, less about the culture, none of the language, and was hired for a job I had never done before. Eh, details.
Follow me as I fumble through the country, living and working, and discovering about the food, culture, and language I once knew nearly nothing about. I’ll give you all the juicy stuff traditional guide books leave out, like what pastries to steer clear of and how to keep your cool while trying to flush a Japanese toilet. However, if you just enjoy a good laugh at someone else’s expense, that’s fine too.
 

japan gr

My Thoughts:

When Nicole first asked me if I would like to read and review her book, I was excited and intrigued. I have previously spent 2 years teaching English in Thailand so I was interested to see how Nicole found life teaching in Asia and was sure she would have some very funny tales to tell.

The Author wrote the books as a series of email messages and a few journal entries, I particularly liked this layout as it was easy to read and I could totally identify with it. I sent many a similar mail during my time abroad! 

There are some really funny entries in this book, probably the one I found the strangest was the way Japanese children show their affection for adults! Their little fingers go a place that we might find a bit disturbing…… mmm yes. Read the book to find out more!! Very odd.

The Author mentions that she doesn’t like seafood, now even the readers who don’t know much about Japan will know Japan is big on seafood, sushi etc. Nicole gives great descriptions of all the foods that she has tried, some sound great, some sound awful! Bean Bun! No thank you!  

We hear about the places Nicole visits around Japan, her difficulties being larger than the Japanese ladies and many many more intriguing and amusing experiences.

A great quote from the book can sum up Nicole experiences:

“They were curious about me, and I found them curious”

The book has made me want to visit Japan even more than I did before, though if I do go I will be thanking Nicole for the prior warning of where little fingers might go!!

As you can see, my book is well read. This is the type of book that I will flick back to, even just to read a few pages for the humour

DSCF2736 (2)

Links for: Japan Guide…less: Emails from Japan

by Nicole D’Arcangelo, Loretta Crawford-Collins (Editor), Kristina Meacham(Illustrator)

If you have read this book, or are planning to read it, let me know. What did you find the funniest part? Does it make you want to go to Japan?

Until next time, HAPPY READING!

Mami 2 Five
 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Book Review: Japan Guide…less: Emails from Japan, by Nicole D’Arcangelo

  1. bookstogetlostin

    August 8, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    Confession: I love books about clueless people going to another country. I have read one about Finland and three or four about Japan. That will change because this sounds really interesting.

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 8, 2015 at 2:28 pm

      Thank you, I haven’t read a book like this before, but I would read more about like you say clueless people in foreign countries. Its very funny, and makes me want to travel.

       
  2. Nicole D'Arcangelo

    August 8, 2015 at 8:29 pm

    Thanks for the Amazing review! Glad you liked it.

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 8, 2015 at 8:58 pm

      You’re welcome. Sorry it took me so long to write it. It was worth the wait though, great book of funny and curious adventures.

       
  3. aentee @ read at midnight

    August 9, 2015 at 6:27 am

    I am pretty much obsessed with Japan at the moment, I went there for a holiday last year and loved it so much I booked another trip in November this year. This book sounds fantastic, I always love reading foreigner’s views of Japan and how they assimilate to the country 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 9, 2015 at 10:31 am

      This book would be interesting for you then to see how you compare it to what you thought of Japan. Have a wonderful time in November, I’d love to hear back from you if you read the book.
      Amanda.

       
  4. Grab the Lapels

    August 10, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    I had a friend who taught English in China for many, many years. He even ended up marrying a Chinese woman. The kids at his school also did the thumb thing, and my friend’s wife had to come to the school to tell them to knock it off because Americans don’t appreciate the…um, gesture? lol

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 11, 2015 at 10:37 am

      It’s really strange isn’t it. It’s good your friend’s wife could tell the kids. Still makes me want to go there though. 😉

       
  5. min1980

    September 5, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    I could have written this book! I also taught in Japan for two years and have a wide selection of amusing emails home to show for it!

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 6, 2015 at 10:17 am

      Do the stories in my review bring back nice memories for you? I guess you can relate to it really well. Sounds like a great place to work.

       

Leave a Reply

 
