RSS

Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith

19 Sep
Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith

Thanks to Rachel at ConfessionsofaBookGeek for my copy of this book. I won it as a celebratory giveaway for her blogerversary. I have taken quite a bit of time to getting around to reading it, but finally I did. Here are my thoughts.

Description:

Four minutes changes everything. Hadley Sullivan 17 misses her flight at JFK airport, is late to her father’s second wedding in London with never-met stepmother. Hadley meets the perfect boy. Oliver is British, sits in her row. A long night on the plane passes in a blink, but the two lose track in arrival chaos. Can fate bring them together again?

stat prob

My Thoughts:

I was lucky to receive a lovely hardback copy of this book, which made it very pleasant to read. The story is a young adult love story. It is written over 24 hours mainly about the two characters Hadley and Oliver. The story is about how Hadley is going to London to her father’s wedding and is dreading it. She misses her flight by 4 minutes and meets Oliver. Their story continues from there.

I found the story a little bit bland actually, it was a little too slow for me. I guess the fact it was written over a time scale of 24 hours meant that you could imagine in real time as things were happening, but it was just too slow paced for me with not enough excitement.

I think one of my main problems with the book is that I couldn’t identify with the characters. Hadley’s Dad divorced her Mum and moved to another country to be with another woman! To me, that is pretty awful. If I were Hadley, I wouldn’t want to go to the Wedding either. I think what her Dad did was fundamentally wrong, his daughter should always come first. If it were my Dad, I couldn’t forgive him. But hey maybe that’s just me!? It made uncomfortable reading for me. I think it was saved only by Oliver being rather sweet and cutesy to Hadley. I liked the way he spoke to her, took her mind of her problems and was so incredibly sweet to her. We even learn a few factual things, as Oliver tells Hadley that “cumulus clouds” are the best kind of clouds. If you read it, look out for his reasoning, its very sweet.  

The Author is great with her descriptive words as the novel painted great pictures in my imagination,  See the way she describes Hadley’s thoughts:

“It’s like licking a camp fire”

Says Hadley about her first taste of whisky, I could just imagine this taste in my mouth for the goodness and the badness. The burn of the whisky and the comfort of the camp fire.

There was also another lovely quote about love:

Hadley’s very understanding Mom says:

“Love is the strangest, most illogical thing in the world”, The Author speaks the truth through Hadley’s Mom here for sure!

My concluding thoughts are that this was a well written book, with great descriptions and some lovely quotes. For me however, it was just a bit to slow paced.

Have you read this book, or any other books by this Author? What did you think? 

Do you believe in LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT??????

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Book Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith

  1. bbooksmartblog

    September 20, 2015 at 12:56 am

    I read This is What Happy Looks Like by this author and I really enjoyed it!

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 20, 2015 at 1:37 pm

      I haven’t heard of that book. I have heard she has another release out this season though, maybe worth a look.

       
  2. tanazmasaba

    September 24, 2015 at 11:04 am

    The only 24 hour story I have read is Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist and I loved it! I’ll be sure to see how I like this one–but I kind of don’t like the fact that it’s a slow read.

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 24, 2015 at 5:43 pm

      I have read other reviews on this book where people thought it was fantastic. Maybe worth reading some more positive reviews to see if it might be your kind of read. I hope you do enjoy it. Thanks for all your comments, its nice to have you visit my blog.

       
      • tanazmasaba

        September 24, 2015 at 5:47 pm

        Np! You have a lovely blog😄

         
      • chocolatepages

        September 24, 2015 at 7:22 pm

        Thank you, that means a lot. 🙂

         
  3. liveotherwise

    September 26, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    I love Jen E Smith books. This isn’t my favourite, but I’ll still take it over a lot of other authors.

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 26, 2015 at 1:13 pm

      It hasn’t put me off the Author and its been nice to hear lots of compliments about her, so I think I should try another of her books. Thank you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
