RSS

Book Review: The Bookshop on the Corner by Rebecca Raisin.

10 Oct
Book Review: The Bookshop on the Corner by Rebecca Raisin.

I was taken by this book just by the title! I love bookshops, and this one sounded so quaint, I just knew it was going to be good.

bookshop

Description:

Who said that only real heroes could be found in fiction?

Sarah Smith had an addiction – she was addicted to romance novels. The meet-cute, the passion, the drama and the gorgeous men! Now this wouldn’t have been such an issue if she hadn’t been the owner of the only bookshop in Ashford, Connecticut.

Ever since her close friend Lil, from The Gingerbread Café, had become engaged she had been yearning for a little love to turn up in her life. Except Sarah knew a good man was hard to find – especially in a tiny town like Ashford. That was until New York journalist, Ridge Warner stepped into her bookshop…

Love could be just around the corner for Sarah, but will she be able to truly believe that happy-ever-after can happen in real-life too!

bookshop on corner

My Thoughts:

This book was just comfort reading at it best, curled up on my sofa with a cup of tea and a supply of chocolate I just devoured it.

The main character Sarah is just a darling, I want her to be my best friend. She works in a bookshop, loves her books, her friends and her village. The book is based in the village of Ashford, which is where Rebecca Raisin’s other books of ‘The GingerBread Cafe’ are based. I haven’t actually read any of these yet, but they are on my tbr list. The books all speak of the same characters as far as I know, so I am positive that they will all be fab books too. 

Anyway, back to this book, it is short story based around Sarah and her friends. Sarah is contented with her life and her bookshop, believing that she has her romance in her books, but then comes along Ridge. Wow, now he is my new book boyfriend!! ♥ ♥

The descriptive work of Rebecca Raisin really puts you in the life and heart of Ashford and Sarah. The way Sarah speaks of books, it was so captivating. This is a book that I think all booklovers will relate to.

“….my theory was that books chose us, and not the other way around.”

“Some stories consumed you, they made time stop, your worries float into the ether…”

Sarah even starts a book blog! Now you see why I want her to be my best friend, I’d even move to Ashford!!! ♥ Sarah’s blog gets a lot more followers faster than mine, she gets over 3000 followers within a month!!! Wow, she must be good. I would like to read her blog too. The way she speaks of her blog, you can tell the Author is a fan of bookblogs too.

“…a community of bookbloggers who were supportive and funny, and felt like real friends”

There are so many quotes I would like to tell you from this little tale, it is wonderful, captivating, takes you to another world of book loving heaven. Read it, love it and then come back and tell me you agree its fantastic and Rebecca Raisin is an Author who can transport us to a land of enchantment and bliss….with the addition of a new book boyfriend!! ♥

book-boyfriend-3

Mami 2 Five
My Random Musings
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
26 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Book Review: The Bookshop on the Corner by Rebecca Raisin.

  1. bookstogetlostin

    October 10, 2015 at 11:28 am

    I have bought this book some time ago for free, but sadly I haven’t been able to read it yet (sooo many unread books on my Kindle…). But I think I really should, really really soon. It sounds great.

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 10, 2015 at 11:33 am

      I also got it as a free kindle download and it is amazing. You really should read it. I think you could devour it in one sitting!

       
  2. amanda

    October 10, 2015 at 12:11 pm

    I love this book too all her books are fab a lovely review x

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 10, 2015 at 12:42 pm

      Thank you, I have added a lot of her books to my tbr list.

       
  3. Raising Mighty Girls

    October 12, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    I love reading all genres of books but I have to say that when the time is right – an easy no brainer read can be perfect. #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 16, 2015 at 1:36 pm

      I totally agree, a good mix up is always good, from crime thrillers / can you guess to easy reading fun books.

       
  4. Mummy here and there

    October 13, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    Great review and something I shall have to add to mu long book list. Thank you for sharing X

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 16, 2015 at 1:37 pm

      These tbr lists just keep growing don’t they! x

       
  5. mrshsfavouritethings

    October 18, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    Oh, this sounds like my perfect book. I am a sucker for romantic novels. There is nothing better on a cold winter day but to curl up under a blanket and read a good and soul warming book. I will have to add this to my to be read list. Thanks for sharing with #SundaysStars. I am sorry it has taken me so long to comment. Hugs Mrs H xxxx

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 18, 2015 at 9:43 pm

      You described this perfectly. There is another book by the same Author called ‘Christmas at the Gingerbread Cafe’ which I just got free from Amazon. I’m looking forward to getting cosy and Christmassy for that one. xx

       
  6. florence

    October 21, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    The Bookshop on the Corner is a perfect autumn reading book when snuggling up for the evening in front of the fire, I love your book reviews and it is great to know what book to choose next- great work !

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 22, 2015 at 5:28 pm

      Thank you, I appreciate your nice comments Florence. I hope you find some great books to read from my recommendations. Let me know if you read any of them.
      Amanda. .

       
  7. occupation:(m)other

    November 8, 2015 at 10:04 am

    Haha, I’d never hear the phrase book-boyfriend before! Sounds like a definite wet weather comfort read. Nice cover – yes I’m shallow! #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 8, 2015 at 6:33 pm

      The covers are always the first to strike me too. 😉

       
  8. chloelifeunexpected

    November 8, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    This sounds like the perfect Autumn read. Snuggled up on the sofa with a hot chocolate, a blanket and a sweet romance. I adore books too and anything book shop related and slightly soppy is right up my street. xx #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 8, 2015 at 6:34 pm

      You would just love this then. And yes, hot choc, blanket and the sofa would be just perfect. Thank you.

       
  9. Mrs Tubbs

    November 8, 2015 at 8:12 pm

    Not come across this author, but will have a look to see if it’s my kind of thing. Thank you for the recommendation as it’s alway good to find new authors

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 8, 2015 at 8:18 pm

      Rebecca Raisin is a brilliant Author, I am working my way through the rest of her books. I hope you like her books too.

       
  10. Suburban Mum

    November 10, 2015 at 10:50 am

    This sounds like a good read – I do love a reading a romance story! I love that you found lots of similarities with Sarah! 😉

    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday!

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 10, 2015 at 4:35 pm

      I will be back next week, I also found lots of nice posts to read.
      Thank you.

       
  11. mommyslittleprincesses

    November 11, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    Such a captivating review I really can’t wait to go out and buy this book. xx #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 11, 2015 at 4:17 pm

      Wow, now that’s a great comment to receive. Thank you very much, I’m glad you liked the review and I really hope you love the book.

       
  12. mummascribbles

    November 16, 2015 at 8:28 am

    I love books like this. Something that is easy to read and likeable on my commute when I am.invapabke of reading anything else! Thanks for sharing your review. I’ve popped over from #sundaystars (a tad delayed!)

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 16, 2015 at 8:53 pm

      Thank you. This is definitely a lovely easy read. Thanks for popping by.

       
  13. mrshsfavouritethings

    November 18, 2015 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks again for linking up to #SundaysStars. I am sorry that it has taken me so long to comment. Hugs Mrs H xxxx

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 18, 2015 at 9:35 pm

      Thank you for dropping by. I’m pleased to have you anytime on chocolate pages.
      xxx

       

Leave a Reply

 
