RSS

Book Review: The Little Things by Jane Costello (mini review)

21 Nov
Book Review: The Little Things by Jane Costello (mini review)

I love to read a short story or a novella every once in a while. I like to have a beginning, a middle and an end that I can finish in a day or two. I can’t have that with a full length book. So when I found The Little Things, (at the time it was free on Amazon) I was rather happy to download it straight away. I have just written a mini review on this book, as its a novella and sometimes a mini review is just enough.  😉

havent found the right book

Description:

At twenty-eight, Hannah MacFarlane’s career is on course to smash the glass ceiling and beat it into submission.

Then a shock company reshuffle leaves her sacked and bewildered, while her fiancé is promoted into a job nearly 5,000 miles away in Dubai.

Five months later, she is jobless, broke and worryingly addicted to Loose Women. Then her older sister Suzy intervenes after her child minder left them in the lurch and offers Hannah the job of looking after her FOUR young children.

Hannah has no other option but to accept. But while she was great at playing ‘Cool Auntie’, she soon discovers – with riotous consequences – that she is no Mary Poppins . . .

the little things

My Thoughts:

This was a great little novella, I read it whilst traveling down to see my Mum on the train. So my journey passed very pleasantly with this to keep me amused.

I found this book to be packed full of great characters and a mix of emotions. The main character Hannah is relateable, funny and a great character. 

From my experiences of working with Autistic children, I found it so funny and could really imagine myself in Hannah’s position. For example, when she is strapping her nephew into the car and he screams:

“HELLLLPPPP! which must give passers-by the strong impression that he’s being kidnapped” 

The book often gave me thoughts of the saying ‘from the mouths of babes’. The Author was great at getting each character just right, from the lovely main character Hannah, to her dubious boyfriend, right down to her boisterous nephews. Leo says:

“If you die……, will you leave me your ipad?” 

Overall, I enjoyed this quick read, it made me laugh, emphathise with Hannah, and passed my train journey pleasantly. I recommend it to you.


Have you read this book, do you want to? Have you read other books from Jane Costello, let me know any recommendations you have of this Author or of other short stories or novellas. I’d love to hear from you, so please leave your thoughts below, or find me on Twitter @chocolate_pages

Thanks for reading! 

imagination

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Stopping at two
 
26 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Book Review: The Little Things by Jane Costello (mini review)

  1. florence

    November 21, 2015 at 8:22 pm

    The Little Things sounds like an excellent book or novella – which I have not heard before – I will be travelling on the train later in the week to visit my daughter which is around 5 hour trip and sounds about right for this book so will definitely be downloading to read on the way. Sounds hilarious and look forward to reading – thanks Florence.

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 22, 2015 at 6:16 pm

      I hope you enjoy it Florence, and have a lovely time with your daughter.

       
  2. randommusings29

    November 23, 2015 at 1:25 am

    This sounds like a fab little read! I will keep an eye out for it. Great review! #SundayStars
    Debbie

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 23, 2015 at 4:56 pm

      Thank you. I will be reading more by this Author.

       
  3. veronica lee

    November 23, 2015 at 3:04 am

    Sounds like a great read. I love short stories too. With so many distractions these days, I just can’t get myself to read a full length book.

    #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 23, 2015 at 4:58 pm

      It makes a nice variation for me to read novellas. Christmas is a good time for new short stories too.

       
  4. Robyn

    November 23, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    I’ve been frustrated lately by how long it takes me to get through a book these days, maybe a novella is the answer to my problems! I’ll have to check this out, thanks for the review 🙂 #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 23, 2015 at 10:48 pm

      That is exactly why I like to read novellas and short stories every so often. The satisfaction of a beginning, middle and an end all in a day or two. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  5. Rachel (Lifeofmyfamilyandme)

    November 24, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    A novella seems the better option when it comes to trying to read a book these days! I’ll keep an eye out for it 🙂 #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 22, 2015 at 9:25 pm

      I think so too, especially this time of year when we are all so busy. Thank you.

       
  6. mommyslittleprincesses

    November 25, 2015 at 10:59 am

    No I haven’t had the pleasure, but it sounds like a fun read. The nephew’s comment made me giggle. Xx #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 25, 2015 at 6:09 pm

      I’m glad it made you giggle, it did me too. I’m looking forward to reading more books by the same Author. Thanks for your comments.

       
  7. Karen (@karenjwhitlock)

    November 26, 2015 at 1:04 pm

    Hardly having any time to read at the moment so maybe I need to try something short like this. Thanks for sharing on #SundayStars

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 27, 2015 at 5:14 pm

      Yes, they are great for when you want a quick good book. I love them.

       
  8. A Moment with Franca

    November 28, 2015 at 10:51 am

    This sounds like a great little book to read!! I like the idea of her having to look after 4 young children! It sounds like a fun read to do and as I can see from you review and easy and quick one!! Thanks for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I’m very happy to have you again for this week. 🙂 xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 28, 2015 at 7:01 pm

      Thanks for hosting, I love the linky. I look forward to joining it again.
      xx

       
  9. Rachel (Lifeofmyfamilyandme)

    November 28, 2015 at 11:07 am

    Just the kind of book i need to start reading! I can never get through i big book anymore and i love reading. I will be looking out for this book 🙂 #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 28, 2015 at 6:54 pm

      I feel the same sometimes. Sometimes a quick read is just what you need and this is a good one. Thank you.

       
  10. Suze

    November 30, 2015 at 3:44 pm

    This looks really good, I will definitely check it out and get myself a copy. Great review!

     
  11. Catherine @ Story Snug

    December 4, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    This sounds like my kind of story. Hopping over to Amazon now to see if it is still free 🙂

    #weekendbloghop

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 4, 2015 at 6:51 pm

      I hope it is still free and you enjoy it. Thank you.

       
  12. All about a Mummy

    December 4, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    Sometimes a little novella between heavy books is a godsend. A bit like a sorbet at a dinner party! This sounds like a fun read. Thanks for the review #weekendblogshare

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 4, 2015 at 10:56 pm

      What a lovely description to call it like a sorbet. You sound like a book reviewer yourself. Thank you.

       
  13. Renee

    December 7, 2015 at 12:57 am

    Sounds like a great read, just the sort of thing I like. I work with kids with autism too and I love books like this with a realistic portrayal. It’s not available in my Amazon store yet, but I’ll keep an eye out for it.

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 22, 2015 at 9:24 pm

      I hope you find it on your Amazon and enjoy it. I will be reading more of this Authors books soon I think. Thank you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
