RSS

Book Review: The Food Dare, One Thing You Can Do Everyday to be Healthier. by Lindsey Banks

05 Dec
Book Review: The Food Dare, One Thing You Can Do Everyday to be Healthier. by Lindsey Banks

When Author Lindsay Banks approached me and asked if I would like to review her book, I was hopeful especially because of the title of the book. ‘One Thing You Can Do Everyday to be Healthier’, one thing a day didn’t sound to bad, and if it could make me feel healthier I thought, why not give it a go.

This is how it went……  

 good-for-my-health-picture-quote

Description:

The Food Dare provides a day-by-day guide to improve the way you eat, and will ultimately allow you to experience the health transformation of your entire life in just one month.

Healthy eating and dieting can be restrictive and boring. But, it doesn’t have to be that way. The Food Dare provides a day-by-day guide to improve the way you eat, and will ultimately allow you to experience the health transformation of your entire life in just one month.

The Food Dare is a 30-day challenge where you will be adding healthy new eating habits into your diet, in three phases. This dare is not about deprivation or restriction. It is about adding to your life to make your food choices healthier and more nutritious.

In each phase you will practice each new healthy habit so that it can become a lifestyle, not a diet. This dare is about making small changes, not big sacrifices, so that you can maintain it long after you have completed the dare.

Whether you are overweight and discouraged or healthy and strong, The Food Dare is a dare you should take. It’s time to learn the keys to a healthy diet and a healthy life.

Stop dieting and start making a healthy lifestyle change. I Dare You.

food dare

My Thoughts:

I liked the way this book started, straight away the Author says we need to consider why we want to accept this dare. I like that she put it as a dare. It makes the idea of becoming healthier more like a challenge that someone else will be following with us. If we quit, we are letting ourselves down. Lindsay Banks starts the book by getting us to ask ourselves why we want to take this challenge, so once you have told yourself why you are doing this, you should keep that in mind throughout the dares. If I started to weaken, I would remember why I started in the first place.

The whole ‘Dare’ process takes 30 days, each day we take on another healthy habit. It is a really good idea for a ‘get healthy’ book. It is motivating and not that hard at all. At least, I didn’t find it that hard, as some of the things we had to do, I was already doing anyway. I almost felt like I had a head start on others following the challenge. 

The book has note space in it, for you to write down how you doing and conclusions after each day. I thought this was a great idea. I only had the ebook version, so if you were going to get this book, I would highly recommend the paperback version. I think it would keep the motivation up if you were writing in the book as you go along. There is also a Facebook accountability group that the Author has set up, so you can have group encouragement. I don’t use Facebook, so I didn’t join this, but I can see how having a group of you doing this together would be really helpful. 

There was a quote for each day, which was encouraging. 

“Every new day is another chance to change your life” – Unknown. 

“If you want breakfast in bed, sleep in the kitchen” – Unknown. (I liked this, I thought it was amusing.  😉

The back of the book includes some healthy and easy recipes, like cauliflower crust pizza and strawberry banana green smoothie. 

While reading this book, I got myself a fruit infusion water bottle, whereby you can add fruits in the middle to flavour the water healthily. My favourite fillings were lemon and lime, and cucumber and mint.

Overall, I found this book easy to follow, motivating with the quotes and really not to hard to complete. 

Check out Lindsay Banks on Twitter HERE

Links:

GOODREADS

AMAZON USA

AMAZON UK

This book would be a lovely Christmas gift for you or someone who wants to start the new year healthily.

Let me know what you do to keep healthy, and if you decide to get this book, I’d love to know your thoughts. 

 

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Book Review: The Food Dare, One Thing You Can Do Everyday to be Healthier. by Lindsey Banks

  1. Mrs Tubbs

    December 6, 2015 at 8:57 pm

    That sounds like an excellent book for the new year. When I’ll start thinking about these things

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 6, 2015 at 11:01 pm

      I think I might be revisiting it in the new year too. 😉

       
  2. Fit Life Pursuits

    December 7, 2015 at 1:25 am

    Thank you for the awesome review! I’m so glad you found it helpful. How great are those fruit-infused water bottles!?

     
  3. Sara Handy Herbs

    December 7, 2015 at 11:03 am

    This looks like an interesting book – I like how it is a bit different. I do all the usual stuff really. I try hard to limit ‘treats’ and to eat brown/wholemeal instead of white and plenty of fruit and veg. We have also cut down a lot on processed foods. I wish I did more exercise but am trying on that front too. #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 7, 2015 at 4:30 pm

      I think I will keep trying to be healthy for a bit longer, then a Christmas break. Then big health kick again in January, when this book will be back out again. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

       
  4. Becky Pink

    December 7, 2015 at 9:44 pm

    This sounds like an interesting book – it’s good that it’s not just a diet but is for better health. Becky x #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 7, 2015 at 9:53 pm

      yes, that’s why I liked it. It is easy to follow and stick to. Thank you.

       
  5. mommyslittleprincesses

    December 10, 2015 at 11:02 am

    This sounds like a really good and motivational book that could be worth looking into. Thanks for sharing. Xx #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 10, 2015 at 5:24 pm

      I hope you find it as helpful as I did. Thank you.

       
  6. New Mummy Blog

    December 10, 2015 at 9:04 pm

    This sounds like a really good book, and not too faddy!

    Thanks for sharing and hope you can link up again with @withfranca #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 10, 2015 at 9:26 pm

      You’re right, it wasn’t faddy at all. Thank you, I will be back for #KCACOLS next week.

       

Leave a Reply

 
