RSS

Book Review: Dangerously Dark by Collette London

12 Dec
Book Review: Dangerously Dark by Collette London

Thank you to Netgalley for my copy of this book. The chocolate and mystery idea just rang straight to me that this would be a book that I would enjoy. Here are my thoughts.

ive-got-a-serect-weapon-chocolate-preferably-dark-worry-quote

Description:

Chocolate-whisperer Hayden Mundy Moore has just arrived in Portland, Oregon, where she’s about to scarf soufflés and sip cacao-based cocktails at her friend’s engagement party. Fresh from nabbing her first candy-covered killer, the last thing Hayden wants to do is mix her love of chocolate with criminal mischief again. But then the groom-to-be turns up dead before beginning his renowned Chocolate-After-Dark tour. . .

Hayden’s friends insist that Declan’s death was a freak accident, but she knows there’s no mistaking the bitter after taste of homicide. In the midst of habañero hot chocolate and mocha-chunk gelato, a choco-crazed killer waits to strike again. Hayden will need to use more than her extraordinarily gifted taste buds to bring this murderer to justice, but she just might have bitten off more than she can chew in the process. . .

dark

My Thoughts:

Thought I would really love this with all the chocolate talk and the murder mystery parts, but unfortunately I didn’t love it. I liked all the different kind of chocolate talk and all the chocolatey descriptive words. But what I didn’t realise before I started the book was that there was a book before this one. This second book makes a lot of references to the first book. At first it made me wish I’d read the first book, but then I found myself thinking if I had read the first, I probably wouldn’t have read this one.

I thought there were far to many references to the previous book. The main character I thought was a bit silly. I was left thinking for the first half of the book, has there been a murder or not. I don’t know if this was what the author intended? but I didn’t like it.

I prefer a murder mystery to be gritty, thrilling and a page turner. I like my romantic comedy chick lit books to be easy reading fun. This I think was supposed to be a mix of the two which in my opinion didn’t work well. It wasn’t gritty and it wasn’t easy reading fun.  For me, it didn’t work.

I don’t like to write completely negative reviews for books, and as I did finish this book, the positives for this book were all the delicious chocolate references, which sounded so tasty.

“grilled brioche sandwiches filled with melted chocolate and sea salt..”

And some strange sounding delectable too!

“a bacon-y take on a Snickers.”

There were also nice recipes at the back of the book too. Below are links for the Author and the book. I’d love to hear from you if you have read this or any of Collette’s books and what your thoughts are.

Links for Author Collette London and her Books:

ColletteLondon.com

GOODREADS

AMAZON UK

AMAZON USA

TWITTER

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Book Review: Dangerously Dark by Collette London

  1. Almondine

    December 12, 2015 at 7:49 pm

    Sounds like something I would enjoy as well! 😀

     
  2. Almondine

    December 12, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    Or well, the chocolatey parts that is. Shame it wasn’t what you were hoping for!

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 12, 2015 at 10:37 pm

      yes, the chocolatey parts were good. I guess we can’t read all 5 star books.

       
      • Almondine

        December 13, 2015 at 10:55 am

        If only!

         

Leave a Reply

 
