RSS

Anne of Green Gables Haul!

16 Jan
Anne of Green Gables Haul!

I was very lucky this Christmas and received the BEST book EVER!! Look at this Anne of Green Gables book, apart from it being an amazing book, it is also the best cover ever.

Its is soft and covered in typically Anne quotes. I love it.

DSCF3155

Even the back is perfect. 

DSCF3157

On the inside cover, you can see the horse and cart that drove Anne to Green Gables. And each chapter tells us what will happen, so I can either read it all or just skip to a particular chapter.

I also got the four set book of Anne books. These are my comfort reads, I can turn to any page of any book and just love it. I know the story so well, and find Anne makes me smile even on the grey days as she is so optimistic and positive. I just love Anne Shirley, Anne of Green Gables.

Then to finish off my Anne haul so perfectly, I had this super cute and very bookishly cool necklace.

Are you with me for this great love of Anne of Green Gables? To finish off I will leave you with my favourite ‘Anne’ quote.

“tomorrow is always fresh with no mistakes in it”

small_anne-of-green-gables

 

 

 

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
33 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2016 in Books, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

33 responses to “Anne of Green Gables Haul!

  1. Eagle-Eyed Editor

    January 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    Fun! Definitely quite a haul. I know you’ll enjoy everything.

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 16, 2016 at 2:02 pm

      Thank you, I have been picking up the books and reading random chapters. They are so nice.

       
  2. D. Parker

    January 16, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    I heard the CBC is doing a reboot of ‘Anne of Green Gables’, as a huge fan of the first series I’m not sure, but as a fan of all that is Anne, I’ll probably watch anyway (and compare). What do you think?
    Love your Anne haul.
    I have so many fav quotes, love that one and “I went looking for my dreams outside of myself and discovered, it’s not what the world holds for you, it’s what you bring to it.” So true.
    Popped over from Vicky’s amazing #WeekendBlogShare to give some #blogove – after all, you had me at chocolate…and books. Sigh.
    Hope this weekend treats you kindly. 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 16, 2016 at 2:20 pm

      Wow, that would be cool. I have all the dvd’s of the original, but it would be good to see the new version. I don’t know if I can get CBC here in Scotland, but it would be worth a look for Anne.
      Thanks for sharing your favourite Anne quote. I think as I keep re reading the books I will find and remember more that I loved.

       
      • D. Parker

        January 16, 2016 at 9:33 pm

        They always put it out on DVD or streamed eventually. I loved the books when I was little and then I got to see LMM’s house in PEI and I was even more hooked, it looked just like the book described Anne’s house…and I always wanted red hair like hers. 😉

         
      • chocolatepages

        February 7, 2016 at 10:05 pm

        Oh wow how amazing to be able to go to Anne’s house. I would love that.

         
  3. Wills

    January 16, 2016 at 4:42 pm

    That cover is awesome!

     
  4. heyjamie

    January 16, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    I LOVED this series as a kid! Wow! It really is quite stunning!

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 16, 2016 at 6:44 pm

      Thank you. I saw it on Instagram and hunted it out so I could get it as a Christmas gift.

       
      • Becky Pink

        January 17, 2016 at 11:21 am

        Where did you get them from? I’ve just googled it but no luck! x

         
      • chocolatepages

        January 17, 2016 at 11:47 am

        I found it on Amazon, but I did have to look lots of different times, as the first good few times it wasn’t available.

         
  5. Travelling Macs

    January 17, 2016 at 10:36 am

    Memories of childhood , then sharing them with my daughter. Maybe it’s time I pulled this series out again. Classic reading. Happy that I found your blog. I didn’t get yo read a lot last year ( a full on but positive time) so I can see glancing through your blog I will find ideas to stRt my reading back up again. #weekendbloglink

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 7, 2016 at 10:07 pm

      Thank you, I hope you find some great books and get to enjoy your love of books again.

       
  6. Becky Pink

    January 17, 2016 at 11:19 am

    Ah those are the best editions! My favourite books, like you I practically know them by heart and they get better and better. We love the TV adaptation and my 5 year old loves it. Can’t wait until she can read the books too! Becky x #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 17, 2016 at 11:46 am

      They would make the best bedtime stories. Your 5 year (and you) will go to sleep with positive Anne like thoughts. I love the films of it too.

       
  7. veronica lee

    January 17, 2016 at 11:33 am

    I was a huge fan of this series as a kid. Love that quote.
    #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 17, 2016 at 11:48 am

      Anne’s quotes never get old do they. I was and still am a huge fan. One commenter told me that CBC may be bringing Anne back, but I don’t think we will be able to see that in the UK.

       
  8. mommyslittleprincesses

    January 17, 2016 at 1:06 pm

    Such a fab little collection you have. I’m so glad that Anne can make you smile especially on those grey days.xx #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 17, 2016 at 1:26 pm

      Yes, the quotes are good to keep in mind and as I re read I find and remember more. Thank you.

       
  9. Suburban Mum

    January 20, 2016 at 4:36 pm

    I’m not too familiar with the story but the books look beautiful Amanda!

    Thanks so much for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 20, 2016 at 5:32 pm

      Thank you, I will be back next week. #kcacols has been lovely.

       
  10. florence

    January 21, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    Surprisingly I Have not read Anne of Green Gables but reading your review I felt I must look at it and I am now on chapter XX, It is so brilliant and one of those books that you just cant put down. I love Marilla, even with her so correctness – and Anne’s way with her imagination is just enchanting. I love her naming of beautiful pathways of walks and lanes, putting wreaths in her hair, it is all so beautiful – thank you for introducing me to this book …

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 22, 2016 at 6:14 pm

      I’m glad my words encouraged you to pick it up. Anne Shirley is my favourite book character EVER!! The films are really good too.

       
  11. A Moment with Franca

    January 23, 2016 at 11:04 am

    Oh I love Anne of Green Gables. I was a fun when I was a kid too. I watched the whole series. I love her, she is such a determined and stubborn character. She just fight hard for what she wanted. But also loving, passionate and intelligent! Love it! The book cover is beautiful and even better with all those quotes! Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS, 🙂 x

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 23, 2016 at 11:58 am

      Thank you, I am so enthusiastic about this book and character. I love that others love her too.

       
  12. Jess Powell (Babi a Fi)

    January 25, 2016 at 9:24 pm

    What an awesome haul! I love that necklace, it’s so cute x

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 25, 2016 at 10:02 pm

      Thank you, I love it too. Its actually even nicer in real, it wasn’t the best photo.

       
  13. Jane

    February 16, 2016 at 11:07 pm

    Ayyy loved this series!! And I have a necklace kinda like that one– twins 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 17, 2016 at 5:00 pm

      That’s cool. I’d love it if they brought the tv series back.

       
  14. irena_bookdustmagic

    February 20, 2016 at 1:32 pm

    Where do you guys buy those necklaces?
    This is a great haul, it’s s so good to see when someone just loves one piece of literature so much…

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 20, 2016 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you. I got it for Christmas, it was from an Etsy shop but I don’t know which one. I love it. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts about Anne.

       
      • irena_bookdustmagic

        February 20, 2016 at 1:40 pm

        ohh, ok, I saw those Etsy shops around but never checked them out… I was looking on Ebay but can’t remember what stopped me from ordering, maybe the shipping… And books you could choose from were pretty few…

         

Leave a Reply

 
