RSS

#Valentine. Book Review: The Boy in the BookShop by Katey Lovell.

13 Feb
#Valentine. Book Review: The Boy in the BookShop by Katey Lovell.

For Valentines weekend, here is a book review of a soppy sweet romantic short story. There are a few of these ‘Meet Cute’ series. I decided to pick up this one first, as the idea of it being in a bookshop appealed to me.

BOY IN BOOKSHOP

Description:

Every Happily Ever After began with a Once Upon a Time…

It takes a lot to distract Jade from her books. But from the moment she spots Marwan browsing the shelves, she can’t concentrate on anything else…

A gorgeously romantic short story, part of The Meet Cute series.


 

My Thoughts:

This book is a very short story, it is basically girl meets boy, girl fancies boy blah blah. I am disappointed to say that I wasn’t impressed with this book. 

I found the main female character Jade a bit annoying. She sounded a bit contradictory to me. She says she has sworn off men as she as been hurt too many times before, but then says:

“I knew he was trustworthy as I looked into those eyes. They were the eyes of an honest man.” – but this was before she had spoken to him?? Really?! 

Jade is very into her books though, and I was hoping that based in a bookshop, there would be lots of descriptive words about books, the shop and the guy. I did like Jade’s thoughts about books, and the Author did write her well as a book lover.

“I love old books. I like to imagine who they might have belonged to, if they were read on a train, or a beach, or in front of a roaring log fire..”

I guess this is the kind of short story you might have a quick read of when you have a spare five minutes. I did like the Author’s style of writing, I just found this particular story a bit pointless. I don’t think I will be reading anymore of the ‘Meet Cute series. However, if I found a full length book by the Author, I would give it a go.

LINKS:

GOODREADS.

AMAZON .CO.UK

AMAZON.COM

I would love to hear your Valentine reads? Have you read this or any of the other ‘Meet Cute’ books? What did you think?

HAPPY READING!

bookshop

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “#Valentine. Book Review: The Boy in the BookShop by Katey Lovell.

  1. Suburban Mum

    February 23, 2016 at 9:21 pm

    It’s ashame you didn’t enjoy the book, I have to sat it sounded quite promising from the blurb. You are right though it does sound like Jade is contradictory – especially since she hadn’t even spoken to him!

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on sunday x

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 23, 2016 at 11:12 pm

      Thank you, I’m glad it was just a short story, so I didn’t waste a lot of time on it. See you next time on #kcacols. 🙂

       
  2. A Moment with Franca

    February 26, 2016 at 9:50 am

    Oh no! This is the first time that I read that you didn’t enjoy a book. What a shame. But I guess we cannot like everything right? Maybe if you find the long story will be better as you already said. I haven’t read this book and I haven’t heard of this author either although it seems like an interesting book and a typical love story. What a shame that the character didn’t appeal as much to you. To be honest now I’m curious lol. If I have a spare time I might give it a go, 😉 Thanks so much for sharing this at #KCACOLS. I love your book reviews, 🙂 x

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 26, 2016 at 5:44 pm

      Thank you Franca, I hope you had a great weekend last weekend. Looking forward to #kcacols again this week. I don’t know if I’m in a minority with this book, as others have given it good reviews. But as you say, we can’t like everything. Thanks for your compliments. xx

       

Leave a Reply

 
