RSS

Guest Post. Ten Desserts Inspired by Books! by Andrea Lochen

10 Apr
Guest Post. Ten Desserts Inspired by Books! by Andrea Lochen

Welcome my fellow chocolate and books lovers, today I have a treat for you!

I have Andrea Lochen on ChocolatePages with a deliciously inspired guest post. Andrea is going to share with us some tempting deserts which have been inspired by books. Welcome Andrea, and lets get our sweet teeth tempted. 

eat cake

 

Ten Most Delicious Desserts Inspired by Novels

by Andrea Lochen

 

As an avid reader with a major sweet tooth, I love when authors include the recipes for the yummy desserts they’ve made me drool over throughout their book.  It’s a marriage of two of my favourite activities—reading and baking!  And if you’re a book club member, what better treat to bring to your meeting than a dessert straight out of the novel?  Here are ten of my favourite book-inspired desserts!

 

1) Southern Caramel Cake from The Help by Kathryn Stockett

help

Who hasn’t wanted to try a bite of the scrumptious-sounding caramel cake that Minny makes in The Help?  (Maybe not so much her chocolate pie, however!)  Though Stockett didn’t include the recipe in the back of her book, this food blog has the The Junior League of Memphis Cookbook recipe that supposedly inspired her.

scrumpdillyicious.blogspot (Minnie’s caramel cake)

 

 

2) Coconut Cake from Amy E. Reichert’s The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

COCO

The titular coconut cake in Reichert’s The Coincidence of Coconut Cake earned its place on the cover of this heartwarming book. To the main character, Lou, baking her grandmother’s cake is the ultimate expression of love. In the book, those who get to eat it earned their slice, which certainly made me crave a piece all the more!

tipsonlifeandlove.com (Grandma Luellas coconut-cake)

 

3) Crème Caramel Flan from Anita Hughes’ Island in the Sea: A Majorca Love Story

island

 In Hughes’ newest novel set in Spain, she describes how Majorca’s restaurants serve a mouthwatering variety of delicious fresh fish and locally grown vegetables and how many diners like to end the meal with a dessert that satisfies any sweet tooth while not being heavy or cloying.  This creme caramel flan recipe certainly does the trick!

a2zmallorca.com

 

4) Lemon Cream Cake from Juliette Fay’s Shelter Me

shelter

Fay introduces the concept of “pology cake” in her first novel, Shelter Me, as something you bake for someone you’ve wronged in the hopes of that person forgiving you.  Though according to Fay, it doesn’t need to be a particular kind of cake, her recipe for lemon cream cake in the back of the book and on her author website sounds fabulous!

Juliettefay.com/pologycake.

 

5) Peanut butter bars from Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal

kitchens

Though there are several delicious dishes described in Stradal’s debut novel about Midwestern foodie culture, it was the blue-prize winning peanut butter bars recipe from Lutheran church lady, Pat, that caught my eye.  I made this for my book club and these chocolate-frosted bars are just as decadent as they sound

ReadtheSpirit.com/PeanutButterBars

 

 

6) Thumbprint Cookies with Jam from Kelly Simmons’ One More Day

one more

Baking figures prominently in Kelly Simmons’ book because in One More Day, the main character, Carrie Morgan, bakes with her grandmother, as she did when she was a little girl. However, it’s not clear whether her grandmother is dead or alive!  These thumbprint jam cookies look like just the thing to bake when you’re in a nostalgic mood (or simply in the mood for something buttery and sweet)!

KellyASimmons.blogspot.com

 

 

7) Mantecadas from Tina Ann Forkner’s Ruby Among Us

ruby among us

In Ruby Among Us by Tina Ann Forkner, Kitty and her granddaughter Lucy spend a lot of time together talking over cookies and tea. Lucy even has a special tea cup that she drinks out of with her grandmother Kitty who is keeping a lot of secrets about Lucy’s past.  Below is a link to Kitty’s secret recipe for Lucy’s favorite cookie, Mantecadas.  Yum!

TinaAnnForkner.wordpress.com/novelrecipes

 

8) Nanaimo Bars from Miracle Beach by Erin Celello

miracle

Nanaimo Bars are served in the cafeterias of the ferry boats between Vancouver Island and mainland Canada.  In Miracle Beach, when main characters Magda and Jack come to the Island, they fall in love with the sinfully sweet bars.  Author Erin Celello testifies that they’re amazing!

Nanaimo.Ca

 

9) Damascus’ Pumpkin Spice Pound Cake from The River Witch by Kimberly Brock

river witch

In The River Witch, a family feast brings an estranged southern family together. When ten-year-old Damascus Trezevant’s summer ends with a bounty of pumpkins, she sets out to heal deep wounds with a sweet, old recipe for Pumpkin Spice Pound Cake and faith in the magic of a mother’s love.  You won’t be sorry you tried this recipe!

KimberlyBrockBooks.com/DamascusPumpkinSpice

 

 

10) The Best Chocolate Cake Ever from The Repeat Year by Andrea Lochen

repeat year

 What dessert list is complete without a delectable chocolate cake?  In The Repeat Year, main character Olive is named after her maternal grandmother who passed away the week before she was born.  In addition to her grandma’s name, Olive also inherited her recipe for the “best chocolate cake ever” which her mom bakes as a peace offering for their family in a time of major transition.

AddaPinch.com/BestChocCake

 

 

Andrea Lochen is the author of two novels, Imaginary Things and The Repeat Year.  She earned her MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Michigan and her BA in English at the University of Wisconsin.  Since 2008, she has taught undergraduate writing at the University of Wisconsin-Waukesha.  When she isn’t teaching, reading, or baking, she is hard at work on her third novel.  To learn more about her, visit her website: www.andrealochen.com.

 

 

cake.gif

Thank you very much Andrea for that delicious post. We have the books, the cake, all that is left is the cup of tea. Andrea and myself would love to hear what books you have found divine deserts or any kind of food love in? Let us know below.

Author Links:

AndreaLochen.com

Facebook   Twitter

Amazon.com/ImaginaryThings.

BarnesandNoble.com/ImaginaryThings.

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
26 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2016 in author interviews, Baking, Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Guest Post. Ten Desserts Inspired by Books! by Andrea Lochen

  1. rachelbustin blog (@RachelBustin)

    April 10, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    i love the look of the coconut cake in Reichert’s The Coincidence of Coconut Cake, cocnut is my fav! xx
    #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 10, 2016 at 4:34 pm

      Thanks, I have actually read that book and its really good. Its very tempting with the foodie talk too.

       
  2. Jess Powell (Babi a Fi)

    April 10, 2016 at 5:21 pm

    What a cool idea for a post! And I really really want some cake now… 😀

    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday x

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 11:53 am

      I know, it was a great idea. I almost wish I’d thought of it myself! 😉

       
  3. A mum track mind

    April 10, 2016 at 6:05 pm

    This is a lovely, original idea for a post! We had Nanaimo bars on Vancouver Island when we visited last summer! And yes, they are super sweet! #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 11:54 am

      Thank you, its something I haven’t ever tried, but I think I would like them.

       
  4. Donna

    April 10, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    So much sugar in this post, yummy! That’s a great post, and now I’m hungry so I’m gonna try a caramel cake asap!

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 11:55 am

      Thank you, quite often when I read foodie books it makes me want to bake too. I was tempted by the chocolate cake.

       
      • Donna

        April 11, 2016 at 4:48 pm

        I remember reading Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe and baking hundreds of cupcakes. Now I always make sure I have food around when I read.

         
      • chocolatepages

        April 11, 2016 at 4:53 pm

        Cupcake Cafe was a great read, with so many cake ideas too, I did plenty of baking then too.

         
  5. nipperandtyke

    April 10, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    That was a cool idea – I haven’t read any of those books, but I like the idea of pology cake – cake has got to help when it comes to reconciliation, surely?! 😉 Luckily, I have just had dinner or this post would have left me feeling very hungry.
    x Alice
    #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 11:57 am

      Thank you, the pology cake does sound good. I think it would make me forgive a bit easier if someone made me a cake. 😉

       
  6. To Arizona......and beyond

    April 11, 2016 at 12:22 am

    Yum! A great idea for a blog post, I really want to make cake now! #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 11:58 am

      Thank you, I almost wish I had thought of this idea myself. Andrea has a great way of making us want to eat cake!

       
  7. Rayna

    April 11, 2016 at 12:48 am

    I think I got a cavity just from reading these delicious looking desserts. Oh man.
    I feel like the only book that I can name off of the top of my head with mentions of food in it is the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before duology. Not only does it have sweets, but it also mentions some Korean food, too!

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 12:00 pm

      I have heard of these books, but not read them. I like the sound of Korean food being mentioned in it though. I really enjoy books that have foodie descriptions.

       
  8. readersandmore

    April 11, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    What a great post! I wish I could do guest blogging. The Help had its fair share of delicious and down right disgusting.

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 11, 2016 at 4:53 pm

      I haven’t read The Help, so I was taking Andrea’s word for it. She has given me a few more books to add to my tbr list though. You are always welcome to do a guest post on ChocolatePages if you want to. (Did you mean be the guest or host guests on your blog?).

       
      • readersandmore

        April 12, 2016 at 2:58 pm

        I’ve only seen the movie and it was really good. I would love to host a guest post but would still enjoy guest posting on another blog.

         
      • chocolatepages

        April 12, 2016 at 4:32 pm

        You are welcome on ChocolatePages anytime, just give me a shout if you want a guest spot and any ideas you have. 😉

         
      • readersandmore

        April 12, 2016 at 11:57 pm

        Okay thank you!

         
  9. A Moment with Franca

    April 16, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    I love all those delicious desserts inspired from a a book, what a great idea for a post!! Thanks so much for sharing this guest post at #KCACOLS!! 🙂 xx

     
  10. Cee Arr

    May 1, 2016 at 9:31 am

    I realise this is random – but I’ve always quite fancied the ‘punishment’ chocolate cake from Matilda. Not all at once, ofc 😉

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 1, 2016 at 11:06 am

      I just had a look at the youtube clip for that. It does look a delicious cake, but maybe not all at once, like you say! 😉

      Thank you for joining in with your cake choice.

       
  11. Wendy Klik

    May 3, 2016 at 7:09 pm

    The only book from this list that I have had the pleasure of reading is The Help. My to read queue has just gotten a little longer.

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 3, 2016 at 7:22 pm

      Mine too! I have only read ‘The Coincidence of Coconut Cake’. It was very good.

       

Leave a Reply

 
