RSS

Book Review: FutureSpan, by Georgia Duffy.

14 May
Book Review: FutureSpan, by Georgia Duffy.

Remember this review, as one of the first reviews you’ve read for new and upcoming Author  Georgia Duffy! She is so talented, so imaginative and is going to be a huge success in fantasy books. FutureSpan is her first published novel, and it is a special one. Georgia contacted me back last year to do a spotlight on her book, now I am very happy to say that her first book has been published. 

FutureSpan, by Georgia Duffy. Published by Britain’s Next BestSeller. 6th May 2016.

imagination

Description:

Meet Amelia: desperate, she shoots her father as he sleeps. There is blood everywhere, and his eyes are shut forever, but she is distraught it hasn’t worked. Distraught that it means she is still stuck in this desolate place known as Futurespan. Meanwhile on another level Jetson goes through the mysterious doors to relive the worst day of his life, and see two versions of his future: one where all of his nightmares are real. Futurespan is a world quite apart from our own: it is a timeless, unsettling place. Join Tabitha, Rin and Diggory as they journey together through the strangeness to discover what kind of place it really is, why they are here and most importantly if they can get out.

Publisher: Britain’s Next Bestseller; First edition (6 May 2016)

future

 

My Thoughts:

This is a story where the characters are trapped in FutureSpan, we don’t know what FutureSpan is and neither do the characters Rin, Diggory and Tabitha who find themselves there. As we read, we learn how the characters find out about themselves, where they are and ultimately whether they can get themselves out again…. or are they trapped in this strange place forever??!!

Georgia Duffy has some imagination, and with this novel she brings us entertainment, interesting characters, morals, things to consider and a page turning book that gets us wondering what will happen to the characters. I don’t read many fantasy books, but this one I’m glad that I did.

The Author has really thought the story out well, everything I had wondered about was tied up nicely in the end, leaving us with a feeling of satisfaction, contentment and optimism. I think it would be wrong to say exactly what I thought the morals were as I think it would be considered a spoiler. However, I would love to hear from you if you have read it though.

There are a couple of nice quotes that I would like to leave you with to show the type of writer that Georgia is. She has a great imagination, as I said. But she writes in a way that makes you think about your own life. She writes in a way where you can empathise with the characters, and makes you hope that they make the right decisions.

“You can control yourself. Your mind is your own child”

Bad things do happen, he said to himself. They do. They have. They probably will again. He looked at Tabitha ……… but good things happen too

Depending on what kind of reader you are, if you like to read fantasy and get pure escapism to just enjoy the tales, this is a good book. If you are a reader that likes to look deeper into the story, and think about morals, decisions, and get a sense of empathy from characters which make you think of your own life and decisions, this is a brilliant book. 

I haven’t read any other reviews on this book, as it has just been released. But I would love to hear other people’s thoughts on it, especially as I haven’t read many fantasy books at all. So, if you read it please come back to ChocolatePages and let me know your thoughts.

 book secrets

Links:

GOODREADS

AMAZON.COM

AMAZON.CO.UK

Twitter/georgia_author

georgiaduffy.co.uk

 

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Book Review: FutureSpan, by Georgia Duffy.

  1. Donna

    May 14, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    I came back to fantasy only a few weeks ago. This book sounds like it connects my love for deep thoughts to an interesting and well-built fantasy world. I had not heard about it, but it is now on my TBR!

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 14, 2016 at 2:12 pm

      That sounds exactly the kind of book that this is. Thank you, I hope you enjoy it too.

       
  2. practicalbydefault

    May 15, 2016 at 12:25 am

    Loved this review, great job. It looks like such a good book. Thank you for sharing! #KCACOLS

     
  3. irena_bookdustmagic

    May 15, 2016 at 4:15 pm

    KK, I’ll remember the name Georgia Duffy.
    I am glad you enjoyed this book. I think you did a nice job reviewing it.
    I hope more ppl will read this novel so you can see what they’ll think.
    I guess I, as a reader, belong to the second category, but tbh with you, this kind of sounds like a complicated story.

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 16, 2016 at 7:39 pm

      The story wasn’t complicated once I got into it, it just took me a few chapters to understand what FutureSpan was. Once I got it though, it was interesting. I’m not a big fan of fantasy, so I was pleased that I enjoyed this one. Hopefully more people will be leaving reviews soon, as it hasn’t long been published.

       
  4. Carol Cameleon

    May 17, 2016 at 4:42 pm

    I’m not sure this is usually my genre but I really fancy reading this book. With obligatory chocolate and a cup of decaf 😉 #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 17, 2016 at 5:06 pm

      It isn’t my usual genre either. In fact I think I have only read a handful of fantasy books, but this was good. Of course chocolate and tea – for me, always make it more enjoyable. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  5. newmummyblogcom

    May 17, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    I don’t really read fantasy, actually I never do, but it does sound readable, and a style of writing that I’d really get into. Thanks for linking up to #kcacols hope you can link up next sunday too.

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 18, 2016 at 3:57 pm

      Thank you. Fantasy is not something I usually read either, but this was good. I hope to be back next week too.

       
  6. Petite Pudding

    May 19, 2016 at 4:03 pm

    I am not really a huge fantasy fan (if I ever get to a book at all) but I do like that the author doesn’t leave everything hanging and toea everything up at the end, can’t stand loose ends! #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 19, 2016 at 10:04 pm

      Nor me, it is such a disappointment when books end with loose ends and leave me wondering.

       
  7. Tracey @ One Frazzled Mum

    May 19, 2016 at 9:48 pm

    This sounds like my kind of book. I love to read and write fantasy fiction I will keep my eye out for this one! #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 19, 2016 at 10:09 pm

      Ooh, you write aswell. Do you, or do you hope to have anything published?

       
  8. Silly Mummy

    May 20, 2016 at 10:39 am

    Sounds like an interesting book. I quite like fantasy novels. #KCACOLS

     

Leave a Reply

 
