RSS

Book Review: Novelista Girl, by Meredith Schorr.

12 Jun
Book Review: Novelista Girl, by Meredith Schorr.

Thank you very much to Author Meredith Schorr for my copy of this book. ‘Novelista Girl’ is the sequel to ‘Blogger Girl’. It can be read as a stand alone, however the first book is really very good, so I would recommend reading that first. I did a Buddy Read for ‘Blogger Girl’ with my bookish friend Irena, you can read about that HERE!

You can read my review of ‘Blogger Girl’  HERE!  

AMAZING

 

Description:

Readers first met sassy Kimberly Long in Blogger Girl, and now the feisty New Yorker is back in a sequel packed with quick with, friendship, heartache, and, of course, romance.

Kim runs the most popular chick lit book blog on the web, loves playing house with her sexy lawyer boyfriend, Nicholas, and is finally pursuing her lifelong dream to become a published author. At first glance, her life is five-pink-champagne-flutes worthy.

But is there more to the story than meets the eye?

After hearing the phrase “chick lit is dead” more times than she’s read Bridget Jones’s Diary, Kim is driven to desperate measures, seeking advice from up-and-coming chick lit author, Hannah Marshak, her high school nemesis and resident “mean girl.” As if Kim doesn’t have enough on her plate balancing her secretarial duties with her blog Pastel Is the New Black, shrugging off the growing pile of agent rejections, and keeping her best friend from turning green over Kim’s budding friendship with Hannah, Nicholas is so blinded by his career ambitions, he doesn’t see that their home sweet home could use more than a dash of sugar.

This is the year when all of Kim’s dreams—professional and romantic—are supposed to come true, but will the story have a happily ever after, or will Kim end up unpublished and all alone?

This novel can be read as a sequel or as a standalone and is best accompanied by a cocktail, preferably a pink one.

novelista girl

Published January 6th 2016 by Booktrope Editions (first published January 4th 2016)

My Thoughts:

I am going to start this review with something very unusual…. I actually liked ‘Novelista Girl’ better than ‘Blogger Girl’! This is quite strange to prefer the sequel, but it was really very good. Meredith Schorr continues the story of bookblogger Kim, her relationship with Nicolas and how Kim is striving to become a chick lit Author. We share her ups and downs as she goes about trying to attain her dream of becoming a published Author. If you haven’t read ‘Blogger Girl’, you are easily caught up with the story, but not in a way that repeats itself for those that have read the previous book.

I was drawn to this series because of the main characters love for reading and bookblogging. In Novelista Girl, this continues and is taken a stage further as we hear more about Kim’s attempts at becoming published. I loved how we were lead through this process, and lived Kim’s highs and lows with her as she deals with agents and her old frenamie Hannah who is already a published Author! I enjoyed this part of the book so much, that I did consider how great it would be to write a book! (Although sadly, I don’t think I have the talent for that).

The characters in this book are brilliant. I love the relationship between Kim and her best friend Bridget. Always there for each other, always supporting each other. But realistic as they have a silly girlishness about them.

“Bridget covered her ears with her hands. “I don’t hear you. LALALALALA”.

I love how this book is so current. Kim has late night binges with Orange Is The New Black, and in true Chick Lit fashion, Kim compares herself to Carrie in Sex and the City…

“..it didn’t compare to the likes of Big or Petrovsky. Who was I kidding? My life would never resemble an episode of Sex and the City.” 

As part of Kim’s attempts to become published, we hear a lot that ‘Chick Lit is dead’. It is so not dead, and this book is a prime example of how brilliant chick lit can be. I loved this book, I read it in a few days, every time I had a spare few minutes I was back with my nose in the book to see what happens next.

I am going to give Meredith Schorr a big compliment here. For those of you that follow ChocolatePages, you will know that Sophie Kinsella is my favourite Chick Lit Author. It was Sophie that inspired my love of adult reading. Meredith Schorr has now become my favourite Chick Lit Author on a par with Sophie Kinsella! I love Becky Brandon from Shopaholic, and I love Kim Long from Blogger / Novelista Girl! 

In honour of Kim’s blog Pastel is the New Black, I am awarding ‘Novelista Girl’ 5 Pink Champagne Flutes.

5 PINK

 

 Have you read any of Meredith Schorr’s books? What did you think? Do you like the sound of Novelista Girl? I would love to hear from you, so let me know your thoughts in the comments below. Thank you and happy reading book lovers. 

valentine gif
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Book Review: Novelista Girl, by Meredith Schorr.

  1. Meredith Schorr

    June 12, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    Wow, I’m so thrilled with this review that I can’t stop smiling. I’m so happy you loved Novelista Girl! Thank you for reading/reviewing 🙂

     
  2. Ky

    June 12, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    I must admit I am terrible at reading books, I’ve been trying to read the same book for almost a year now I just never seem to have the time. This sounds great for a summer holiday read. #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 12, 2016 at 7:00 pm

      Sounds to me like you need to start a new book. 🙂 Thanks for your comments.

       
  3. Tracey Bowden

    June 17, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    This sounds like my kind of book. I keep meaning to read blogger girl but I really haven’t read much lately #kcaols

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 17, 2016 at 4:22 pm

      I really recommend the two books. Especially if you haven’t read for a while, they are the perfect reintroduction to books.

       
  4. Conplyorcry

    June 17, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    I am always excited to read a book that doesn’t have pictures in it.. This is will be going on my kindle list for my hold! Thanks a million! #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 17, 2016 at 4:22 pm

      That’s funny, I guess you read a lot of childrens books. I hope you get a chance to read a pictureless book soon. 😉

       
  5. Bread

    June 17, 2016 at 9:16 pm

    Looks like it was a good read. Not a fan of chick lit myself, but I like the idea of a series about a blogger lol. #kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 18, 2016 at 8:15 am

      Thank you, it was this idea that appealed to me initially.

       
  6. A Moment With Franca

    June 18, 2016 at 10:32 pm

    I remember reading your review about Blogger Girl and I found it like a great read ant the type of book I would probably love to read. Now after reading this review, I’m even more curious and intrigued about this sequel. It all sounds super interesting. I also like that you can get emerged into the world of publishing a book. Such a wonderful world. I did a little check on the author bio and I like her even more after reading that she is also a paralegal. 😉 Great review as always Amanda. I wish I have time to read all the the great books you review. But I will definitely get these 2 books if I go on holidays as they seem perfect for a beach holiday. Thanks so much for sharing this review at #KCACOLS, 🙂 xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 19, 2016 at 12:13 pm

      Thank you, they would be great beach reads. I would like there to be a third instalment of this series, but so far there is not. I’m glad you like all my book recommendations. 😉

       
  7. irena_bookdustmagic

    June 22, 2016 at 1:16 pm

    I am so glad you liked this book even more then Blogger Girl.
    Wow, that is amazing how you think that Meredith Schorr is now your favorite. Even though I wasn’t a big fan of Blogger Girl (as you alread know) I know how amazing it feels to find another author that is so good, and even better, then the one you loved for years and honestly believed there is no one better.
    The same thing happened to me when I discovered Jane Costello and found my new favorite chick lit author. Before that, it was Kinsella who was my chick lit queen!

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 23, 2016 at 8:26 pm

      It was a brilliant find, and now I can look forward to reading all the rest of her books. Its a shame that the Blogger / Novelista series is finished, but she has written a few other book. I really like Jane Costello too. And of course Kinsella is still amazing.

       
      • irena_bookdustmagic

        June 24, 2016 at 7:52 am

        I just want to add Paige Toon and Lindsey Kelk to this list. So all of my favs would be mentioned! 😉

         
      • chocolatepages

        June 25, 2016 at 8:21 am

        I do like Lindsey Kelk too, I haven’t read any Paige, but heard brilliant things about her.

         
  8. Hannah Spannah Coco Banana

    June 25, 2016 at 12:30 pm

    I’ve never heard of this book, nor the prequel actually, probably as I have barely read since I had my son! I’ll definitely put it on my list though. Thanks for joining the #weekendblogshare

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 25, 2016 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you. I would suggest these are great books to get back into reading, especially for us bloggers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
