RSS

Book Review: Devils Demise by Lee Cockburn. #Blogival

19 Jun
Book Review: Devils Demise by Lee Cockburn. #Blogival

I am very happy today to bring you a great book recommendation with my review of Devils Demise by Lee Cockburn. If you like the sound of the book, you will be pleased that Author Lee Cockburn has offered a giveaway of one ebook of Devils Demise. So, have a look at my thoughts on this brilliant book, then hop down and enter the giveaway. Good Luck and enjoy #Blogival.

This is my stop and celebration of #Blogival, which has been going on throughout the month of June. There are many other stops and celebrations for #Blogival, you can see the other posts by using the the hashtag #Blogival on Twitter, and by looking at the calender at the end of this post.

Incase you have been sleeping and don’t know what Blogival is, its a book online festival where we are celebrating all the Clink Street Authors. So far its been amazing, and there is still over a week to go. 

Blogival Poster

Description:

A cruel and sinister killer is targeting Edinburgh’s most powerful women, his twisted sense of superiority driving him to satisfy his depraved sexual appetite. He revels in the pain and suffering he inflicts on his unsuspecting victims but a twist of fate and an overwhelming will to survive by one victim ruins his plans for a reign of terror. His tormented prey will need all her courage if she is to survive the hunt. 

  • Publisher: Clink Street Publishing (10 Nov. 2014)

devil

 

My Thoughts:

This book was griping from the very first chapter. It was very dark, gritty and in some parts hard to read because it was so violent. But all of this considered, it made me want to finish the book so that I knew the devil would demise! Whether or not he does, you will have to read it and see. 

I was initially attracted to this book because it was based in Edinburgh, from the description it sounded like a thriller I would enjoy. I also liked the cover, which I think represents the book really well. The cover shows what I think is Edinburgh castle and over it the evil eyes which represent the killer in this book. The gritty descriptions of the killer has made me shiver as I looked back at his eyes on the cover. This is the most evil fictionary man I have read about. Lee Cockburn has some imagination to think up such a twisted terrible bad guy. The title is so correct in calling him the Devil!

The book was written in a different way to other thrillers that I have read, as we know exactly who the killer is and his motivations from the start. So, we hear about what the killer is thinking and the victims and the police. It is a cat and mouse chase type book, which continues right the way through to the very end. (Though he is certainly not mouse-like).

The characters are very well developed, even the killer is described in such a way that although you can’t understand why he is so evil, you see why he thinks he is entitled to do what he does. I didn’t read this book at night time, which is when I read most often. The reason for this is that the ‘devil’ was so creepy and scary! This is one example of why I didn’t read this at night.

“..everyone knows someone that is a little different, but that does not make them serial killers who enjoy torture and sexual abuse”

The two cops that are on the hunt are Taylor and Marcus. We hear about their private lives aswell as their intense police work. In with this horrendous serial killer case that they are working on, we are given a few small reprieves from the intensity of the chase, which was welcomed.

“….Hungry?” Tayor smiled….

“Starving!” he repied, “I don’t know why I ever ask you. You’re a gannet.” 

As I mentioned I liked that the book was based in Edinburgh. This is increased as I was reading, because occasionally there is Scottish colloquial words used in the writing. A very nice touch to make the Scottish fictional police force authentic.

“…she was a real salt of the earth and loved a blether”

I am going to give this book 5 stars because it was well thought out, it was so intense that I wanted to read it faster and faster to see if the victim was ok, if John would be caught, and to see how things worked out for Taylor. (the police woman who was leading the case). If you don’t mind some violence and very descriptive words within a book, then this is a brilliant read. If you are of a weak stomach and easily freaked out, its maybe not the book for you. I however, loved it.

 

line

 

Remember to check out the rest of the blog posts during Blogival, you can see what has been going on in the poster below. And big thanks to Rachel for organising it all. 

 

Blogival Calendar

 

And now for the GIVEAWAY. Don’t you think the book sounds so gripping, I really loved it. If you like the sound of it, enter this rafflecopter giveaway, by clicking on the link and entering your details. One winner will be picked randomly. It is an international giveaway, so get entering. Thank you and good luck.

giveaway-badge

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Links:

GOODREADS

AMAZON.COM

AMAZON.CO.UK

 

 

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2016 in Books, Giveaways

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Book Review: Devils Demise by Lee Cockburn. #Blogival

  1. Veronica Lee

    June 19, 2016 at 11:29 am

    Gripping and dark – sounds like my kind of book! Will check it out. Great review, BTW!

    #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 19, 2016 at 12:11 pm

      Thank you, sometimes being a bookblogger I get a completely different kind of book than I would usually pick up. I hope you enjoy it if you read it.

       
  2. beccaweatherall

    June 19, 2016 at 11:40 am

    Sounds like a great read but not sure I am brave enough!! I’d never heard of Blogival so thank you for bringing it to my attention too! #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 19, 2016 at 12:10 pm

      It is one of the more violent books that I have read. But variety is the spice of life, they say. Thanks for visiting.

       
  3. Donna

    June 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    This sounds so dark! I love it! But I’ve got a weak stomach so I am not sure to be brave enough for the ride! Loved your review, it convinced me to try and find the courage to get it! 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm

      The darkness made it more of a page turner to hope that he gets his come uppance. Thanks for the compliments. 😉

       
  4. Suburban Mum

    June 21, 2016 at 8:20 am

    Oo this sounds like a good book – you’re right about the cover it looks pretty scary and dark!

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again next week x

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 21, 2016 at 8:26 pm

      Thank you, it was even scarier than I was expecting. But really good. I will be back for more #kcacols, great linky.

       
  5. damppebbles

    June 21, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    Great review, you can really feel your enthusiasm for Devil’s Demise. I think you got more from this book than I did, but if we all felt the same life would be pretty dull 😊.

     
  6. Over Heaven's Hill

    June 24, 2016 at 9:51 pm

    Oh now this most definitely sounds like my cup of tea! Will definitely be getting this one #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 25, 2016 at 8:22 am

      I like the enthusiasm. I hope you entered the giveaway. 🙂

       
  7. hospitalprincess

    June 25, 2016 at 12:56 pm

    Thanks for the review. It definitely sounds interesting. #weeekendblogshare

     
  8. Alexis

    June 25, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    I like the idea of reading a book set in Edinburgh, though serial killer novels aren’t usually my cup of tea. Visiting from #weekendblogshare

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 25, 2016 at 7:01 pm

      That was definitely part of the appeal for me – Edinburgh….and the killer. 🙂

       
  9. Emilie Curry

    June 27, 2016 at 8:41 pm

    I love dark books so will definitely have to check this one out! #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 28, 2016 at 3:21 pm

      If you like dark books, this will be perfect for you. It is the darkest book I’ve ever read.

       
  10. Florence

    June 29, 2016 at 8:57 pm

    I am not sure if this is my type of book but as you have given it 5 * I definitely may give it a read. All your previous 5* have been brilliant. Have just finished read Death by Dangerous author Olly Jarvis and must be one of the very best books I have read – thanks for the review …

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 30, 2016 at 8:59 am

      Wow, that is high raise for Olly Jarvis, though I have to agree with you. Death by Dangerous is brilliant. This book is quite different to that one, as this is very dark. But as a bookblogger, I am ope to all genres of books. You never know when you are going to get a really good surprise. Thanks for your continued support on ChocolatePages. xx

       

Leave a Reply

 
