RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside USA #TTT

19 Jul
Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside USA #TTT

TOP TEN TUESDAY.

TPTEN

This weekly feature is hosted and originated from Broke and Bookish. I don’t usually participate, but as I have a little more time this month, I decided to write a post for this week. If you visit Broke and Bookish, you will see all the other topics for Top Ten Tuesdays. Today’s topic is……

Books Set Outside of America.

So, Books Set Outside USA. It is true, a lot of books are based in America, so this will be an interesting topic to find some books based in other countries. I look forward to getting some good recommendations from other bookbloggers on this topic. Please link your posts in the comments, so I can read yours too.  ♥

I have read all of the books I am recommending, and you can read my reviews from the links below.

I will begin with a few based in my own country – U.K.

England

1. Death by Dangerous.

DEATH BY DANGER

This is one of my favourite books EVER! It is so gripping and page turning. It is a crime thriller based in England, which made it even better for me, because the legal system is the same in the book as where I live. (Not the case in American books). MY REVIEW!

2. A Strangers House

strangers house

This book is set in Cambridge. Its a tale of suspense, a little romance and a certain way to make you wary if you have ever decided to try house sitting! MY REVIEW!

Wales

3. A Death in the Valley

a death in the valley

Wales is where I grew up,so I was excited to read this book. It is a book of twists, turns and mystery. I loved it, and you can see why here with MY REVIEW.

 

Scotland

4. The Sheep, The Haggis, The Sister in Law and The Drunken Trip to Glasgow.

HAGGIS

Ok, so I was drawn to this one because of the weird title, but also because it was based in Scotland (where I live now). It is a short story and every part of the title has an inclusion in the book. It is a really strange read, but one I did enjoy. See why here in MY REVIEW.

One for the Caribbean (And a bit in the U.K).

5. Coffee tea the Caribbean and Me.

coffe tea carib

Caroline James is one of my favourite Authors. This book has a prequel ‘Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me’. However, ‘Caribbean and Me’ can be read as a stand alone or after the first one. The scenes in the Caribbean are so idyllic and made me want to go on holiday the whole time I was reading it. Caroline starts this book with the strap line:

“The Time to be Happy is Now”

 I loved it, you can see why in MY REVIEW.

 

Japan.

Japan Guide…less, Emails from Japan by Nicole D’Arcangelo

japan gr

This book is based on the Author’s travels in Japan while she was teaching there. It is written in a series of emails and journal entries, which I liked as you could read short bits at a time or longer if you had more time. I loved hearing about the different ways of life, the food, the habits, what they consider to be polite….and rude. It is a really interesting book. You can read MY REVIEW here.

 

Canada.

7. Anne of Green Gables.

DSCF3155

This is my favourite book ever, and surprisingly, I have no review for it! I do have an Anne of Green Gable Christmas haul, which you can see HERE.    Anne Shirley is an orphan girl, adopted by a brother and sister who live in Avonlea in Canada. Anne is so optimistic, inspiring and funny. This is a book I recommend to everyone.

 

Australia.

8. Her Australian Summer

aust summer

 This is a cute little novella based in Australia. It is a lovely summer read, short, sweet and enjoyable. You can read MY REVIEW

General Travel Around the World.

9. Blue Sun Yellow Sky – based on travel

 

blue sun

 I found this book to be truly inspirational. The main character Aubrey is going blind, but decides to travel the world in the 6 weeks while she still has some sight. We read about her travels in China, India, Rome, Paris amongst many other places. One of my favourite quotes is:

“Just because you can’t see the stage, doesn’t mean you can’t dance on it!”

This book has a safe place in my heart as it is brilliantly written, allows the reader to see the world through Aubrey’s eyes and imagination, and is inspiring. Here is MY REVIEW.

Italy

10. The Sunshine and Biscotti Club

sunshine biscotti

 

This is a perfect summer read, where a group of friends are in Italy for the summer to revamp a Baking School Hotel. The book includes all things I love; friends, food and the sunshine. You can read MY REVIEW here.

swirl

So, there are my ten recommendations for books set outside of the USA. I hope you like the sound of them. If you have any good recommendations of books set outside America, or if you participated in this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, then let me know in the comments below.

 

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
 
32 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

32 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Set Outside USA #TTT

  1. Julie S.

    July 19, 2016 at 12:28 pm

    Great list. I’m not familiar with any of these but Outlander is one of my faves set outside the US.
    #KCACOLS

     
  2. Clare Chase

    July 19, 2016 at 3:19 pm

    I’m absolutely thrilled to be on your list, Amanda! Thank you so much! 🙂

     
  3. Joanne Mallon (@joannemallon)

    July 19, 2016 at 4:10 pm

    Great list! One book you might like is The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society which (I think) is written by an American but set in the Channel Islands between England and France. Strange name but a terrific read. #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 19, 2016 at 9:09 pm

      Thank you for the recommendation. I like the sound of the title already. I will look it up.

       
  4. Random Reads

    July 19, 2016 at 5:41 pm

    Great list! I love Anne of Green Gables 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 19, 2016 at 9:09 pm

      Me too, my favourite ever character.

       
      • Random Reads

        July 19, 2016 at 9:16 pm

        Anne is a great character! Have you read any other books in the series?

         
      • chocolatepages

        July 19, 2016 at 9:24 pm

        Yes, and I was pleasantly surprised a few years ago to see the film of when Gilbert goes to War. I didn’t know that they went that far in the series.

         
      • Random Reads

        July 19, 2016 at 10:37 pm

        Don’t spoil it! I’m only on the 4th book. I’ll have to check out the movies sometime.

         
      • chocolatepages

        July 20, 2016 at 11:15 am

        Oops sorry. Enjoy the rest of them, I’m sure you will.

         
      • Random Reads

        July 20, 2016 at 6:15 pm

        No problem 🙂 Thanks, I’m sure they’ll be great!

         
  5. bluecloverdust

    July 20, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    I haven’t read most of these! Some sound really good!

     
  6. Suburban Mum

    July 21, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    I’m only familiar with Anne of Green Gables – clearly I don’t read enough! lol #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 21, 2016 at 5:42 pm

      I guess being a bookblogger, I read a lot more than the non bookblogger types! There are so many great books out there though. 😉

       
  7. Over Heaven's Hill

    July 21, 2016 at 2:12 pm

    Oh Anne of Green Gables what a classic! Some great titles on this list. #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 21, 2016 at 5:43 pm

      Thank you, my favourite of them all is Anne. 😉

       
  8. irena_bookdustmagic

    July 21, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    Ohh, I still have to read Anne of Green Gables and I know you love that one!

     
  9. Madeline Littlejohns

    July 21, 2016 at 6:24 pm

    I actually haven’t read any of these, so thanks for some great recommendations! x #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 22, 2016 at 11:30 am

      I hope you find something that you like. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  10. Emma

    July 21, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    I love books set outside of the UK and USA – I used to read a lot about Africa and Japan – this was kinda inspired by my travels in Japan 🙂 #KCACOLS

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 22, 2016 at 11:31 am

      I haven’t read any books, (I don’t think) based in Africa, but the book on Japan was really good. It must have been brilliant to travel there.

       
  11. Bread

    July 22, 2016 at 8:52 pm

    Is this a thing? Where people assume all books are set in America…#kcacols

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 22, 2016 at 9:57 pm

      No, the Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme from another blogger. They choose different topics every week. There are a huge load of books based in USA though, so the blogger thought this would be interesting to see a lot of books based else where.

       
  12. Suze

    July 23, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Great list, I’m going to add all the books I haven’t read yet to my wish list!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 23, 2016 at 1:45 pm

      Thank you, I imagine your wish list is pretty long. x

       
  13. D. Parker

    July 23, 2016 at 6:18 pm

    Some books I’ve read and some books I now want to read! 🙂
    I always like that saying, ‘I was born with a reading list I’ll never finish…but I’m sure going to try! Thanks for helping me add to it.
    Dropped over from Hannah’s delightful #WeekendBlogShare but I always enjoy being here. 🙂
    From one chocolate lover to another, hope this weekend treats you kindly. 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 24, 2016 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you, I like that saying too. My list is ever growing, but there are just so many great books to read.

       
  14. Sarah Jean

    July 23, 2016 at 7:59 pm

    I was just thinking I needed some new book suggestions for the rest of the summer!

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 24, 2016 at 1:35 pm

      I hope you find something that you like. There are so many great books to read, its just a case (for me at least) of which one to start next.

       
  15. Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck

    July 27, 2016 at 9:16 pm

    I am intrigued by ‘The Haggis, The Sheep…’! One of the best things about Top Ten Tuesday is discovering books I would never hear about otherwise.

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 27, 2016 at 9:34 pm

      I intrigued by the title too. It is one of the strangest books I’ve read.

       

Leave a Reply

 
