RSS

Book Review: Chances, by Jaime Scarfuto.

20 Nov
Book Review: Chances, by Jaime Scarfuto.

This book was given to me to read and review. I read it and had to have a good think before I wrote this review. This is not the kind of review I usually write, but it is written and I hope I have written it fairly and clearly. I would be interested, as always if anyone else has read this book and what their thoughts are on it. 

line

Description:

In high school, I thought I’d end up with James. In college, I thought I’d end up with Alex. As the years went on being with Alex wasn’t what I wanted anymore. I wasn’t being loved and cared for, I was being neglected and forgotten. After the final straw I had enough and started my life over. Being alone for the first time in almost six years. Little did I know, my high school reunion was right around the corner and maybe a second chance to be with James too. But was that what i wanted? Who doesn’t want to end up with their high school sweetheart? or is there someone else out there for me?

chances

Published March 13th 2016 by Jaime Scarfuto

 

My Thoughts:

This was a very  easy reading book. It follows the main character Jeanie as she decides she no longer wants to be with live in boyfriend Alex, so breaks up with him. Soon after she finds out its her ten year school reunion and we learn about her past ‘relationship’ with James.

This was not a favourite read of mine, and the reason for that is I found it very hard to relate to the main character. She seemed to me to be so self absorbed and extremely naive. When reading books, even books with bad guys, killers etc, I always feel I can understand why they do things a bit. I feel that takes a talented Author who knows people. 

I found Jeanie to be annoying and a bit selfish. Although this spoiled it for me, as credit to the Author, she did make me feel this.

At many points, I was tempted to not finish this book, but I did as I wanted to see what happened, if Jeanie got less self absorbed and to see what happens to her and her friend.

Although, I didn’t much enjoy this book, it is easy reading and if you like books about friendships, relationships and taking ‘Chances’, then you might enjoy this book. 

 

Links:

GOODREADS

AMAZON.CO.UK

AMAZON.COM

Twitter/Jaime_Scarfuto

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Book Review: Chances, by Jaime Scarfuto.

  1. Rubyh28

    November 20, 2016 at 6:51 pm

    I would really love to read this book

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 20, 2016 at 7:17 pm

      I’m glad you like the sound of it. It wasn’t one of my favourites, but I know everyone likes different things in books.

       
      • Rubyh28

        November 20, 2016 at 7:28 pm

        Have you read Wonder is it good?

         
      • chocolatepages

        November 20, 2016 at 7:58 pm

        Do you mean, have I read a book called “Wonder’? No I haven’t.

         
      • Rubyh28

        November 21, 2016 at 7:56 am

        Oh right it is supposed to be good

         
      • Rubyh28

        November 22, 2016 at 5:32 pm

        I have followed your blog can you maybe follow mine?

         
  2. florence

    November 20, 2016 at 9:16 pm

    Chances sounds like a very easy reading book, maybe a summer lounging or beach read possibly a bit light to the books I would normally read but an interesting review.

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 21, 2016 at 1:30 pm

      Thank you, its always more difficult to write a fair review of a book that didn’t wow me.

       
  3. Rubyh28

    November 21, 2016 at 7:55 am

    great review

     
  4. irena_bookdustmagic

    November 22, 2016 at 6:02 pm

    Honestly, this book sounds like it could be triggering and therefore end up on my favorite shelf, or it could be a book I didn’t enjoy at all.
    Anyway, I think you did a decent job reviewing it.
    I love seeing when bloggers write “negative” reviews (ohh, how harsh that sounds!) because that show they are honest. I really don’t take for serious bloggers who rate books only with 4 or 5 stars.
    Okay, I know you don’t usually rate, but you write honestly, and that is what matters.

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 23, 2016 at 5:50 pm

      Thank you. I find it more difficult to write these kinds of reviews, and am always disappointed when I don’t love a book. Its feels like a waste of reading time.

       
      • irena_bookdustmagic

        November 23, 2016 at 9:38 pm

        yes, I know! Especially if you’re reading review copy, and then if you requested it yourself….
        It’s hard bc you want to be honest but respectful, and you don’t want to make a writer or publisher angry, and it’s just harder….

         
      • chocolatepages

        November 23, 2016 at 9:49 pm

        It is a review copy but not a requested one. If it was requested that would be even more awkward. But you are right, we need to be honest but tactful. I’m glad you thought that I wrote this in an honest and respectful way.

         

Leave a Reply

 
