RSS

My Top Books of 2016.

08 Jan
My Top Books of 2016.

top-ten-2016

This is a post I have been thinking about for a few weeks. I have read a lot of good books over the past year, and to list my top ten is a good reminder to me how much I enjoyed them. It is also a nice way to thank the Authors for their talent. 

I met my Goodreads challenge of reading 40 books this year. I know this is not a huge amount compared to other bookbloggers, but its good for me. I prefer to read my books slower and more thoroughly so I really enjoy them and soak up the story that it is telling me. 

These books are in no particular order, but all are 5 stars worth brilliant. I have linked my review to each one, incase you want to read my thoughts on them. The links for each book will be in the review post.

five pink stars

TOP TEN BOOKS OF 2016 BY CHOCOLATEPAGES.

hi-res-jacket

Cut Throat Defence by Olly Jarvis. A brilliant gripping crime thriller based in the UK. Olly Jarvis is my favourite legal thriller Author as his knowledge flows brilliantly into his fictional characters drawing me right into the gritty underground and clever legal cases. You can read my review and more about it HERE!

five pink stars

out of darkness

Out of the Darkness by Katy Hogan, was a wonderful uplifting spiritual story. This book has stayed with me and brings hope and appreciation to its readers.  I always think of this book as I go on my walks and pass the boats. You can read more about my thoughts HERE!

five pink stars

sw19 club

The SW19 Club by Nicola May. I only discovered this Author this year and have been missing out. I have read 3 of her books, but The SW19 Club was my favourite as it was therapeutic, brilliant and made me laugh and cry. You can read more about it HERE!

five pink stars

strangers house

A Stranger’s House by Clare Chase. This was a twisty turny suspence which is just the kind of book I love. Clare Chase is a wonder at writing these kinds of novels. I have her next one on my kindle ready to go. You can read more about A Stranger’s House and my thoughts HERE!

five pink stars

coffe tea carib

Coffee, Tea, The Caribbean and Me by Caroline James. I have read all of the Coffee, Tea books that Caroline has written and I just love her main characters Jo and Hattie. The tales are heartwarming while making me laugh, feel hungry for the delicious cakes they eat and go into a whole bookish world of Caroline’s imagination. You can read more about my thoughts HERE! 

five pink stars

novelista girl

Novelista Girl by Meredith Schorr. In my review of this book, I gave the Author the huge compliment of saying that I loved the main character Kim Long as much as I love Sophie Kinsella’s Becky Brandon. This book was pure chick lit at its very best. It was perfect! You can read more about my thoughts HERE!

five pink stars

daisy

Daisy In Chains by Sharon Bolton was a brilliant book with a really interesting storyline. It spoke of prison wives and fan clubs of convicted murderers. The end was so fantastic and so much of a twist, I loved it. You can read more about my thoughts HERE!

five pink stars

Boyfriend By Book Repaired Master Font II

Boyfriend by the Book by Laura Briggs. This was an indulgent chick lit easy read. It was frivolous and complete fun. Perfect for cosy days where you want to go to a bookish world of imagination. You can read more about my thoughts HERE!

five pink stars

death

 

The Death of Anyone by DJ Swykert. This was another gripping crime thriller and it had the unique points within the tale about ethics of using familial DNA as evidence. Really interesting while being a fantastic crime thriller. You can read more about my thoughts HERE! 

five pink stars

before-gg

 

Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson. This was a wonderful surprise of a book, as I didn’t know there was an Anne Shirley book that I hadn’t read, then I got this! It is a really nice prequel where we can see how Anne got to Green Gables. Although it is by a different Author to the original Green Gables books, it was written with a real insight into the original books by LM Montgomery to celebrate 100 years of Green Gables. You can read more about my thoughts HERE!

AMAZING

So, there are my Top Ten Books of 2016. I hope that 2017 will be full of plenty more, I’m quite sure it will be as I already have a full ‘to be read’ pile. 

Have you read any of these? What were your best reads of the year, link your posts here and I will take a look at yours too. 

Until next time, Happy Reading! 

 
25 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “My Top Books of 2016.

  1. Suze

    January 8, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    I looks like you had an amazing book year. Reading should be fun and numbers don’t matter, it’s about the love right? I hope you’ll find many great books this year again as well.

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2017 at 7:18 pm

      Exactly right Suze, that is why I don’t rush my reads. I wouldn’t enjoy them so much if I did. Thank you.

       
  2. Clare Chase

    January 8, 2017 at 4:04 pm

    Absolutely thrilled to feature on your top ten list, Amanda. Thank you so much for your support, and I do hope you enjoy One Dark Lie! 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2017 at 7:17 pm

      Thank you Clare, I think I will always be a fan of your books.

       
  3. annabelle20

    January 8, 2017 at 4:11 pm

    Was this from last year

    Sent from my iPod

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2017 at 7:16 pm

      I wrote it about all the books that I read in 2016, but the actual post is new. Published today.

       
  4. CPhilippou123

    January 8, 2017 at 4:48 pm

    Great list – A Stranger’s House was in my top reads of the year too and Out of the Darkness was a wonderful read. Adding to my TBR…

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2017 at 7:15 pm

      I always find that I add to my tbr after reading other people’s lists too. Thank you.

       
  5. Random Reads

    January 8, 2017 at 9:17 pm

    I love all the book covers! I had no idea there was a “prequel” to Anne of Green Gables! Maybe I’ll check it out 😀

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2017 at 11:36 pm

      It was a lovely surprise for me too, apparently it’s been out for years! I just didn’t know. It was excellent.

       
      • Random Reads

        January 9, 2017 at 12:10 am

        Wow! That’s crazy. I read Anne of Green Gables last year so it’s still fairly new for me. I’ll have to check out the prequel 🙂

         
  6. CJ Brun

    January 9, 2017 at 8:49 am

    I’m including all of these books you’ve listed for my 2017 bucketlist. Thanks for these wonderful suggestions!

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 9, 2017 at 12:25 pm

      Wow all of them! That’s great, I hope you have a fab year of books. Thank you.

       
  7. Donna

    January 9, 2017 at 4:22 pm

    I like that you don’t pressure yourself with an important Goodreads goal 🙂 I do the same thing. I want to enjoy every book without thinking about numbers. Quality over quantity, right?
    Your review convinced me to buy Cut Throat Defense and I’m looking forward to reading. Boyfriend By The Book was indeed a refreshing and nice read, I really liked the idea of channeling the romance heroines to find the one 🙂 Great picks

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 9, 2017 at 9:42 pm

      Definitely quality over quantity, you’re right there Donna. Both books you mention are brilliant though very different. Hope you enjoy and I look forward to your review of Cut Throat Defence.

       
  8. meredithgschorr

    January 10, 2017 at 3:06 pm

    I’m so thrilled you included Novelista Girl in this book. Thank you so very much! I started a third book in the series last week – I hope you’ll enjoy it as much 🙂 Happy New Year! Going to check out the rest of these books now!

     
    • meredithgschorr

      January 10, 2017 at 3:06 pm

      I meant in this “list” – a bit excited, I guess…:)

       
    • chocolatepages

      January 10, 2017 at 5:59 pm

      Oh wow, that is great news to hear. I thought it was the end for Kim Long, I can’t wait to hear what she gets up to next. 🙂

       
  9. carolinejamesauthor

    January 10, 2017 at 3:17 pm

    Beyond thrilled that Coffee Tea The Caribbean & Me is included in your top reads for 2016 xx Thanks for being such a brilliant book blogger and supporter, it means a great deal. Caroline xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 10, 2017 at 5:57 pm

      Thank you also for your support with my blog, I love your compliments, they always put a smile on my face. xx

       
  10. Yvo

    January 16, 2017 at 5:49 pm

    Great list! I now need to get a copy of Daisy In Chains ASAP; it just sounds too good! 😀

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 16, 2017 at 5:51 pm

      It is excellent. The author is publishing a new book in april Ithink, so I’m looking forward to that whatever its about! 😊📖

       
  11. irena_bookdustmagic

    January 25, 2017 at 6:41 pm

    I thought The SW19 Club looked unfamiliar, like, I wondered if I missed it somehow. Has really appealing cover!
    I see you had a pretty interesting reading year! I really enjoyed reading your reviews in 2016 so I hope 2017 will be an amazing reading year for you! 😉

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 25, 2017 at 7:06 pm

      Thank you, my reading was quite varied last year. I think it will be the same this year too. There were 2 books on that list that I didn’t review on the blog, The SW19 Club and Before Green Gables. I just gave these a very small review on Goodreads. Both were excellent, how nice that you noticed I didn’t review them. Thank you. xx

       

Leave a Reply

 
