RSS

Book Review: Kim vs the Mean Girl, by Meredith Schorr. (Stand alone YA, prequel to Blogger Girl).

28 May
Book Review: Kim vs the Mean Girl, by Meredith Schorr. (Stand alone YA, prequel to Blogger Girl).

You know that feeling when you are super excited that a book has a sequel coming out, and you are hoping with everything crossed, that it will be as good as the first. Well, that happened after I read ‘Blogger Girl’, by Meredith Schorr. I read ‘Novelista Girl’, and ….. for the first time EVER! loved the sequel more than the first book. I did a little squeal when I heard that Meredith had written a prequel! This meant, more Kim Long, more great friendship chat with bestie Bridget, and typically more Mean Girl Hannah. My excitement was worthy of ‘Kim vs The Mean Girl’. It is typically Meredith Schorr brilliance. I loved it and read page after page finishing it in record time. 

In case you missed it, here is my review of Blogger Girl

And here is my review of  Novelista Girl

And to follow are my garbled thoughts of why I enjoyed ‘Kim vs The Mean Girl’ so much. 

tv in your head

Description:

High school sophomore, Kim Long, is no stranger to the “mean girl” antics of Queen Bee Hannah Marshak. When Hannah steals Kim’s diary and in front of the entire class reads personal (not to mention humiliating) entries Kim wrote about her crush, Jonathan, Kim vows to enact revenge.

Kim and her loyal best friend, Bridget, come up with the perfect plan to put the evil Hannah in her place once and for all. But will their scheming have the desired effect of getting even, or will Hannah emerge more celebrated by her peers than ever?

Kim vs. The Mean Girl can be read as a young adult standalone novel, but it is also a prequel to the popular Blogger Girl adult romantic comedy series and is set in 2000. Told in the duo perspectives of teenage Kim and Hannah, fans of the series will get an inside look into Kim’s early passion for reading, writing (and Jonathan) and find out why Hannah is so darn mean.

“In Blogger Girl we meet the irrepressible Kim Long and her nemesis Hannah Marshak. Kim Vs. the Mean Girl takes us back to high school with Kim and Hannah 101 in this delightful prequel. I gobbled it up in one byte…er, I mean bite (this is the era before a cell phone was in every backpack). When Kim declares war on Hannah, it takes some unexpected, and at times amusing, turns, and though the enemies don’t emerge as friends, or even frenemies, they each come away the better for it. A fun read for all ages.” Eileen Goudge, New York Times best-selling author

 

kimPublished April 20th 2017 by Meredith Schorr

 

My Thoughts:

Kim and Bridget made Blogger Girl and Novelista Girl for me, their friendship is amazing and makes for great reading, so I was intrigued to find out about them while they were in high school. Saying that, this book can definitely be read as a stand alone. But I think if you haven’t read the other 2, reading this will make you want to read them for sure! And personally I liked that I had read the adult version of them first. Its a very clever idea of the Author to write the character backwards. (Adults first, then teenagers). For many there would be too many ways to slip up, but Meredith managed this perfectly, allowing us to see how they became the adults that they did. 

The story is very ‘young adult’ and high school orientated. It would make a great film. ( Think Mean Girls, but better). 😆 

We get a good impression of how Kim and Hannah were brought up and this gives us a good insight of why they are as they are in Blogger Girl.  I loved the plans that the girls come up with, and how we feel their high school emotions, self awareness and teenage angst. I also thought it was brilliant how we see Kim’s love for reading (and writing) while she is still in school. Mean Girl Hannah gives Kim a ‘mean compliment’ where she says:

“Kim Long without a book to read is like a dog without its chew”.

There is the usual teenage crush talk between the friends. And we even get a very surprise peek at Nicholas. ( from Blogger Girl).  The Author has really got into the heads of these characters. I read an interview with Meredith where she said the girls almost felt like her daughters. So she really does cherish her characters and this shows in the deep care that Meredith gave to ensure that the characteristics given can be seen in their high school time and then how this has influenced them in their adulthood. 

The Author has not only given great thought to the plot and the characters, but she also made the timeline exactly right as there are mentions of Brad and Jennifer! And Kim speaks of reading ‘The Perks of Being A Wallflower’. Meredith has thought of everything.

This was a lovely, easy read. For me, the main reason I enjoyed it was because it was a prequel to two books that I loved so much, and I had already fallen hook, line and sinker for Kim and Bridget. I think this book would appeal to teenagers, adults who like YA and everyone who loved Blogger Girl. 

Meredith is a hugely talented writer, and I am eagerly awaiting her next book. 😍

 

Links:

Goodreads.

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Twitter/@MeredithSchorr

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Book Review: Kim vs the Mean Girl, by Meredith Schorr. (Stand alone YA, prequel to Blogger Girl).

  1. meredithgschorr

    May 21, 2017 at 3:44 pm

    Thank you so much for the great review. It really made my day!

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 21, 2017 at 7:06 pm

      I’m glad. I like to share your talents with other book lovers. 😉📚📖

       
  2. Donna | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    May 28, 2017 at 5:16 pm

    Wow I’m impressed by the way the author seems to have masterfully handled a book, then a sequel, and a prequel, without any disappointment! It is uncommon enough to be shouted from rooftops! I love books about friendships, whether they picture a high school things I never knew or an adult relation that’s a pure goal 🙂 I find those stories to be heart-warming. Fabulous review, I love just how you conveyed there is no room for anything else but good stories in this series of books!

     

Leave a Reply

 
