RSS

Book Review: Jane of Manchester by J G Dow.

20 Aug
Book Review: Jane of Manchester by J G Dow.

My latest read is Jane of Manchester. When asked by Author J G Dow to read and review, I was intrigued by the blurb and encouraged by the reviews on Goodreads. The cover gives little away, so I went in optimistic. Here is what I thought.

line

Description:

Jane’s life on the face of it isn’t really too bad…she has great friends like party girl Natasha who’s always up for a laugh and her close pal Polly, always there for her and of course her loving parents, but things could still be better… 

Most people she knows are either married or have kids and she has been single a while now and wonders if a good man is ever to be encountered again. The single life is far from a quiet one for Jane however, as she is constantly getting dragged to night clubs and bars by Natasha and the crew as well as enduring a particularly boozy weekend away at the seaside! 

Jane loves a lot about her life, disregarding rude plumbers in her flat and dealing with annoying superiors and a smug sister, but as a certain someone takes her eye, is everything about to change and get a whole lot more serious or is the single life determined to keep her captive a while longer yet.

jane of man

Published January 9th 2017 by Dow Books

My Thoughts:

Jane of Manchester is based, as you may well guess on the main character Jane, who comes from and lives in Manchester. (U.K). The book is totally from Jane’s point of view and totally all about her life, her friends, family and social life. It is simplistic and diary style. There is not an awful lot to the plot, the Author (I think) concentrated on development of character, which was done well as I had a good image of Jane in my head. 

Jane is likeable and I somehow felt addicted to what she would do next in a kind of Big Brother style way. I don’t mean that in a creepy way, but in a reality tv kind of way. Jane is “normal”, has a “normal” life and “normal” relationships. What I did like about her is her love for food, though she has rather a lot of takeaways. 

“…never wanting to turn down the chance of a good meal”.

Jane of Manchester is a very easy read, the kind of book you could whizz through, but not really the kind of book that would keep you thinking. It is very light and breezy.  Perfect for a beach read or, as I did to listen to on audio as I was doing other stuff! 

Links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Book Review: Jane of Manchester by J G Dow.

  1. irena_bookdustmagic

    August 20, 2017 at 11:12 am

    Sounds good to me! I like reality shows and I just love when books have good character development.

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 20, 2017 at 2:58 pm

      Thank you Irena. I love reality shows too, its weird how we can be so enthralled by the ‘normal’ things people do. Thanks for dropping by, good to see you here.

       
  2. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer

    August 20, 2017 at 3:46 pm

    I quite like reading books that have a diary style and shares not only actions but many (inner) thoughts too. Sounds like a fun novel!

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 21, 2017 at 5:34 pm

      Thank you. It is a fun book to read, I felt like I understood Jane and her thoughts.

       
  3. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    August 21, 2017 at 9:28 am

    Great review, my dear Amanda! I like the diary style with light books 🙂 It reminds me of my teen years when I was reading the Princess Diary series! I kinda like the reality tv kind of way, I am nosy haha!

     
    • chocolatepages

      August 21, 2017 at 5:32 pm

      I think that is why I enjoyed it too, I was nosy to Jane’s life. I haven’t read The Princess Diaries but love the films. 😊

       

Leave a Reply

 
