RSS

Book Review: Broken Branches, by M Jonathan Lee.

03 Sep
Book Review: Broken Branches, by M Jonathan Lee.

Thank you very much to M Jonathan Lee and Hideaway Fall Publishers for my copy of Broken Branches and the rest of the great bookish goodies that Hideaway Fall very generously sent out to a group of bookbloggers, myself luckily included.

20170902_131517

Jonathan Lee is the first Author to be signed by Hideaway Fall, and I think they have started off on a winner. I have read quite a few book reviews for Broken Branches, and all have been glowing. Some are mentioned in the book trailer too, which you can see below.

I went into Broken Branches with high hopes, but also with not too much information on the plot. You can see what I thought below, and also the links if you fancy the book or reaching out to the Author.

20170902_131404

 

 

Description:

‘Family curses don’t exist. Sure, some families seem to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? An actual curse? I don’t think so.’

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse.

broken branches

July 27th 2017 by Hideaway Fall

My Thoughts: 

The story revolves around the main character Ian, we hear his point of view from when he is a child and in alternating chapters as an adult. Ian learns from a young age that his family are thought to be ‘cursed’. Throughout the book, this ‘curse’ takes a centre stage in Ian’s life, and the big tree in his garden (and on the cover of the book) is a  significant factor in Ian’s unhappiness and state of mind. As I read, I considered (I think as the Author intended) about ‘curses’. Is it supernatural? is there a psychological element? Is it family induced? 

The cover of this book becomes creepier as you read more of the story. The black, child-like branches and the red door will become more significant the more you read. 

Jonathon M Lee is an Author with a talent for great descriptive writing. His words flowed effortlessly across the pages and gives the reader a great depth of feelings for the simple things he describes. The plot of the story is steady, so the descriptive way the Author writes is a big part of why this book is so good.

“The tree’s branches reminded Ian of a giant claw, and they waved eerily in unison with his mother, swaying backwards and forwards in perfect synchronicity.”

The relationship between Ian and his Wife Rachel is interesting. We hear about how they were as a couple early on in their relationship, and how they are now, through to how they are at the end of the book. It made me reflect on how things happen in life, how they affect people and relationships differently. Neither is right or wrong, just different. 

I had no idea how the ending would be until a few pages before when it came with a punch. Then it made me think back over what I had already read and consider it all again. I love it when a book does that. 

I highly recommend this book, and look forward to the next that I hope M Jonathan Lee will write and Hideaway Fall will publish. 

 

truth rokn branches

 

Links:

Twitter/@MJonathanLee

Twitter/@HideawayFall

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Book Review: Broken Branches, by M Jonathan Lee.

  1. noveldeelights

    September 3, 2017 at 12:21 pm

    This one took me by surprise. I honestly didn’t think I would like it.

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 3, 2017 at 1:05 pm

      It did me too. I took a while to get round to reading it, as the blurb is quite non descript. But as most of the reviews were great, I went in. I’m glad I did as I enjoyed it. Thank you.

       
  2. LizScanlon

    September 4, 2017 at 11:57 am

    That ending will continue to take everyone by surprise I suspect… it was so brilliantly done and such a powerful aspect to the story!

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 4, 2017 at 12:00 pm

      Definitely. It’s nice that so many of us had the chance to read this book. It was lovely to read everyone else’s thoughts on it. Thanks Liz.

       
  3. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    September 9, 2017 at 3:26 pm

    Thanks again for telling me about the mention in the trailer! 🙂
    Fab review! Like you, the book made me ponder about the curse element and how it moved from supernatural to psychological and induced by stories and people. I loved that we were left in that foggy atmosphere. Such a strong book, and a wonderful review! xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 10, 2017 at 1:50 pm

      Thank you Meggy for your compliments. I love that you are mentioned in the trailer. This book has had so many great reviews.

       

Leave a Reply

 
