RSS

Book Review: My Sweet Revenge, by Jane Fallon.

17 Sep
Book Review: My Sweet Revenge, by Jane Fallon.

A great big thank you to Irena (here and here) for very generously sending me this copy of My Sweet Revenge from across the seas. Irena is a good friend, a brilliant blogger and a fellow book lover. So go check out her twitter and blog too. Irena also wrote a review of My Sweet Revenge, which was the cherry on top of me wanting to read this book. You can read Irena’s review here. 

 

sweet revenge

Published January 12th 2017 by Penguin

Description:

I want to make my husband fall back in love with me.

Let me explain. This isn’t an exercise in 1950s wifeydom. I haven’t been reading articles in old women’s magazines. ‘Twenty ways to keep your man’. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

I want him to fall back in love with me so that when I tell him to get the hell out of my life he’ll care. He won’t just think, ‘Oh good’.

I want it to hurt.

Paula has had Robert’s back since they got together as drama students. She gave up her dreams so he could make it. Now he’s one of the nation’s most popular actors. And Paula’s just discovered he’s having an affair.

She’s going to remind Robert just what he’s sacrificing. And then she’s going to break his heart like he broke hers. It will be her greatest acting role ever.

Revenge is sweet. Isn’t it?

cake

 

My Thoughts:

Firstly, isn’t the cover of this book amazing and make you feel like cake every time you look at it?! The main character works in a bakery! Plus there is the play on “sweet revenge” of course! This is the type of book I would read without looking at the blurb. (#CakeLove!). But I did read the blurb, and that made me want to read it even more.

The main character Paula has been married to Robert for many years, but all is not as it seems when she finds out he is having an affair with a co worker. Paula makes a decision that I imagine would make a good book club discussion – she decides not to confront him, but to make him fall back in love with her, and when he does, only then will she tell him she knows and she is leaving! (No spoilers, we know this straight away). The tale continues with the way she inflicts her revenge! These ways are quite ingenious, and with the help of her boss Myra they come up with quite a few funny and empowering ideas. 

We also meet the dastardly mistress! She is as to be expected unlikable! But then so is Robert, the cheating Husband. I guess reader’s opinions will be affected by how they consider cheating on your spouse, I took a dislike to them both straight away. 

I loved reading Paula’s plans and ideas and how she became stronger throughout the book. It is kind of a personal journey for her to better herself, to become the person she wants to be, while reminding Robert what he will loose. It was a good bit of escapism reading, putting myself in someone else’s position, when something horrible happens, but instead of rolling over and falling apart, Paula becomes stronger. I can’t imagine many women I know going this way about when they hear their spouse is cheating with their co worker, watching him go to work and stay back late every day with her!! But it is fiction, and that is the point of letting the fictional characters do, what some of us would imagine doing. The slow cold dish of revenge! I loved it. 

This is the first book I have read by Jane Fallon, but I will be sure to looking out for more of her books. I know she has already written quite a few, so any recommendations on her other brilliant ones would be appreciated. 

Have you read this book? Or any other of Jane’s? Could you hide the facts you had found out of an affair? Or could you plan out a devilish plan of revenge? I’m intrigued to know. This would be a great bookclub book! 

Minions-humor-Quotes

Links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Twitter/JaneFallon

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Book Review: My Sweet Revenge, by Jane Fallon.

  1. Harini@BooksandReaders

    September 17, 2017 at 12:29 pm

    Omg I want to read that so bad ! I do love females with a backbone and this one sounds like it’s got a good h ?

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 17, 2017 at 2:22 pm

      Paula is a very interesting character. The book is really good, so I hope you get to read it too. Thanks for your comments and I hope you have a good day.

       
  2. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    September 20, 2017 at 8:01 am

    I’m so happy you enjoyed this book! Keisha from TheWritingGarnet was adorable and sent me her copy but I still haven’t gotten the chance to read it! Cake and revenge, I can’t think of anything better :p Great review! xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      September 21, 2017 at 9:46 pm

      It took me a while to read it after Irena sent it to me, but it was well worth the wait until I had time to really enjoy it. I will be intrigued to hear your thoughts whenever you get the chance to read it. It is a great discussion book. Would have been really good for a buddy read. Thank you Meggy.

       
  3. irena_bookdustmagic

    October 5, 2017 at 7:47 am

    Hey Amanda, I’m so sorry for not visiting your blog sooner (and not being active on twitter too). I wonder where all the time went, it’s like I was active last week but then today I realized it has been 20 days since I last checked in…
    Anyway, I am glad you enjoyed the book and I do agree with you when saying that that’s what fiction is about – so we can follow fictional characters do what we imagine doing, but often don’t.
    And as we already agreed, this would be a great book club pick.
    I can’t believe this author never got translated into Croatian, even though she’s quite popular in UK, but then again, many popular authors never got their translations…. :/

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 6, 2017 at 5:10 pm

      It is a shame that more English speaking authors don’t get their books translated. But it’s also great that you can read English and croatian language books. ☺
      I have missed your posts and your Twitter chat. I look forward to chatting with you again.
      Thanks again for this book I really enjoyed it. ☺

       

Leave a Reply

 
