RSS

Book Review: Grannie Panties are Under Rated by Gayle Erickson.

21 Oct
Book Review: Grannie Panties are Under Rated by Gayle Erickson.

Grannie Panties are Under Rated! What a brilliant and captivating title for a book. When I received the review request for this one, I was quite intrigued. Thank you to Author Gayle Erickson for my copy of this book, here are my thoughts on it. 

Description:

Elle Martin has it all. Handsome and successful husband. Check. Daughter and son attending exclusive private high school. Check. Privilege, status, and wealth. Check, check, check.

But there is more to Elle’s story. 

Already struggling to keep up appearances in a social set full of pretension and ultra-competitiveness, Elle’s facade of perfection is threatened when her husband makes an announcement that will force her to confront a dark past she has successfully hidden for years. 

What will happen when long-buried secrets are unearthed and haunting new revelations are discovered? Will Elle be able to find the happy ending she so desperately seeks?

Toggling between the early nineties and the present day, Grannie Panties Are Underrated captures the Gen X experience from latchkey kid to helicopter parent with keen insight and precision. A page-turner full of surprising twists, it is a must read for anyone who has struggled to reconcile the chasm between the person they once were, the person they have become, and the person they long to be.

 

 

granniepants

Published June 6th 2017 by Mile High Publishing House

My Thoughts:

It was most definitely the title that drew me to this book, it such a fun name for a book don’t you think? Then the cover, that is pretty spectacular too. It just drew me in.

I was pleasantly surprised when I began reading to see that half of the book is based in Japan. Elle, the main character has led her younger life by taking risks and not taking the best care of her body, her morals and her mind. However, she did have fun! We hear about this part while she is living in Japan. Japan is a country I am very intrigued about and would love to visit one day, so this part was interesting to me because of that, and also because Elle is a brilliant character, and lives her life without second thoughts while she is there. 

The later part of Elle’s life is when she supposed to be living a high society, “good ‘Mom’ and Wife type life” , tennis club and playdates etc! The 2 versions of Elle didn’t really mesh well, which in turn messes with Elle’s head. 

“Are you happy, Mom? Are you living your dream?”

The book was a fun read with a plot that I couldn’t guess where it was going. The underlying theme that I got from it was that Elle was a mixed bag of personalities, and she has to decide who she really is, how her past and present will define her future. The different knickers she wears will play a part too. The Author is really very imaginative in the different ways we see Elle. Gayle Erickson created the perfect way for her readers to really know Elle, sometimes even better than I imagine Elle knew herself. 

Elle speaks a lot about music references, and there is almost a play list that goes along with the book, so that you can relate to Elle’s state of mind at that time. I liked this idea a lot. 

“The song’s lyrics about a devil being on your back and not being able to leave the past behind certainly portended trouble”

The book is about adventure, life, friendship and working out who you want to be regardless of your past or present. The Author reminded me that the future You can be who you want Her to be! Elle went the very adventurous way around finding this out, I really enjoyed following the story that Gayle Erickson weaved for us and for Elle and the other characters in ‘Grannie Panties are Under Rated’.

 

Links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Book Review: Grannie Panties are Under Rated by Gayle Erickson.

  1. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    October 29, 2017 at 7:24 pm

    This title is magical, you can’t not smile when reading it! I’d love to chat about Japan with you if you want! I love that there’s a bit of this in the story, it might help me remember more happy times from my time there! I definitely need to read it! xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 31, 2017 at 6:50 pm

      I can definitely see many many plus’s to visiting the country, although the main characters enjoys herself, she does get in some sticky situations. If / when I visit Japan, you will be the first I speak to about Japanese lifestyle. I hope you remember happy memories from your time there, as I’m sure there were many. This book did make me think of you. And yes the title is amazing! xx

       
  2. mumjd

    October 31, 2017 at 7:41 pm

    The title is so funny. Makes you want to read it. Sounds intriguing from what you have said

     

Leave a Reply

 
