RSS

Book Review: The Couple by Sarah Mitchell. #TheCouple #PsychologicalThriller.

27 Jan
Book Review: The Couple by Sarah Mitchell. #TheCouple #PsychologicalThriller.

Thank you to the wonderful site that is Netgalley, the publishers Bookouture and the very talented Author Sarah Mitchell for my copy of this book.

The strapline of this book captured my interest straight away, “A psychological thriller with a breath taking twist” is just my kind of read.
And when they say “whatever you think you know, you’re wrong”, it just adds to the intrigue.

home badge

Whatever you think you know… you’re wrong.

Following a whirlwind four-month romance, lawyer Claire and hotel entrepreneur Angus are engaged to be married. Happy and successful, and ready to start their new life together, Claire and Angus find what they believe to be the perfect home.

But when Claire meets Mark, the man selling them the house, he looks eerily familiar. He looks exactly like the man she loved five years ago, the man she couldn’t bear to lose.

As Claire finds herself irresistibly drawn to Mark and crosses lines she never thought she’d cross, Angus’ behaviour becomes increasingly suspicious. Soon Claire doesn’t know whether she can trust Mark, Angus… or even herself.

The Couple is a psychological thriller with a stunning twist, perfect for fans of The Girl Before, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

the couple

Published: February 5th 2019 by Bookouture

My Thoughts:

After reading a couple of not so thrilling thrillers, I was looking forward to getting stuck into The Couple.

The Couple is a thrilling book with a twist at the end. Claire and Angus have a whirlwind romance and have just got engaged and bought a gorgeous new house. Straight away we are suspicious around the seemingly lack of “that special something”, you know what you would expect with a newly engaged couple buying a house. But there was an obvious (to me) lack of passion about this couple. It’s not too long until we hear about Claire’s ex, ( the One that got away), Daniel. Enter the next character, Mark who was the previous owner of the house. Mark reminds Claire so much of Daniel, now we can know trouble is brewing.

The characters within this book were not really likeable. In my opinion if an author can give you any feelings about their characters then they are well written. Sometimes, it even makes it a better read if you dislike them. But it’s unusual to find a book with no likeable characters though. There was nobody that I was rooting for. Each character had their own flaws, issues and suspicions.

The author gives us a good insight into Claire’s job as an immigration officer. I do like a book where there is something different in the characters life to learn about. Legal immigration is something I knew little about, so it was good to learn.

I found it difficult to understand a lot of the decisions that Claire made. Perhaps some readers would see this as a negative, but I chose to see it as Claire’s flaws and many of the reasons why I disliked her.

The chapters range from present to 5 years previous where we learn about the ex Daniel. This way of writing made me more intrigued to know what happened in the past.

I would describe The Couple as a domestic thriller where you suspect the 2 men in Claire’s life of something…. and you will be surprised and satisfied with the twist at the end.

The Couple is out on February 5th, see the links below to grab yourself a copy.


Links:

Goodreads.

Twitter/@SarahM_writer

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Advertisements
 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2019 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Book Review: The Couple by Sarah Mitchell. #TheCouple #PsychologicalThriller.

  1. Lindsey

    January 27, 2019 at 2:13 pm

    This sounds like it was a fairly average read then? I’ve been feeling the same as you as thrillers lately – they all seem to follow the same patterns at the moment. Great review!

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 27, 2019 at 3:32 pm

      Thanks Lindsey, it was a good read and better than the last few thrillers that I have read. I’m still waiting on that first 5 star amazing book of the year.

       
  2. Greatness Reinvented

    January 27, 2019 at 5:38 pm

    Great book review. Need a good 5 star page turner though.

    GR | https://www.thegreat.uk

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 30, 2019 at 5:24 pm

      Thank you. For a 5 star page turner, I recommend Olly Jarvis’ books, or Steve Cavanagh. Happy reading.

       
  3. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    January 28, 2019 at 2:49 pm

    Now I’m really curious about that ending twist! I didn’t request this one because of the ‘whirlwind romance’ and now that I know no characters are likeable, I think it was the right choice. I need someone to root for! 🙂 Fab review xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 30, 2019 at 5:23 pm

      Thanks Meggy. It was strange not having anyone to root for, but it was different and a good read.

       
  4. irena_bookdustmagic

    February 3, 2019 at 8:36 am

    Great review, Amanda! This book sounds different from other thrillers, especially if there’s no one to root for.
    I also like it when I learn something new from a book.

     
    • chocolatepages

      February 3, 2019 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Irena. The extra things to learn make whatever the story is about more interesting. I read other people’s reviews after I wrote this, and some rated it quite low. I wonder if its because there was noone to root for?

       

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: