RSS

Book Review: In the Swim of Things, by Tracie Banister.

06 Jul
Book Review: In the Swim of Things, by Tracie Banister.

In the Swim of Things is Tracie Banister’s latest book, published May 2019. I have previously, read, reviewed and thoroughly enjoyed Tracie’s books. Therefore I was very happy when Tracie gifted me an advanced copy of her newest book.

Description:

A sexy, sun-soaked tale about a tail-wearing girl who makes a lot of waves—perfect for fans of Lauren Layne, Meghan Quinn, and Christina Lauren.

Ocean-loving Kyra Goodwin had to give up her dream of becoming the female Jacques Cousteau in order to take care of her father and brother, but being a mermaid at the Cape Cod Aquarium is pretty fintastic as far as alternative careers go.
Of course, life as a half-fish/half-woman isn’t all sunken treasure and Ariel twirls. Kyra has to deal with perpetually pruney fingers, eyes irritated by saltwater, and bratty kids on the daily, plus her glam alter ego can make dating really weird. (So many men have pervy siren-of-the-sea fantasies!) When she meets hunky surfer Cade, and he’s into her without knowing what she does for a living, Kyra thinks she’s finally won the romance lottery.
Unfortunately, Kyra’s plans for a carefree summer of catching waves with her new boyfriend run aground when Sea Star Beach, a place that holds great sentimental value for her, is taken over by a big-city developer who wants to build an exclusive resort. Kyra’s crusade to save her beloved beach threatens both her job and her relationship with Cade as does her growing closeness with her irresistibly broody merwrangler, Declan, whose precocious daughter is intent on playing matchmaker.
When a new family drama arises just as Kyra receives an offer that would turn her greatest desire into reality, she’s torn. Will she do what’s expected of her, or dive in and follow her heart?

45446714

Published May 15th 2019

My Thoughts:

Have you ever dreamed of being a mermaid? Kyra has the dream job, whereby she works as a performing mermaid at a local aquarium. She lives near a beautiful beach which holds dear memories for her. And she meets a hunky surfer dude who finds Kyra irresistible. What could go wrong?????

Well this is chick lit, so plenty……..

Before I tell you my thoughts on the words, lets take a moment to appreciate the a-mer-mazing cover of In The Swim Of Things. Illustrator Lyndsay Lewellen has done a brilliant job of designing and bringing us the perfect cover for this book. You can see from the cover that Kyra is made to be a rather fit mermaid. (It is a costume that she wears, this is not a fantasy book). She is holding a sign to say ‘Save Sea Star Beach’ . What a great name for a beach, it makes me want to save it based just on the name. The beach holds so many memories for Kyra and the many other people who know of and live by the beach. Also, we can see in the book cover, 2 men. So, being chick lit, we know that there will probably be some romance. And there is…..

Kyra is a great character, there may be many women reading this who once dreampt of being a mermaid, Now Kyra’s reality is being a mermaid at the local aquarium. It sounds like a really fun job. Swimming in a tail, doing tricks in a tail and with glamorous make up and costumes on, teaching children to swim in a tail and being asked questions by lots of children, like “have you met Aerial?” , while she sits on her Mermaid throne at Poseidon Palace. You may think the way I have described Kyra so far is that she is breezy, princessy and flakey? No! not at all, she is fun, sexy and feisty. She is fighting for her beach after all. Kyra gets up to lots of mischief, fun and gets herself in a few sticky situations. Not only is she gorgeous, she is clever too, having studied marine science.  When Kyra was asked an awkward question, she replied:

“I’m going to plead the Fifth on that question…”       ( I might need to borrow that response, despite not being American!)

Kyra is a wonderful character that I felt like I knew from the way that Tracie Banister wrote her. I would love to see Kyra portrayed in a movie.

I have spoke a lot of Kyra, so obviously she is the main character that impressed me. There are plenty of great sideline characters too, that the Author wrote well and brought to life through the pages. Tracie Banister describes Sea Star Beach and Cape Cod in a way that brings the place to life in the readers head. This book has humour, romance, atmosphere, and a real sense of ‘going for what you believe is right’. There is also a really funny, cheeky and very messy little bird that features in this book. 

In the Swim of Things is the perfect summer read. Whether you are away on holiday, or just taking an imaginary one from your reading spot, In the Swim of Things will have you chuckling away and rooting for Kyra and Sea Star Beach. You may even start dreaming of being a mermaid again.  

Links:

Amazon.co.uk

Goodreads

Twitter/@traciebanister

traciebanister.blogspot.com

Advertisements
 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2019 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Book Review: In the Swim of Things, by Tracie Banister.

  1. irena_bookdustmagic

    July 7, 2019 at 8:47 pm

    Ohh, I love how Kyra made such a big impression on you. It is so obvious, and I really appreciate when it happens to me. Afrer all, characters are what make the story (and the writing style, of course).
    The book sounds like a perfect, fun summer read and I really enjoyed your review.

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 7, 2019 at 10:19 pm

      Thank you. This was a fun book and I think lots of readers would love this as a summer read. You are right in that characters often really make the books. Kyra is a brilliant character.

       
  2. Meggy | Chocolate'n'Waffles

    July 11, 2019 at 12:34 pm

    I love that Kyra isn’t just a beautiful ‘mermaid’ but a well-crafted character with a lot to offer. Chick lit is more interesting with personalities and fun! It sounds like this one is the must-read near the ocean! Wonderful review, my friend 🙂 xxx

     
    • chocolatepages

      July 13, 2019 at 4:46 pm

      Thanks Meggy. I wish I could have read this book on the beach. However reading on my sofa and bed enabled me to be transported to a fictional beach. ( it was beautiful and so fresh with sea air! 😉).

       

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: