RSS

Tag Archives: festive book

#Festive Book Review: How to Stuff up Christmas, by Rosie Blake.

#Festive Book Review: How to Stuff up Christmas, by Rosie Blake.

So a rather late festive book review, but I enjoyed reading my festive books right the way through the season, so better late than never. 

Thank you to publishers Corvus and Author Rosie Blake for my lovely copy of ‘How to Stuff Up Christmas’ with its beautiful cover all complete with lovely Christmassy sparkles on it.

valentine gif

 

Description:

‘Tis the season to be jolly. Unless you’ve found an intimate picture of another woman on your fiance’s phone…

Eve is heartbroken after discovering her fiance is cheating on her. Being surrounded by the joys of Christmas is more than Eve can bear, so she chooses to avoid the festivities by spending Christmas alone on a houseboat in Pangbourne. Eve gets an unexpected seasonal surprise when handsome local vet Greg comes to her rescue one day, and continues to visit Eve’s boat on a mission to transform her from Kitchen Disaster Zone to Culinary Queen.

But where does Greg keep disappearing to? What does Eve’s best friend Daisy know that she isn’t telling? And why is there an angry goose stalking Eve’s boat?

A hilarious and heart-warming novel about Christmas, catastrophes and cooking, containing exclusive Christmas recipes, from the talented Rosie Blake.

how-to-stuff-up-christmas

Published November 5th 2015 by Corvus

 

My Thoughts:

This is just the kind of festive read that I love. It wasn’t filled with all “the perfect family set up blah blah”, but it was a Christmassy setting with great characters, some delicious and some not quite so successful recipes, plus a nice storyline with humour and fun.

The books starts off with a nice recipe made by Eve’s  friend Daisy to attempt to cheer her up after her boyfriend was caught cheating on her. We follow Eve as she makes alternative arrangements for her festive season. The range of nice festive recipes along the way are lovely, and as Eve is not a great cook, some are amusing and some work out well and sound delicious. Eve’s sister makes an interesting dish called ‘Grandma’s Pink Cheese’. Something I hadn’t heard of but sounds lovely.

There is a nice range of characters in this book, the first that comes to my mind after finishing the book is Marmite the dog! He is a fun lovely character and keeps Eve company, though beware of those geese!! 

Eve’s Dad made me chuckle with his wacky dress sense, but I wasn’t keen on her Mum, always criticising. There is a bit of intrigue as to what her best friend Daisy is hiding, and throughout I was a little dubious of her, you will need to read to see if I was right or not…. 

Overall this was a lovely festive read, with great recipes, interesting developed characters, laughs and a bit of adventure. Plus an amusing end. I definitely recommend it. 

 

Links:

Goodreads.

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Twitter/@RosieBBooks

 

holly-wreath-vector

Advertisements
 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2017 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Book Review: Cora’s Christmas Kiss, Alison May.

Book Review: Cora’s Christmas Kiss, Alison May.

CoraThank you to publishers Choc Lit for sending me this copy. I was very happy to read it and give my honest review.

Description:

Can you expect a perfect Christmas after the year from hell?

Cora and Liam have both experienced horrible years that have led them to the same unlikely place – spending December working in a Grotto at Golding’s department store.

Under the cover of a Father Christmas fat suit and an extremely unflattering reindeer costume, they find comfort in sharing their tales of woe during their bleak staffroom lunch breaks.

But is their new found friendship just for Christmas? Or have they created something deeper, something that could carry them through to a hopeful new year?

My Thoughts:

This is a great festive read, I really really enjoyed it. It was so romantic, almost fairy tale like. But it wasn’t soppy romantic, the story was a page turner, I wanted to read and read this until I finished it and found out about the two main characters.

The two characters Cora and Liam don’t tell each other their real names, they take turns to tell each other their stories from the past year. The description says ‘tales of woe’, but it isn’t depressing, I kept rooting for the two characters, keen to see how each of their years end up.

Although the ending is predictable by the title, exactly where each characters stories go is not predictable, in fact far from it. I was taken by surprise at the turn in events of Cora and Liam’s past year! It was exciting and Christmassy.

My favourite festive read!!!! I loved it and will definitely be reading more of Alison May.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

 

in laws

Description:

A funny, festive short story from bestseller Fiona Gibson. Just the thing to curl up with on a cold winter night.

Christmas in the country. What could be better? All you need is one country house, one gorgeous boyfriend and a liberal dusting of snow. Right?

That’s what Anna thinks and she can’t wait for the festivities to start. But then she meets her gorgeous boyfriend’s awful parents. And their drunk friends. And she starts to hear all about a certain ex-wife. Suddenly this doesn’t look like a very merry Christmas after all…

Christmas doesn’t always go to plan, and Fiona tells it like it is. The perfect festive read for fans of ‘Outnumbered’ and Fern Britton.

My Thoughts:

I thought this was a good festive book that was easy to read with the main character Anna being very likeable and understandable.

The book sets Christmas in a snowy country home with all the things that would traditionally thought to make Christmas fantastic, good food, lovely home, family and friends. However, the book is titled about Christmas being wrecked! So, the story really has a moral about remembering what is really important at Christmas time.There are a few interesting characters. Anna’s boyfriend Ben, and his daughter Daisy. We also hear about Ben’s ex and obviously his parents!

Although this was a short story, there was definitely room to make it longer, there were characters that were barely mentioned, but could have been. The ending could lead onto another book?? Although we weren’t left hanging.

I have to say, this was the first book that I read of this author and I like her writing style. I would definitely pick up another of her books.

This book was free from Amazon when I got it, it is now on sale at Amazon for 49p. Great for a short festive read.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,