RSS

Tag Archives: how the in laws wrecked christmas

Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

Book Review: How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas, by Fiona Gibson.

 

in laws

Description:

A funny, festive short story from bestseller Fiona Gibson. Just the thing to curl up with on a cold winter night.

Christmas in the country. What could be better? All you need is one country house, one gorgeous boyfriend and a liberal dusting of snow. Right?

That’s what Anna thinks and she can’t wait for the festivities to start. But then she meets her gorgeous boyfriend’s awful parents. And their drunk friends. And she starts to hear all about a certain ex-wife. Suddenly this doesn’t look like a very merry Christmas after all…

Christmas doesn’t always go to plan, and Fiona tells it like it is. The perfect festive read for fans of ‘Outnumbered’ and Fern Britton.

My Thoughts:

I thought this was a good festive book that was easy to read with the main character Anna being very likeable and understandable.

The book sets Christmas in a snowy country home with all the things that would traditionally thought to make Christmas fantastic, good food, lovely home, family and friends. However, the book is titled about Christmas being wrecked! So, the story really has a moral about remembering what is really important at Christmas time.There are a few interesting characters. Anna’s boyfriend Ben, and his daughter Daisy. We also hear about Ben’s ex and obviously his parents!

Although this was a short story, there was definitely room to make it longer, there were characters that were barely mentioned, but could have been. The ending could lead onto another book?? Although we weren’t left hanging.

I have to say, this was the first book that I read of this author and I like her writing style. I would definitely pick up another of her books.

This book was free from Amazon when I got it, it is now on sale at Amazon for 49p. Great for a short festive read.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,