RSS

Tag Archives: lockdown reads

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides A Perfect book club read. Mini Review.

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides A Perfect book club read. Mini Review.

The Silent Patient was another book club read for me and a few other girls. Thank you Irena and Monika for a great choice and a really enjoyable read and book chat.


Description:
The Silent Patient is a shocking psychological thriller of a woman’s act of violence against her husband—and of the therapist obsessed with uncovering her motive.
Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas. One evening her husband Gabriel returns home late from a fashion shoot, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face, and then never speaks another word.
Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination and casts Alicia into notoriety. The price of her art skyrockets, and she, the silent patient, is hidden away from the tabloids and spotlight at the Grove, a secure forensic unit in North London.
Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him….

First published 5 February 2019 by Orion.


My Thoughts:
Wow, just Wow! This book is fantastic, so clever and gripping and just Wow. I loved it.
I enjoy books that have a psychological element to them and this book involved Alicia being locked in a secure institution. So already I was intrigued just by that part. There were many questions throughout this book.
Was Alicia choosing not to speak or was unable to?
Did Alicia shoot her husband and if so why?
Why is Theo so interested in her?
This book was perfect for a BookClub chat because of the questions, the intrigue and the thrill of the words and pages.
Highly recommended for those who like twisty thrillers.


Links:

Goodreads

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2021 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins. A modern twist on a classic. Book Review

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins. A modern twist on a classic. Book Review

I chose to read The Wife Upstairs as a book from my local library. Having local libraries that you can borrow books from without leaving your house has been great during lockdown.

Description
A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.
Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.
But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.
Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?
With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

Published 5th January 2021.


My Thoughts:
I listened to the audiobook of this story thanks to my local library. The Wife Upstairs was an enjoyable listen with the plot, characters and atmosphere plenty to keep my attention gripped.
The plot to me was quite predictable as I knew the Jane Eyre story, but with the modern thriller twist the author put on it, I was brought to an American Ladies Who Lunch street.
Many of the characters were unlikable but as I’ve always said if an author can make you feel for a character then they are a good writer.
I would recommend this book to all who like modern twists on classics. But if you don’t like classics and like thrillers that are not to fast paced, I think you would like this too.


Links:
Amazon.co.uk
Goodreads

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2021 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,