RSS

Tag Archives: manchester crime book

Book Review: Where the Dead Fall by M J Lee.

Book Review: Where the Dead Fall by M J Lee.

I was sent an advanced copy of Where the Dead Fall by M J Lee. With thanks to Author M J Lee and publishers Canelo . This is book 2 in the detective Ridpath series, but it did not matter at all that I had not read book 1. Crime thrillers are my thing, so I was looking forward to getting stuck in to this book.

Description:

One chance encounter, one street side murder, will change everything… The extraordinary new Ridpath crime thriller
Manchester has been at peace for twenty years. Not any more.

DI Ridpath is in the process of getting his life back together when everything goes wrong.

Driving to meet his daughter, he his caught in a horrific motorway accident, in which a near-naked man is rundown by a lorry, while fleeing from a lone gunman. As Ridpath closes Manchester’s road network in search of the assailant, one question remains: why did nobody else see him?

Ridpath’s investigations, which at first seem to follow protocol, soon unearth a number of inconsistencies, which pulls the police force itself into question, and hint at something sinister to come…

For Manchester is on the brink of a fresh surge of violence unlike anything it has seen in decades. As Ridpath battles this unprecedented conflict, he must battle his own demons. One thing is for sure. There will be blood on the streets…

The nail-biting sequel to Where the Truth Lies, M J Lee’s Where the Dead Fall is an absolute must read, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Faith Martin and Peter James

My Thoughts:

This is the second book in the DI Ridpath series. I haven’t read the first one and it didn’t matter. In this book, Ridpath is recovering after cancer treatment and so is on lighter duties and has been asked to work at the coroners office instead, much to his dismay. However, the determined detective that he is, can’t stay away from the Major Incident Team. Plus when he is the only witness to see a man with a gun, he is involved automatically.

This book is current and I love that it was based in Manchester and talked about daily conversational things, like the football league talk and Theresa May. Although I enjoy the murders, detective work and the twists and guessing work of thriller novels. In order to bring a book to life, in my opinion the characters need to seem real, and for me that includes life talk, like who will win the football game that the two detectives support. Of course, this also brings major hassles to DI Ridpath, as his decisions involve holding up a traffic jam for 3 hours prior to a major football match! This is also the time when he sees what no one else sees, and brings him slap bang into the middle of a murder….. the problem is, he is the only one that thinks its murder!

DI Ridpath is likeable and a very good detective, but also so infuriating to, as he puts his work before everything which includes his family and his own health. Of course that makes him a great detective but also one full of personal problems.

As the book is based in Manchester, it talks a lot about the gang wars that occured there in the past. The police are majorly concerned that these murders are going to re start what was dubbed as ‘Gunchester’. The detectives talk about finding out the Who, Where and Why of the murders in order to solve the case. I liked that we were totally involved in the way the police worked and attempted to solve and bring to justice the criminals. However what was interesting in the book was the politics and sometimes division between the different branches and levels of police. I think the Author M J Lee has done real and thorough research in order to make this book as realistic but obviously fictional as possible. A talented, clever and imaginative Author. I recommend Where the Dead Fall to all fans of crime thrillers, and especially those who prefer British crime books.


Links:

www.writermjlee.com

Twitter/WriterMJLee

Amazon.co.uk

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2019 in Books, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Book Review: Death by Dangerous, by Olly Jarvis.

Book Review: Death by Dangerous, by Olly Jarvis.

I would like to thank Author Olly Jarvis for gifting me a copy of this book. After speaking to Olly about his book, I had a feeling I would be hooked and was looking forward to diving right in. This is an Author with a wealth of knowledge that makes this book so gripping and really dragged me right into the story. I absolutely loved it.

death book pic

Description:

Death by Dangerous is a compelling legal thriller set in Manchester and Bradford.

John Anderson is one of the North West’s most dedicated and successful prosecution barristers. His career is going from strength to strength and he is on the verge of becoming Queen’s Counsel. But the life he once knew suddenly comes crashing down following a fatal road traffic accident…

“They’re saying it was your fault. Someone died.”

Recovering from his injuries, he has no memory of the collision. Was he responsible for the death of a child? Who was his female passenger? Facing charges of causing death by dangerous driving, the professional and personal life he once knew now lies in tatters. Depressed and taking refuge in alcohol, Anderson refuses, in the face of so many unanswered questions, to accept his guilt. He becomes convinced that the gangster he was prosecuting at the time of the crash is in some way involved.

The mystery deepens as his search for the truth draws him into Manchester’s sordid criminal underworld. Shunned by his former colleagues, Anderson finds help from an unlikely source, enabling him to confront his prejudices and re-evaluate his past life. He embarks on a journey of self-discovery and, ultimately, the path for his own redemption.

Anderson knows that defeat means deliverance to a prison full of violent criminals he has prosecuted over the years. He now has to find the strength to fight the most important trial of his life.

DEATH BY DANGER

My Thoughts:

Let me tell you straight off, I absolutely loved this book. It is amazing, thrilling, gripping and just simply fantastic. What a talented, knowledgeable Author. 

Each chapter of this book brought intrigue and interest. You can tell by reading this that the Author has a wealth of knowledge of legal issues. It is written in a way that was totally understandable to me as a lay person, but also from the character’s professional view point that made it so believable that I was drawn into the world of John Anderson, his family, friends and his enemies. Throughout the book we see how relationships change, develop and how confusing this would all be for the main character John. Who does he trust? Who is out to help him? And who is out to destroy him? This book is so cleverly written. I just can’t rave enough about it.

The first page of this book seems to be almost separate from the main story, and its only towards the end that the pieces all come so nicely and clearly together. I was left guessing throughout the book about what the outcome was going to be. I like a book that is not at all predictable, and this one certainly isn’t.

One of the reasons this book appealed to me before I started it, was that it is based in Manchester and surrounding areas. A lot of the thriller books I have read are based in America and it was nice to read about a place I am familiar with. The book even mentions Gregs the bakers. 🙂

I would say from the second chapter of this book, I started to tell my family how amazing the book is. (I also raved on Twitter, you might have seen). I think now, my Mum and Husband might be wanting to borrow this book……. I want it back though!!!!  ♥  I definitely recommend this book to you all, its got intrigue, twists, excitement, and I loved the cleverness of the legal tale.

Olly Jarvis has now been added to my list of favourite Authors, and he is very close to the top!!

Author Details and Links:

Paperback, 300 pages

Published July 28th 2015 by Troubador Publishing Ltd

TWITTER

ollyjarvis.co.uk

GOODREADS

AMAZON UK

AMAZON USA

Have you read this book? Do you want to? Let me know your thoughts? As always, I’d love to hear from you?

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Mami 2 Five
 
16 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,