RSS

Tag Archives: Tracie Bannister

Book Review: In the Swim of Things, by Tracie Banister.

Book Review: In the Swim of Things, by Tracie Banister.

In the Swim of Things is Tracie Banister’s latest book, published May 2019. I have previously, read, reviewed and thoroughly enjoyed Tracie’s books. Therefore I was very happy when Tracie gifted me an advanced copy of her newest book.

Description:

A sexy, sun-soaked tale about a tail-wearing girl who makes a lot of waves—perfect for fans of Lauren Layne, Meghan Quinn, and Christina Lauren.

Ocean-loving Kyra Goodwin had to give up her dream of becoming the female Jacques Cousteau in order to take care of her father and brother, but being a mermaid at the Cape Cod Aquarium is pretty fintastic as far as alternative careers go.
Of course, life as a half-fish/half-woman isn’t all sunken treasure and Ariel twirls. Kyra has to deal with perpetually pruney fingers, eyes irritated by saltwater, and bratty kids on the daily, plus her glam alter ego can make dating really weird. (So many men have pervy siren-of-the-sea fantasies!) When she meets hunky surfer Cade, and he’s into her without knowing what she does for a living, Kyra thinks she’s finally won the romance lottery.
Unfortunately, Kyra’s plans for a carefree summer of catching waves with her new boyfriend run aground when Sea Star Beach, a place that holds great sentimental value for her, is taken over by a big-city developer who wants to build an exclusive resort. Kyra’s crusade to save her beloved beach threatens both her job and her relationship with Cade as does her growing closeness with her irresistibly broody merwrangler, Declan, whose precocious daughter is intent on playing matchmaker.
When a new family drama arises just as Kyra receives an offer that would turn her greatest desire into reality, she’s torn. Will she do what’s expected of her, or dive in and follow her heart?

45446714

Published May 15th 2019

My Thoughts:

Have you ever dreamed of being a mermaid? Kyra has the dream job, whereby she works as a performing mermaid at a local aquarium. She lives near a beautiful beach which holds dear memories for her. And she meets a hunky surfer dude who finds Kyra irresistible. What could go wrong?????

Well this is chick lit, so plenty……..

Before I tell you my thoughts on the words, lets take a moment to appreciate the a-mer-mazing cover of In The Swim Of Things. Illustrator Lyndsay Lewellen has done a brilliant job of designing and bringing us the perfect cover for this book. You can see from the cover that Kyra is made to be a rather fit mermaid. (It is a costume that she wears, this is not a fantasy book). She is holding a sign to say ‘Save Sea Star Beach’ . What a great name for a beach, it makes me want to save it based just on the name. The beach holds so many memories for Kyra and the many other people who know of and live by the beach. Also, we can see in the book cover, 2 men. So, being chick lit, we know that there will probably be some romance. And there is…..

Kyra is a great character, there may be many women reading this who once dreampt of being a mermaid, Now Kyra’s reality is being a mermaid at the local aquarium. It sounds like a really fun job. Swimming in a tail, doing tricks in a tail and with glamorous make up and costumes on, teaching children to swim in a tail and being asked questions by lots of children, like “have you met Aerial?” , while she sits on her Mermaid throne at Poseidon Palace. You may think the way I have described Kyra so far is that she is breezy, princessy and flakey? No! not at all, she is fun, sexy and feisty. She is fighting for her beach after all. Kyra gets up to lots of mischief, fun and gets herself in a few sticky situations. Not only is she gorgeous, she is clever too, having studied marine science.  When Kyra was asked an awkward question, she replied:

“I’m going to plead the Fifth on that question…”       ( I might need to borrow that response, despite not being American!)

Kyra is a wonderful character that I felt like I knew from the way that Tracie Banister wrote her. I would love to see Kyra portrayed in a movie.

I have spoke a lot of Kyra, so obviously she is the main character that impressed me. There are plenty of great sideline characters too, that the Author wrote well and brought to life through the pages. Tracie Banister describes Sea Star Beach and Cape Cod in a way that brings the place to life in the readers head. This book has humour, romance, atmosphere, and a real sense of ‘going for what you believe is right’. There is also a really funny, cheeky and very messy little bird that features in this book. 

In the Swim of Things is the perfect summer read. Whether you are away on holiday, or just taking an imaginary one from your reading spot, In the Swim of Things will have you chuckling away and rooting for Kyra and Sea Star Beach. You may even start dreaming of being a mermaid again.  

Links:

Amazon.co.uk

Goodreads

Twitter/@traciebanister

traciebanister.blogspot.com

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2019 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Book Review: Izzy As Is, by Tracie Banister.

Book Review: Izzy As Is, by Tracie Banister.

I was delighted when Author Tracie Bannister approached me to offer me her new book to read and review. I have already read and loved quite a few of Tracie’s books, so I accepted the request immediately. I had high hopes of thoroughly enjoying her book, and my hopes became reality within the first chapter!

 izzy as is

Description:

The party is over for bikini model Izzy Alvarez. For six years she’s made a good living by flaunting her God-given assets on runways and in front of cameras, but now as she approaches the big 3-0, the bodacious Latina is shocked to learn she’s aged out of the profession that’s kept her in mojitos, mani/pedis, and designer thongs. What’s a girl with a taste for the finer things in life and no marketable skills to do?

Getting a regular job is too boring to even consider, so Izzy decides to follow in the footsteps of her newly-engaged frenemy and become a trophy wife. Although she’s desperate and too broke to get a chipped nail fixed, Izzy still has standards for her future husband, which means no uggos, no vertically-challenged guys, and no geezers who need to pop a blue pill to perform in the bedroom. Enlisting the aid of her computer whiz nephew and her closest pals, Izzy goes on the prowl for a rich, marriage-minded man, encountering likely candidates in a lot of unlikely places.

The high life she’s dreamed of may be within reach when Izzy meets a charming, successful man who’s not only hotter than a steamy summer night in Miami, but ready to settle down. Now all Izzy has to do is make sure her loud, crazy Cuban family doesn’t scare off el hombre perfecto—oh, yeah, and squelch those pesky, romantic feelings she keeps having for the sweet, cash-strapped guy she’s known forever.

Will Izzy’s hunger for money win out, or will her fiery heart demand to be heard?


 

izzy

Published January 24th 2018


My Thoughts:

Izzy As Is is a total chick lit, fun, flirty read. The type of book that you can enjoy with cocktails and snacks! The Author sent me virtual cocktails and Cuban snacks while I was reading this! I have taken quite a liking to Cuban food too after reading this book! 

The cover of the book is gorgeous and after I had finished the book, I went back to examine the cover and saw more in it than I had before I started. I love it when that happens. 

When I read the first few pages, I wasn’t very impressed with the main character Izzy! Then by the time I got to chapter 3, I was disappointing in myself that I had judged Izzy on a few pages. By chapter 4, I loved her!!  I amused myself with my character judgement! Izzy is fun, full of life and makes the most of every minute and all her assets. She is brilliant.

This is the perfect kind of escapism book that you can read and laugh over the funny situations that Izzy gets herself into. The kind of book that takes you away from whats going on in real life and gives you a trip to Miami, sun, cocktails and lots of amusing dating tales! 

I was a late finder of the Tracie Bannister talent. But now that I have found her, she is my go to chick lit Author, along with Nicola May and Sophie Kinsella. If you like either of these Authors, you will love Tracie Bannister’s work too. 


 

If you have read this or any other of Tracie Bannister’s books, let me know your thoughts. Does Izzy As Is sound like a fun read to you? Can you recommend any other fun chick lit reads? Let me know in the comment section, I love to hear from you. 

best book gif

 

Links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.com

Twitter/@traciebanister

www.traciebanister.blogspot.co.uk

 

 
23 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2018 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,