RSS

My Year in Books 2021.

08 Jan
My Year in Books 2021.

I read 46 books last year. This is largely due to the book club that I joined and also a lot of buddy reads with Irena. I reviewed a lot them, but not all. Reading is the best part for me, so sometimes the reviews slip by with just a number rating.

Here are all the books I read in 2021.

It is a difficult decision to chose my top books of the year as so many of them were really gripping, entertaining and some so funny. But as a bookblogger and keen to recommend the best books in my opinion, I will tell you my top 4 of 2021.

In no particular order, my favourite 4 are:

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides. You can read my review of that book here – https://chocolatepages.wordpress.com/?s=the+silent+patient

Friend Request by Laura Marshall.

I haven’t reviewed this one, but it is well reviewed on Goodreads and Amazon. A very twisty thriller based on the main character Louise receiving a Friend Request from a former high school student who is dead.

The Secret Bridesmaid by Katie Birchall.

You can read my review of this one here – https://chocolatepages.wordpress.com/2022/01/04/more-end-of-2021-mini-reviews-there-is-a-favourite-in-here/

Into The Drowning Deep by Mira Grant.

I didn’t expect to enjoy this one so much as it was a different genre from what I usually like best. This was based on monster type sea creatures and a group of explorers and scientists going out on a ship to find proof that they exist. Very different and very good. Thanks to Irena again for this recommendation.

What were your favourite books of 2021? Give me your recommendations of what I should read in 2022.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2022 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “My Year in Books 2021.

  1. irena_bookdustmagic

    January 8, 2022 at 12:17 pm

    All four of them we read together!! 😁
    I have to admit, I don’t remember Friend Request all that much, only few scenes and one character who’s name I forgot. That girl who became the lawyer.

    The more I think about Into the Drowning Deep, the more I appreciate it. It was really creepy and it made it’s mark on me.

    My favourite was The Secret Bridesmaid. That one was sooooo good! I can’t wait to see what the author has in store for us next.

    Here’s to more fabulous books in 2022! 🍻

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2022 at 3:12 pm

      I think buddy reading them makes me enjoy them more. Drowning Deep wasn’t going to be in my top list, but I found it was a book I kept thinking about, so that is why I added it.
      I remember Friend Request so well, because we both gave Monika chocolate for being such a good detective.
      Thanks for the many great suggestions and buddy reads Irena. Definitely here is to many more in 2022.

       
      • irena_bookdustmagic

        February 7, 2022 at 10:35 am

        oh yes, into the drowning deep really stucks in reader’s head. the same with me, I am still finding myelf thinking about those mermaids…

         
  2. nickimags @ Secret Library Book Blog

    January 8, 2022 at 2:54 pm

    I loved The Silent Patient, it was so gripping with some very clever twists!

     
    • chocolatepages

      January 8, 2022 at 3:09 pm

      Yes, I hoped it would be as good as it was. I was totally into it from the beginning. I look forward to more books by this author.

       

Leave a comment