RSS

Book Review – How to Bake a Man, by Jessica Barksdale Inclan.

28 Nov
Book Review – How to Bake a Man, by Jessica Barksdale Inclan.

 

how to bake a man

Thank you to the publishers ‘Ghostwoods Books’ for this title.

Publication Date: 11.11.14

The Description:

When Becca Muchmore drops out of grad school, all she has left to fall back on is her baking. Ignoring her mother’s usual barrage of disapproval and disappointment, she decides to start a small business hand delivering her wares. A friend introduces her to an office of hungry lawyers, who agree to give her a try.

Her lizard-booted neighbour Sal is happy to help out when he can, and almost before she knows it, Becca’s Best is up and running. Before she can settle into a routine, things get complicated. The office orgress could easily be Becca’s sister and has absolutely no patience with cookies or other frivolities. Even worse, her boyfriend is the man of Becca’s dreams – kind, funny, successful and brain meltingly gorgeous. As the dark undercurrents threaten to pull her down, Becca swiftly finds herself neck deep in office politics, clandestine romance, and flour. Saving her business (and finding true love) is going to take everything she’s got and more.

My Thoughts:

I was expecting this to be exactly my kind of book, I love chick lit books, especially ones that speak of delicious foods. So, when I saw this book about baking, love and complications, I thought this is the book for me. I was right!

Becca is a very relatable realistic character who over thinks life! She loves her baking and reminds me of a good real woman who isn’t obsessed with her weight and knows how to enjoy food. The recipes and cakes she speaks of made me want to bake and eat!

There are a few great characters in this book and the story keeps you interested in who is going to end up with who and what will happen to them. I love the character growth you see in Becca and this was part of the reason why I wanted to keep reading to see where she would be by the end of the book.

I loved that the book was very up to date. As an example of this, I will quote what Becca says at one point when she is so tired:

“….ready for a 3 day nap or an ‘Orange is the New Black’ marathon”, I can totally relate to that!

It is totally chick lit, a fun, easy read that you can just indulge in. I really want a good tasty cinnamon roll after finishing this book. I recommend ‘How to Bake a Man’.

chocolate-heart-of-chocolate1

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Book Review – How to Bake a Man, by Jessica Barksdale Inclan.

  1. ajbookreviewclub

    November 28, 2014 at 9:51 pm

    Sounds a good book i going to get a fab review as alway x

     
    • chocolatepages

      November 28, 2014 at 10:20 pm

      Thank you, it was. I really enjoyed it. It makes reviewing a lot easier when it’s good too. xxx

       
  2. mumjd

    November 30, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    That sounds a fun read #weekendbloghop

     

Leave a Reply

 
