RSS

Book Review: Frozen Charlotte, by Alex Bell.

20 Apr
Book Review: Frozen Charlotte, by Alex Bell.

What a great recommendation it was, this book is fantastically good and fantastically creepy!

At the time I got this book, it was free on Amazon, I think it might be 99p now, but so worth it!

This is a book that was recommended to me by a book blogging friend.  AJ has also written a review on this book, and her tweets and review made me want to read this. Her review is here:  http://wp.me/p4xJbf-kd 

frozen charlotte

Description:

Dunvegan School for Girls has been closed for many years. Converted into a family home, the teachers and students are long gone. But they left something behind… Sophie arrives at the old schoolhouse to spend the summer with her cousins. Brooding Cameron with his scarred hand, strange Lillias with a fear of bones and Piper, who seems just a bit too good to be true. And then there’s her other cousin. The girl with a room full of antique dolls. The girl that shouldn’t be there. The girl that died.

My Thoughts:

This book is amazing and so creepy. I read it over the Easter weekend and couldn’t stop reading it until it was finished. The book just made me need to know what happened, was everyone going to be OK? Were the dolls real?

Sophie and her friend Jay play with a ouiji board, and after that bad things happen. So, Sophie goes to stay with her cousins and Uncle in Skye. She hasn’t seen them for a long long time, so when they greet her she finds them all a bit unnerving. Lilias is scared of bones! even the bones inside her! Cameron is a mix of things, cold, angry and sometimes nice! Then there is Rebecca, the girl that died, the girl that kept all the Frozen Charlotte dolls in her room. Sophie wants to know more and so she starts her quest……

The range of characters in this book are really good, each one is unique and very imaginative by the author. The main character Sophie is so brave, she goes into the room with the dolls and all sorts!! The characters left me guessing if they were bad, or if it was the dolls that were causing the mayhem. It was all very spooky. Actually when I first started reading it, my kindle went all weird…it started making crackling noises and then switched itself off!!! You can imagine I was a little freaked. I read the rest of it with the lights on!

The pace of this book is great, each chapter brings new suspicions and fears, its all very cleverly written with great descriptions. The author describes the island of Skye in some ways to sound really beautiful, and in other ways, like the school house and its surrounding areas to be a place I would never want to go. I live in Scotland and if I ever visit Skye, I will be sure to stay away from any dolls I see there!

I really want to rave about this book, because it was so good. I even read parts out to my Husband – who wasn’t really interested, but I wanted to share. Now I can share with you, my readers!  😉

If you have read this book or are going to read it, let me know your thoughts. Its the kind of book I would love to chat about.

Happy Reading! 

Available on Amazon

Print Length: 352 pages

Publisher: Stripes Publishing (1 Oct. 2014)

Mami 2 Five
 
27 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

27 responses to “Book Review: Frozen Charlotte, by Alex Bell.

  1. stephaniesbookreviews

    April 20, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    Sounds interesting! I think I’ll add it to my TBR!

     
  2. ajbookreviewclub

    April 20, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    so happy you like it I loved this book

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 20, 2015 at 6:58 pm

      I did, I see why you recommended it so highly now! 😉

       
  3. Vickie

    April 20, 2015 at 7:31 pm

    I read it after reading a review by Charlotte of Educating Elsa and I am so glad I did. It’s a really good, intensely creepy read. I read it over a couple of days and was totally gripped. I’m glad you enjoyed it too. 🙂

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 20, 2015 at 7:48 pm

      Thanks, I love to mutually appreciate great books.

       
  4. ekehlet

    April 21, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. I was just able to grab it for free on Amazon US!

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 21, 2015 at 7:49 pm

      That’s great, don’t have any creepy dolls over looking you when you read it!! 😉

       
  5. Mini Travellers

    April 23, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    Thank you for the recommendation #sundaystars

     
    • chocolatepages

      April 25, 2015 at 9:51 am

      If you read it, I hope you enjoy. It is a brilliant book.

       
  6. bookishshimmycaster

    April 28, 2015 at 3:02 pm

    Hi! I tagged you to do the Day and Night Tag!
    https://bookishshimmycaster.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/day-and-night-tag/ Thank you! 🙂

     
  7. Georgie

    May 3, 2015 at 11:04 am

    Oh my goodness. It sounds like a book I know I shouldn’t read as it will scare me senseless but I get the feeling I’ll be looking it up on Amazon tonight! xx

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 3, 2015 at 11:54 am

      That was my exact thoughts when it was recommended to me. I loved it.

       
  8. thesingleswan

    May 3, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    OOh great. I love a good book to read. Thanks for the recommendation.

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 4, 2015 at 2:21 am

      Thank you, I hope you love it as much as I did.

       
  9. mrshsfavouritethings

    May 10, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    Sounds like a really interesting book. From your review, I am very intrigued and want to know all about the dolls. But I am not a fan of creepy books. I am a coward and they tend to give me nightmares. Thanks for linking up to #SundaysStars. Hugs Mrs H xxxx

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 11, 2015 at 4:26 pm

      I don’t usually read creepy books, as I also read at night time, but this book came so highly recommended that I decided to give it a go, and it was fab.
      Thanks for your comments. #SundaytStars a fantastic link up.
      Amanda. x

       
  10. thejoyoffive

    May 18, 2015 at 11:43 am

    Sounds like a good read. I’ve really got out of reading so this would be a great book to get me back into it #SundayStars

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 18, 2015 at 4:51 pm

      Yes, it would. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did if you read it.

       
  11. Random Musings

    May 25, 2015 at 1:01 am

    This sounds fab – I love a good spooky read! I will definitely be getting a copy of this. Thanks for putting me onto it! #SundayStars
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

     
    • chocolatepages

      May 25, 2015 at 9:52 am

      That’s great to hear. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

       
  12. Katie (@mami2fiveblog)

    May 30, 2015 at 9:15 pm

    This sounds like such a good book that I downloaded it before I even wrote this reply! Thanks for linking this great review to #SundayStars xxx

     
    • chocolatepages

      June 2, 2015 at 4:18 pm

      That’s great to hear. I hope you really enjoy it. 😉

       
  13. irena_bookdustmagic

    October 26, 2016 at 2:26 pm

    I added this to my tbr. It’s too expensive atm in the kindle store, so I’ll just wait for some better times… 😀

     
    • chocolatepages

      October 26, 2016 at 5:09 pm

      I guess that’s because of Halloween
      I think it was free on Amazon when I read it. X

       
  14. izzysblog8928

    December 14, 2016 at 5:02 pm

    I read this book a couple months ago and am doing a recommendation for it in my English class. This book really was a good book.

     
    • chocolatepages

      December 14, 2016 at 6:38 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, I did too. It was quite creepy though.

       

Leave a comment